English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 March 2020, 21:33   #1
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 63
Graphic Glitch in Chuck Rock 2

Hello there.
Really weird. There is a graphic glitch in Chuck Rock 2
in the Level Dippy the Diplodocus.

[ Show youtube player ]

(SKIP to 10 Minute & 50 Seconds, there you can see it)


Even in Longplays on YouTube. (i watched a few)

I tried 4 different versions and tooltypes like (NoCache & ExpCache)
Always the same graphic error.
Really, is that how it supposed to be ?


Any Ideas guy´s ?

PS:i tried NOCACHE & EXPCHIP, but not at the same time, which i should have done. Sorry

Last edited by Torti-the-Smurf; 02 April 2020 at 12:50. Reason: I feel so stupid for not trying both Tooltypes at the same time.
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 29 March 2020, 21:44   #2
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,069
you mean missing a part of the big bird image right?
jotd is offline  
Old 29 March 2020, 23:55   #3
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 63
Yupp, and then baby chuck´ s club glitches.
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 00:12   #4
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 63
It´ s fine in the LemonAmiga Review/Playguide YouTube Video. Odd
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 31 March 2020, 15:27   #5
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,477
Duplicate: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=101199

Example with correct timing probably on real HW from YouTube:
[ Show youtube player ]

at 12:02

Does it happen on your real machine or with WinUAE?

Last edited by hexaae; 02 April 2020 at 15:12.
hexaae is offline  
Old 31 March 2020, 17:57   #6
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 63
Real A600 1.3 Board with a Furia. But it also happend in my WinUAE Setup.
The Weird thing is that even the "World of longplays" Video share the same error, as so many lets Plays.
But a few like the LemonAmiga or a ChuckRock2 Amiga 4K Youtube Video are fine. Really weird.
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 31 March 2020, 17:59   #7
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 63
Maybe i should try a few more Tooltypes. Fingers Cross
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 01 April 2020, 11:32   #8
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,477
Did you try from floppy with real HW? I'm afraid it's a WHDLoad slave bug... When I don't degrade WinUAE emu slowing it down too much, bird sequence is perfect (but too fast!). So it looks like some (sprite? scrolling?) timing issue in the bird sequence.
You can skip level with HELP key.

Last edited by hexaae; 01 April 2020 at 12:22.
hexaae is offline  
Old 01 April 2020, 11:48   #9
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,069
Did you try with whdload with real HW? For instance JIT doesn't count. We can't possibly fix all games so they work with JIT. We can try, but check mantis database: there's a lot of more serious bugs we have to take care of. That one is non-trivial.
jotd is offline  
Old 01 April 2020, 12:16   #10
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Did you try with whdload with real HW? For instance JIT doesn't count. We can't possibly fix all games so they work with JIT. We can try, but check mantis database: there's a lot of more serious bugs we have to take care of. That one is non-trivial.
It's not a JIT side-effect: it's always reproducible with or without JIT, unless you DON'T slow emu to the right speed (in this case game will run at correct speed but bird sequence will be buggy).
E.g.
Run the WHDLoad game with these tt:
Code:
SLAVE=ChuckRock2.Slave
  PRELOAD
  ExecuteStartup=
  ExecutePostDisk=uae-configuration cachesize 0 cpu_speed real
  NOCACHE
  Custom2=1
  Custom1=1
Game speed will run like x2 but bird sequence will be ok (skip with HELP to that level).

Run with these tt to slow down emu to correct game speed (at least on my i7-8750h + GTX 1070 + Win 10):
Code:
SLAVE=ChuckRock2.Slave
  PRELOAD
  ExecuteStartup=
  ExecutePostDisk=uae-configuration cachesize 0 cpu_speed real cpu_throttle -800
  NOCACHE
  Custom2=1
  Custom1=1
(or "uae-configuration cachesize 0 cpu_speed real cycle_exact true") and the game will run at correct speed as expected but you'll always see the bird sequence bug.
You don't even need to quit & restart the WHDLoad game: just go back to Main Menu, press F12 and change WinUAE settings, and then play again the bird sequence: when game speed is too fast bird sequence will look fine (!?), but at correct settings to reproduce the game at the right speed bird sequence will show that glitch (!!).

Last edited by hexaae; 02 April 2020 at 15:21.
hexaae is offline  
Old 02 April 2020, 12:46   #11
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 63
Good news. (sorry it took so long)

The Combination NOCACHE and EXPCHIP fixes the Graphic Glitch with "the Bird".
I tested only on real Hardware, in my case a A600 Motherboard 1.3board with a Furia.

