English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2020, 00:31   #1
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 175
Plan 9 from Outer Space NTSC version by Konami with virus on disk 3?

I just got my hands on a brand-new sealed copy of the NTSC version of "Plan 9 From Outer Space" published by Konami. When I kryoflux'ed the disks I noticed that disk 1 was a normal AmigaDOS disk whereas disks 2+3+4 were in a custom format. In contrast to disks 2 and 4, however, disk 3 had a normal bootblock. This made me curious so I hex dumped the image and found the string "Revenge Bootloader!" in it. The bootblock seems to be identical to this virus.

Since the box was brand-new and still factory-sealed I guess that the game was indeed manufactured with a bootblock virus on disk 3 which probably made it impossible to finish the game because it's likely that the game won't recognize disk 3 because of that virus bootblock.

Is this a known fact already? AFAIR there were several commercial games that were mastered with viruses so I'm wondering whether this particular case is known already?!
mc68060 is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 00:34   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,422
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68060 View Post
I just got my hands on a brand-new sealed copy of the NTSC version of "Plan 9 From Outer Space" published by Konami. When I kryoflux'ed the disks I noticed that disk 1 was a normal AmigaDOS disk whereas disks 2+3+4 were in a custom format. In contrast to disks 2 and 4, however, disk 3 had a normal bootblock. This made me curious so I hex dumped the image and found the string "Revenge Bootloader!" in it. The bootblock seems to be identical to this virus.

Since the box was brand-new and still factory-sealed I guess that the game was indeed manufactured with a bootblock virus on disk 3 which probably made it impossible to finish the game because it's likely that the game won't recognize disk 3 because of that virus bootblock.

Is this a known fact already? AFAIR there were several commercial games that were mastered with viruses so I'm wondering whether this particular case is known already?!
There are quite a number of games with viruses. If you send me your KF dump, i'll arrange you something.

There is a big probability that the disk 3 can be fixed with the disk 3 boot track.

To answer your question, Plan 9 use a standard AmigaDOS disk for disk 1, and disk 2 to 4 are using Atari ST/PC tracks.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 00:38   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 17,188
...and thread moved to the support.Games section
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 13:56   #4
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 175
@dlfrsilver:
Here are the disk images so you can take a look:
https://easyupload.io/whaaqj
mc68060 is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 21:46   #5
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,422
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
thanks, let's have a look !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 21:52   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,422
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68060 View Post
@dlfrsilver:
Here are the disk images so you can take a look:
https://easyupload.io/whaaqj
ok, disk 2,3,4 requires a clean-up. The game use the gremlin type 3 format 11 sectors.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 23:13   #7
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 175
What do you mean by "requires a clean up"?
mc68060 is offline  
Old 16 March 2020, 02:43   #8
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,422
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68060 View Post
What do you mean by "requires a clean up"?
You have mould on the disks surface, making bad disks images
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 March 2020, 11:06   #9
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
You have mould on the disks surface, making bad disks images
But this can't be the reason for a virus on disk 3, can it?
mc68060 is offline  
Old 16 March 2020, 11:07   #10
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,535
Yeah, unfortunately there's lots of unreadable sectors on disks 2, 3, 4.

They sure needs to be physically cleaned.
I used this method a few years back to clean US version of NY Warriors, it was also NOS never opened/used, but disks were in need of cleaning.
[ Show youtube player ]
Retroplay is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 01:19   #11
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 642
Interesting that there was an NTSC release -- NTSC releases were getting rare in 1992.

It got to the point where some shops (Sideline Software in Florida I know for sure) would buy original PAL games, write scene NTSC fixes over the disks (with no cracktro), and then resell them in the U.S.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 11:40   #12
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 175
To come back to my original question: What I am mainly interested in is the question: For users who bought this back in the day, was it possible to complete the game with a virus on disk 3? Or would the game refuse to recognize disk 3 with a virus in the bootblock?
mc68060 is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 17:07   #13
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,600
Yes the boot block won't affect the game as it won't be loaded as you will not be booting from that disk. Can you do a WHDLoad install for this game and put it on the zone for us NTSC guys?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 19:23   #14
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Yes the boot block won't affect the game as it won't be loaded as you will not be booting from that disk.
But there's usually some information in the bootblock that the program reads to make sure that the right disk has been inserted when it asks for disk 3. Not sure if this is the case with this game here, though. But if it is, then the user won't be able to finish the game because of the virus. I thought dlfrsilver wanted to analyze this...
mc68060 is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 19:31   #15
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,600
That is not always the case, it's a BOOT block. Usually the game will just load the code on the disk. I don't think the game checks the boot blocks within the game, but I could be wrong. Usually boot block viruses destroy the boot block and the game data there is lost. Does your game work?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 19:56   #16
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
That is not always the case, it's a BOOT block. Usually the game will just load the code on the disk.
The program code is usually on disk 1 of a multi-disk game. The other disks contain merely game data. The first bytes on data disks typically contain an ID signalling which data disk it is (disk 2, 3, 4, etc.)

I can't check if Plan 9 from Outer Space does it like that as well because I'm not getting to the point where it asks for disk 3. So someone needs to analyze the game code. I thought that's what dlfrsilver wanted to do when asking for the disk images...
mc68060 is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 20:24   #17
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,535
But he can't do that before you have cleaned and removed the mold from disk surface and redumped disks 2, 3 and 4.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 20:57   #18
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
But he can't do that before you have cleaned and removed the mold from disk surface and redumped disks 2, 3 and 4.
Why? Disk 1 contains the game code and disk 1 was dumped fine. It's even a standard AmigaDOS disk. The main program is SYS:Plan9/Plan9. So IMHO all he needs to do is analyze that game code and see how it detects disk 3. I don't see why a clean dump of disk 3 would be necessary for that...
mc68060 is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 21:16   #19
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 51
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68060 View Post
Why? Disk 1 contains the game code and disk 1 was dumped fine. It's even a standard AmigaDOS disk. The main program is SYS:Plan9/Plan9. So IMHO all he needs to do is analyze that game code and see how it detects disk 3. I don't see why a clean dump of disk 3 would be necessary for that...
If i remember right, this game has HD Install on first disk. Simple call HD install and check if all disks are accepted.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 18 March 2020, 04:37   #20
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,422
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68060 View Post
Why? Disk 1 contains the game code and disk 1 was dumped fine. It's even a standard AmigaDOS disk. The main program is SYS:Plan9/Plan9. So IMHO all he needs to do is analyze that game code and see how it detects disk 3. I don't see why a clean dump of disk 3 would be necessary for that...
Your disks dumps are faulty. They can't be used because they have mould on them. No clean up = nothing possible.
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR: Plan 9 from Outer Space (Illegal Instruction) Dwyloc project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 1 26 July 2009 12:51
Plan 9 from outer Space Thalion HOL data problems 1 23 November 2008 21:41
Plan 9 From Outer Space "HD" ADFs MethodGit support.Games 5 23 February 2002 00:55
Plan 9 from Outer Space question RocketMack support.Games 14 30 January 2002 07:55
Plan 9 from Outer Space Undirheimar request.Old Rare Games 8 06 October 2001 00:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09172 seconds with 14 queries