English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 February 2011, 07:37   #81
AmigaFun
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
You sure that is right? I'm pretty sure two things cannot be connected to SCART pin 15 (RED in)!

One of them has to be wired to pin 16? So which is it?

NOTE the pinout (if correct) is completely different than VGA DE-15 pinout and MAC DA-15 pinout! That means no standard adapter would have worked.

Hi alexh, I can check it again tonight. You are right, I have two things connected to pin 15 on the scart. I suspect I messed up the editing after I posted the reply. Thanks for pointing that out.
AmigaFun is offline  
Old 09 February 2011, 21:58   #82
AmigaFun
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaFun View Post
Hi alexh, I can check it again tonight. You are right, I have two things connected to pin 15 on the scart. I suspect I messed up the editing after I posted the reply. Thanks for pointing that out.
@ Alexh. Just re-checked the pinouts, and yes, pin 15 of the 'D' type goes to pin 16 on the SCART.
Thanks for pointing this out, can't belive I missed it, but goes to high light how errors happen!

My origional post has been updated.

Thanks again
AmigaFun is offline  
Old 09 February 2011, 23:09   #83
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,339
FYI if anyone is interested here are the signal assignments based on AmigaFun's findings and the SCART pinout. (Our thanks go to AmigaFun for taking the time to find out the wiring).

Depending on the levels of voltage on CD32fWSI pins 15 (probably +5v), 14 (probably +12v) and CSYNC some resistors may be required to operate correctly with all TV's including modern LCD/Plasma units. We'd have to use a Multi-meter / scope to find out. Might be worth using the values in Stedy's RGB SCART cable if you're having problems.

Code:
 ----------------------------------------------
| Function       | CD32fWSI |     TV SCART     |
|----------------+----------+------------------|
|RGB mode (1-3v) |    15    |        16        |
|AV 4:3 (9.5-12v)|    14    |         8        |
|Ground          |     9    | 5, 9, 13, 17, 18 |
|Analog Red      |     3    |        15        |
|Analog Green    |     4    |        11        |
|Analog Blue     |     5    |         7        |
|Composite Sync  |     6    |        20        |
 -----------------------------------------------

Last edited by alexh; 09 February 2011 at 23:24.
alexh is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 14:35   #84
other_reality
Registered User
other_reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 72
Thanks a bunch Alexh and Amigafun. It's now time to pass on the info to my cable guy lol...I envy you soldering-pin sorting guys...
other_reality is offline  
Old 11 July 2012, 13:40   #85
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 54
Posts: 1,766
Just found this thread and then found this BARGAIN on eBay

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/400307418272

Methanoid is offline  
Old 11 July 2012, 15:12   #86
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,749
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Just found this thread and then found this BARGAIN on eBay

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/400307418272

Have to say, what use is a floppy on a CD32.
I mean, virtually everyone who has a stock CD32 use it for games and we have the ability to burn our own discs and compilations.
FOL is offline  
Old 11 July 2012, 15:30   #87
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 54
Posts: 1,766
Indeed.. so why would anyone (except an anal collector) be dumb enough to spend THAT amount of money?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 19 July 2012, 17:21   #88
BuckoA51
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Quote:
Just found this thread and then found this BARGAIN on eBay

That guy's well known for his over-priced 'chancer' auctions.
BuckoA51 is offline  
Old 11 August 2012, 18:30   #89
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckoA51 View Post
That guy's well known for his over-priced 'chancer' auctions.
yeah, and he stole my photos (not that I care much!).

I liked the quirkyness of the FWSi, but yeah for collectors/CD32 freak only!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 12:06   #90
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Have to say, what use is a floppy on a CD32.
I mean, virtually everyone who has a stock CD32 use it for games and we have the ability to burn our own discs and compilations.
because with floppy disk you can save games on compilation discs you make right?

I found this topic and trying to understand. if I install floppy disk drive on my amiga 32, I can use them for amiga floppy aga games like colonization that don't work on compilation cd's as well as save games I play on my compilation cd's. I like the compilation cd's because no switching disks.

what kind of floppy disk drive do I need to use and is there a faq on how to install it?
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 12:41   #91
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,749
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjb1985 View Post

what kind of floppy disk drive do I need to use and is there a faq on how to install it?
It comes with Floppy drive.
FOL is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 18:20   #92
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
It comes with Floppy drive.
I have an amiga 32, but no floppy disk drive.
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 19:24   #93
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,749
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjb1985 View Post
I have an amiga 32, but no floppy disk drive.
You have lost me completely. I know you have a cd32 and no floppy.
This device lets you have a floppy on the CD32, it also comes with a floppy drive.
FOL is offline  
Old 07 March 2013, 11:34   #94
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
You have lost me completely. I know you have a cd32 and no floppy.
This device lets you have a floppy on the CD32, it also comes with a floppy drive.

what device? you have to manually install a floppy disk drive on your amiga right? I want to know what kind of floppy disk drive and if there is a tutorial on how to install it on a cd32
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 07 March 2013, 11:42   #95
Gordon
Settler
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,488
gjb1985, you can not install any floppy drive. You have to buy the whole unit with the floppy drive built in. It connects to the back of the cd32.

If you want to buy it, contact analogic on ebay
http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/analogicco...p2047675.l2559
They may still have some to sell
Gordon is offline  
Old 07 March 2013, 13:49   #96
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjb1985 View Post
what device? you have to manually install a floppy disk drive on your amiga right? I want to know what kind of floppy disk drive and if there is a tutorial on how to install it on a cd32
Dude, you are posting on a thread ABOUT THE DEVICE, the Analogic CD32 disk Drive Expander.
Read well before posting.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 March 2013, 13:21   #97
nittamituaki
Cd32+Fdd User (CFU)

nittamituaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 131
...

Deleted.
If you're still interested in Analogic FDD system,
please visit my website.
I can update my website instead of these my posts at EAB.

Last edited by nittamituaki; 06 January 2018 at 08:51.
nittamituaki is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 10:45   #98
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,339
It is reasonably well know that the CD32 fWSI has an audio board. There are pictures of the audio board on the Amiga Hardware Database.

http://amiga.resource.cx/photos/phot...res=hi&lang=en
http://amiga.resource.cx/photos/phot...res=hi&lang=en
alexh is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 10:52   #99
Gordon
Settler
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,488
What is the benefit of it?
Gordon is offline  
Old 25 August 2013, 07:21   #100
queenfan
 
Posts: n/a
Hello all.

I wanted to follow up here.

Does anyone now sell a RAM expander board for the FD Drive?

How could i get an 15pin RGB to NTSC VGA Cable for it?
I'm in the states.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 Analogic Floppy drive problems? Cooljerk support.Hardware 2 25 February 2012 13:33
Analogic CD32 floppy drive questions twiggy support.Hardware 18 04 May 2010 02:43
CD32 Analogic Floppy Drive - Will it work w/SX32, small port on back? RGB_Gamer New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 05 March 2010 11:12
MorphOS 2 review (on a Mac mini) jPV Amiga scene 4 05 February 2010 11:10
Amiga CD32 +Analogic's disk drive should it stay or should it go ? lolafg New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 10 December 2008 11:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09477 seconds with 13 queries