This is a common Fix for the Furia Setup (and for some others as well, i guess)
Without the Cache the Game has some slowdowns, here and there but nothing major.
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 02 April 2020, 14:22   #12
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,477
Doesn't help NOCACHE and EXPCHIP on WinUAE...
There's something buggy in the timing code at the bird sequence IMHO, probably in the original game, hence results may vary on different (real) HW too.
Looks like bird sprite ascension must be better calibrated as a possible workaround.

Last edited by hexaae; 02 April 2020 at 14:32.
hexaae is offline  
Old 02 April 2020, 14:34   #13
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 17,231
...but we know the .ADFs work fine on the intended Amiga model hexaae; so surely this is a WHDLoad issue.
DamienD is online now  
Old 02 April 2020, 15:23   #14
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,477
...LemonAmiga review screenshots on the right also show this issue http://www.lemonamiga.com/?game_id=261
hexaae is offline  
Old 02 April 2020, 19:38   #15
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 17,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
...LemonAmiga review screenshots on the right also show this issue http://www.lemonamiga.com/?game_id=261
That means absolutely nothing... who says the WHDLoad version wasn't used to take those screenshots on Lemon?

HOL screenshots are fine: Chuck Rock II: Son of Chuck

Also, as Torti-the-Smurf has said in the thread:

... It´s fine in the LemonAmiga Review/Playguide YouTube Video.
... LemonAmiga or a ChuckRock2 Amiga 4K Youtube Video are fine.
DamienD is online now  
Old 02 April 2020, 20:22   #16
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,477
It wasn't a reply to prove anything... mine was just an observation. Once fixed (maybe) they'll have to update those screenshots
It's fine also in another video from YT I posted before (hence I started a thread): http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1388670&postcount=5

HOL screenshots are before you jump on the bird anyway...
hexaae is offline  
Old 02 April 2020, 21:22   #17
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,529
Hi, I'm able to replicate [EDIT: a working bird sequence] in WinUAE with NOCACHE and EXPCHIP, disabling MMU.

Problem here is that, in a fast machine, parameters for the big_bird moving sequence are updated by code at 50FPS,
but for a properly working display the parameters needs to be updated at 25FPS.
Probably jotd already noticed it.

A possible solution could be to setup a flag when this sequence is active, and add some slowdown during frame draw to simulate 25FPS.
Yes, it's not an immediate patch.

Last edited by ross; 02 April 2020 at 22:12. Reason: []
ross is offline  
Old 19 April 2020, 12:26   #18
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,477
On my WinUAE cfg (060 AGA, see signature) with Z3 fast mem EXPCHIP won't help unfortunately:


Last edited by hexaae; 19 April 2020 at 12:32.
hexaae is offline  
Old 29 April 2020, 14:40   #19
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torti-the-Smurf View Post
Without the Cache the Game has some slowdowns, here and there but nothing major.
I've finally found a workaround on my fast WinUAE system too:

Code:
whdload SLAVE ChuckRock2.slave PRELOAD NOCACHE EXPCHIP EXECUTESTARTUP "" EXECUTEPOSTDISK "uae-configuration cachesize 0 cpu_speed real cpu_throttle -900" CUSTOM2=1
cpu_throttle -900 did the trick, but as you said there are some annoying visible slowdowns, especially with big bosses (1st boss Dave the Dimetrodon, Dippy the Diplodocus etc.).
It's curious that the bird sequence will work fine only when you slow it down too much or speed it up too much on WinUAE running like 2x using:

Code:
whdload SLAVE ChuckRock2.slave PRELOAD NOCACHE EXPCHIP EXECUTESTARTUP "" EXECUTEPOSTDISK "uae-configuration cachesize 0 cpu_speed real" CUSTOM2=1
Looking forward to a WHDLoad patch...
hexaae is offline  
Old 29 April 2020, 14:43   #20
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,477
BTW, encountered this strange thing in Lev 1 Monkey Trouble with an invisible platform... was this normal on original HW floppy version?

[ Show youtube player ]
hexaae is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Request] Chuck Rock 2 blindfold project.Sprites 73 20 April 2018 01:45
Chuck Rock 1 + 2 not running 1988 support.Games 4 30 May 2015 23:48
Chuck Rock CD32 retrogamer Games images which need to be WHDified 10 25 January 2014 23:20
best Chuck Rock version? s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 35 11 June 2008 02:01
Ripping-chuck Rock gifgit project.Sprites 35 11 April 2005 10:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09324 seconds with 15 queries