English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 September 2008, 21:17   #1
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 41
Posts: 93
McAfee Antivirus - ADF files.

Hi i seem to have a problem with some adf files I have. I recently bought a new laptop and it had McAfee antivirus preinstalled on it however I plan on replacing it when the free period is up. However I find that every time it does a scan it detects some as my adf files as viruses namely an Amiga/generic virus. So it removes them and quarantines them so I always have to restore them to the original place. Anyone else have this problem and anyone know why it does this?
Si-Pie is offline  
Old 12 September 2008, 21:25   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,798
Yup, McAfee does this with some of my zipped .ADF files as well...

There's probably a way to exclude the directory where the files are located or ignore those .ADFs but I haven't been bothered to played around as yet
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 September 2008, 21:29   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Please remove McAfee and get a proper AV Don't wait till the free period is over with replacing it. Oh btw : That would also solve your problem as a bonus
TCD is offline  
Old 12 September 2008, 21:34   #4
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 41
Posts: 93
yeh thanx to you both and yep i agree on mcaffee i just havnt had the time as ive only had the laptop a few weeks. What antivirus you think is best? I havnt reviewed them for a long time but I was using kaspersky with my last comp and found that good but read a few bad reviews about the later versions.
Si-Pie is offline  
Old 12 September 2008, 21:42   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
I use Avast. It's free (for none commercial use) and does the job. Have a look at the reviews and opinions here : http://www.reviewcentre.com/reviews53226.html and http://reviews.cnet.com/internet-sec...-32425819.html. You only have to register (I use it for over 2 years now and was never asked to buy it or something )
TCD is offline  
Old 12 September 2008, 21:45   #6
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 42
Posts: 5,237
i use Avira Antivir, it's free for personal use, updates everyday and only nag you once a day when it does.
i like its interface.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 12 September 2008, 21:51   #7
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
or AVG is another free virus checker
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 12 September 2008, 22:32   #8
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,047
Another vote for Avast here too
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 00:33   #9
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 2,029
Another vote for Avira! plus if you did want to buy Avira its pricing is very reasonable.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 00:37   #10
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 48
Posts: 711
In my mind, McAfee is a virus. It causes more problems than it solves.
gklinger is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 00:45   #11
spajdr
Old fart
spajdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ostrava/Czech Republic
Age: 40
Posts: 309
Send a message via ICQ to spajdr
Im also using avira antivirus, very satisfied with it.
spajdr is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 02:00   #12
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 41
Posts: 93
Great thanx for them. But avast and others are just antivirus so what about firewall? what you think about zonealarm? or any other firewall suggestions?
Si-Pie is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 05:55   #13
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 1,417
Get rid of Mcaffee. I had it for a number of years working ok until one day when I updated the virus def (which it accepted ok) after which it would crash on start after that as it said it was out of the period of registration which is shit as it should have said that before accepting the new defs so that you had a choice to continue to use the older def.

The free version of Avast is good, just make sure you set your screensaver to the avast screen saver otherwise you won't get any automatic virus scanning.

I've been using Comodo which seems to work pretty well. Zone alarm is too commercialised these days imo.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 07:55   #14
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gklinger View Post
In my mind, McAfee is a virus. It causes more problems than it solves.
Very true Norton is another candidate for that title.

About the firewall : If you have no router who can do the job I would also get Comodo like Galaxy said.
TCD is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 14:17   #15
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 41
Posts: 93
nice one thanx guys! I will get rid of mcafee asap. as I said laptop is only a few weeks old and you know how they load these stupid trial programs on. I will change as soon as i can.
Si-Pie is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 14:57   #16
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
Eset NOD32 Antivirus is my choice for all the machines in this house. Its VERY good and fast at its job.

I personally dont rate McAfee (Make a fee? ) and Norton at all. They both are very bloated and install lotsa other crap, and work really slow.

The firewall is taken care of in hardware (2 of the machines also have NForce motherboards), I did use ZoneAlarm way back in the day and it was quite good at its job, but it didnt feel 'solid'.
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 01:38   #17
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_0rga5m View Post
Eset NOD32 Antivirus is my choice for all the machines in this house. Its VERY good and fast at its job.

I personally dont rate McAfee (Make a fee? ) and Norton at all. They both are very bloated and install lotsa other crap, and work really slow.

The firewall is taken care of in hardware (2 of the machines also have NForce motherboards), I did use ZoneAlarm way back in the day and it was quite good at its job, but it didnt feel 'solid'.
Agreed... and my company is a reseller of NOD32! (Though I dont get discounts )

Stay away from Norton/Symantec(bloated crapware that MISSED 17 seperate virii on our server before ESET), Kaspersky(slow as hell), McAfee(More bloated crapware)

Also avoid AVG and Avast on single core PC's - the overheads on these are now getting to be too much for single core! Great on dual core though!

It is also worth running a scan online once in a while with something such as Trend Housecall... Virus killers are not 100% and so running an additional scan with a different product can sometimes be useful!
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 01:47   #18
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit80 View Post
Agreed... and my company is a reseller of NOD32! (Though I dont get discounts )
Doing commercials? Okay, get Panda instead We sell it and it's a top notch in virus detection You can run a online virus scan with Panda at : http://www.pandasecurity.com/infected_or_not/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit80 View Post
Also avoid AVG and Avast on single core PC's - the overheads on these are now getting to be too much for single core! Great on dual core though!
Never heard about it, but I'm using a dual core here. It shouldn't be a problem if configured right I think.
TCD is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 02:24   #19
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Doing commercials? Okay, get Panda instead We sell it and it's a top notch in virus detection You can run a online virus scan with Panda at : http://www.pandasecurity.com/infected_or_not/
http://computersecurityassociates.co...vs%20Panda.pdf
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 02:29   #20
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit80 View Post
Indeed a very neutral and recent review
TCD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADF files not seen !!!! Streek support.WinUAE 7 09 November 2002 05:24
More than 4 adf files Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 15 November 2001 22:48
ADF Files Behders support.Hardware 2 26 October 2001 20:28
ADF Files Behders support.Games 1 26 October 2001 19:17
What exactly are ADF files? Raven support.WinUAE 6 02 September 2001 22:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09316 seconds with 13 queries