English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 January 2012, 02:25   #1
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,162
Question Lyra 2 keyboard replacement adapter for Amiga 1200

My Amiga 1200 keyboard has one matrix that has given up the ghost resulting in the left Ctrl, Alt and Amiga keys being useless. This makes programming and disassembling in Resource almost impossible.

I've been thinking about getting a Lyra 2 and using a PC keyboard since you can't seem to get replacement Amiga keyboards with the US keyboard layout.

I have a 2.5" HD inside the Amiga and one of those 4 way IDE expansions and a 68030 accelerator, but other than that it's stock machine.

Has anyone had good/bad experiences with the Lyra 2? Any potential problems? Is it easy to install? When installed, would the keys that do work on the Amiga still work or does it take over the keys from the PC keyboard?

Ideally I'd like to have the port hang out the back beside the joystick port but have no idea if it would reach!

This keyboard problem is seriously delaying a lot of WHDLoad installs from being released!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 24 January 2012, 04:02   #2
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 47
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
My Amiga 1200 keyboard has one matrix that has given up the ghost resulting in the left Ctrl, Alt and Amiga keys being useless. This makes programming and disassembling in Resource almost impossible.

I've been thinking about getting a Lyra 2 and using a PC keyboard since you can't seem to get replacement Amiga keyboards with the US keyboard layout.

I have a 2.5" HD inside the Amiga and one of those 4 way IDE expansions and a 68030 accelerator, but other than that it's stock machine.

Has anyone had good/bad experiences with the Lyra 2? Any potential problems? Is it easy to install? When installed, would the keys that do work on the Amiga still work or does it take over the keys from the PC keyboard?

Ideally I'd like to have the port hang out the back beside the joystick port but have no idea if it would reach!

This keyboard problem is seriously delaying a lot of WHDLoad installs from being released!
what you have broken is the membrane
you can purchase a new membrane for your US keyboard

or you can purchase on amigakit for example a deutch keyboard,remove the membrane and insert the new membrane in your US keyboard...it is a really easy job
A1200 membranes are identical ...no matter what region or language..what changes are the keys on the keyboard
clauddio is offline  
Old 24 January 2012, 12:58   #3
spoUP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 347
where can these membranes be bought?
spoUP is offline  
Old 24 January 2012, 14:38   #4
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
"Insane in the membrane, insane in the brane!"
Is the membrane the white thingy that attaches the A1200 KB to the mobo?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 24 January 2012, 21:42   #5
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,743
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
"Insane in the membrane, insane in the brane!"
Is the membrane the white thingy that attaches the A1200 KB to the mobo?
No the membrane is the plastic sheet with carbon contacts (matrix). Its basically the keyboard without anything attached.
FOL is offline  
Old 24 January 2012, 22:02   #6
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
I was just searching you a membrane when I've found this too:

http://www.ebay.es/itm/Brand-New-PS-...item1c1ee2d4c8

Last edited by Retrofan; 24 January 2012 at 22:25.
Retrofan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lyra 2 Keyboard adapter for A1200 Kenan support.Hardware 0 20 May 2013 12:12
Lyra 1200 - does it support A2000 keyboard? Bamiga2002 support.Hardware 8 24 January 2012 14:35
Lyra keyboard adapter for A2000/A3000/A4000/CD32 Paul_s MarketPlace 4 05 October 2010 14:31
Lyra a1200 Keyboard adapter. Vairn support.Hardware 0 13 September 2009 04:29
Problems with Lyra keyboard interface for A1200 woody.cool support.Hardware 4 12 June 2009 14:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06522 seconds with 15 queries