English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 August 2007, 02:03   #1
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
dead 1200 help:(

help please somebody ,was using amiga 1200 fine then i got a checked pattern now it wont come on all i get is black screen flickers a few times stays a black color, power light is on hd spins floppy doent do anything.

i unplugged everything plugged it back in took card out but still the same

before it went wrong workbench loaded just then i had that weird blue light blue checker screen flashing then she died after i trned off and on again.

tried new kicks but still same damn this bitch.

can anyone help cheers.
webhead is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 02:22   #2
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 800
Blue light should be custom chips error.
Sincerly I don't know how to help you. Sorry.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 03:13   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by webhead View Post
help please somebody ,was using amiga 1200 fine then i got a checked pattern now it wont come on all i get is black screen flickers a few times stays a black color, power light is on hd spins floppy doent do anything.

i unplugged everything plugged it back in took card out but still the same

before it went wrong workbench loaded just then i had that weird blue light blue checker screen flashing then she died after i trned off and on again.

tried new kicks but still same damn this bitch.

can anyone help cheers.
this unfortunately doesn`t boad well....

according to here

http://www.amigahistory.co.uk/selftest.html

a blue screen means that it found an error in the custom chips.... basically... it would be cheaper and quicker to buy a another 1200 than replace the chips (as there all surface mounted)....

I am sorry to confirm fc.studio's bad news but...

there maybe a bright side...

you can get an a1200 quite cheaply... from this you will have *some* spare components should a *worse case scenario* appear. another thing is that you have a spare a1200 chassis that can be modifyied to fit DVD/CDRW or the such like to practice on
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 03:23   #4
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
hi well thanks but now i have taken keyboard out put back in im getting a white screen still no booting though.
webhead is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 04:25   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
hmmm a white screen means that everything went well and should then goto boot..


hmmm very strange.....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 14:07   #6
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 800
One time, on closing my A1200, I firmly connected the keyboard wire in its socket, but this last was a bit unplugged from the motherboard. Verify wire and socket keyboard.
However, as Zetr0 stated, white screen is not a bad news...
fc.studio is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 14:18   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,801
afaik, there is no blue diagnostic color in Kickstart ROM, it is popular rumour only.

Quote:
blue light blue checker screen flashing
This can happen if something writes totally bogus values to custom registers. (badly crashing problem, hardware failure etc..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 August 2007, 14:23   #8
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 800
About white screen perhaps this today thread could help you:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=31592
fc.studio is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 14:27   #9
mrodfr
Registered User
mrodfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 62-France
Age: 52
Posts: 413
hello,

remove all (additionnal hardware), check all contacts and connexions, clean if necesssary inside the 1200 when opened, test if floppy work, leds... and hope you have a good luck.
mrodfr is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 16:45   #10
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
no back to black screen now just got floppy connected and it spins once you can hear it no floppy light just power light but nowts booting.

cant see anything burnt out onit either its not fair im going tocry my poor little baby is dead ,well im going to change caps near power curcuit and see if that does anything 15 year old caps got to be problem maybe but i keep trying until i get nowhere.

ohh yes anyone know what rom goes in u6b just to make sure im using kick 3.0 roms many thanks.
webhead is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 17:20   #11
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,913
I once got a Purple screen on boot. Turned out to be corrosion on the 3.0 Roms.
Arnie is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 17:40   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@webhead

KS info

06A
23c2100-1043
3915223-01
@1992 v3.039.106 Commodore-Amiga

06B
23c2100-1043
3915223-01
@1992 v3.039.106 Commodore-Amiga

hope it helps
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 17:58   #13
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
ummmmmm i got

391524-01
9249 d

391523-01 this 1 is in U6B
9323 d


is this right or am i wrong?
webhead is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 18:04   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@webhead

that looks right to me,

when the a1200 was produced they changed the supplier of the Kickstart chips i tihnk there is MX and CBM there is most likely another too...
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 18:06   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,347
There are a range of numbers for A1200 KS3.0 chips

391513-01 Low
391514-01 High

391513-02 Low
391514-02 High

391523-01 Low
391524-01 High

alexh is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 18:09   #16
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
yes i got mx 3 roms and commodore 3 roms but now im not sure what one goes where lol,its been a long day.
webhead is offline  
Old 16 August 2007, 14:01   #17
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
hi everyone im getting a white screen now anyone know what this means ???????????????????????

ahhh cia where is this chip on a 1200 many thanks.

Last edited by webhead; 16 August 2007 at 14:07.
webhead is offline  
Old 16 August 2007, 14:05   #18
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@webhead

according to here

http://www.amigahistory.co.uk/selftest.html

it means that its passed all the initailizations and is ready to boot... sooOOoo something is holding it back... its highly possible that one of your rom chips is in subtle error (it can happen) would you have a spare set to test?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 16 August 2007, 14:09   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
it means that its passed all the initailizations and is ready to boot...
A1200 does not have KS 1.x

It is broken, perhaps only bad connection, but unfortunately it can be anything (like damaged chip, broken pcb track etc..).

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 16 August 2007 at 14:23.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 August 2007, 14:32   #20
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
well i just put 3.1 roms in and that gave me the white screen back got keyboard lights and numlock stays on but no going past white screen ,i have read the cia chip causes this on a 500,has a 1200 got 1 and if so where is the little bugger on the board many thanks.
webhead is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reVisor 1200/Kickflash 1200 - a flashable kickstart solution!!! spoUP Amiga scene 8 05 August 2014 18:25
MBX 1200 Dead Ram board cosmicfrog support.Hardware 16 20 September 2009 01:32
Indivision AGA 1200 and FastATA 1200 - fitty or pity? 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 3 17 September 2009 04:20
Is my Amiga 1200 hard drive dead? Soulshaker support.Hardware 32 10 April 2005 23:21
Dead 1200 Uplink7 support.Hardware 8 03 December 2004 05:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09406 seconds with 14 queries