English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2020, 14:42   #21
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,425
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vesuri View Post
Writing that copperlist competes for bus access though and takes time, especially when all 6 bitplanes are enabled.



Close to none. Using the visual DMA debugger in UAE (v-4 command) when running using an A500/1Mb chip configuration will give you an idea. There are some things that could be improved further though but it was pretty tough to get to a mostly stable 50FPS on a system without fast RAM.



I will look into this... some time in the future. Don't hold your breath though, I really need a break after finishing this one
6BPL ? So you mean that your demo is 64 colors EHB then ?

That's why it looks so good !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 20 February 2020, 14:54   #22
Vesuri
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Amsterdam / The Netherlands
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
6BPL ? So you mean that your demo is 64 colors EHB then ?
Not EHB but DPF. It's using the dual playfield mode from the horizon downwards.
Vesuri is offline  
Old 20 February 2020, 18:44   #23
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,779
@vesuri : Great work. Your tech. demo is amazing !
Hope you will have some motivation left to transform it into a playable demo
malko is offline  
Old 20 February 2020, 20:48   #24
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vesuri View Post
Writing that copperlist competes for bus access though and takes time, especially when all 6 bitplanes are enabled.
You are of course correct. Me calling it “free” was a bit hyperbolic, I do apologise!
Quote:
Close to none. Using the visual DMA debugger in UAE (v-4 command) when running using an A500/1Mb chip configuration will give you an idea. There are some things that could be improved further though but it was pretty tough to get to a mostly stable 50FPS on a system without fast RAM.
I’ll check it out for sure, I’m very impressed with the result. Thanks for making this
roondar is offline  
Old 20 February 2020, 21:19   #25
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,096
I'm not familiar with the original Hang On, but somehow the melody reminds me of Irgendwie, Irgendwo, Irgendwann by Nena:
[ Show youtube player ]
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 22:33   #26
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,363
Hey Vesuri, does and if so how much bandwidth increases if you go 25FPS for updating objects?
saimon69 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Killing caches: fool-proof method? kaffer Coders. Asm / Hardware 9 09 February 2019 10:54
ACA620 reset proof ram disk Toni Wilen News 42 09 October 2017 15:57
REQ: Scene group names proof DH project.TOSEC (amiga only) 18 30 November 2010 20:02
EAB Member ripped me off! PROOF! Ionise MarketPlace 37 10 October 2010 09:18
NATAMI Concept!! Faerytale Hardware pics 48 14 March 2009 21:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07283 seconds with 15 queries