English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 June 2008, 13:46   #441
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
just a question: it is because a different way to implement filters? i mean, this thing worked before (Winuae 1.4.6?)

this way filters are practically useless in picasso modes :/
?? It has nothing to do with Picasso96.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 June 2008, 13:46   #442
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,995
winuae.zip updated. Seems to fix hanging problem in d3d/ogl fullscreen modes.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 June 2008, 14:04   #443
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
?? It has nothing to do with Picasso96.
ok i will test the new one in a sec, but what you say it's strange because it happens NOT in full screen with a bare A1200 quick start config, but only after i booted a vanilla ClassicWB with Picasso enabled and then switched to the non picassoed environment can that be a memory problem then, as that the config in use has larger memory opened that the quickstart config?
Marcuz is offline  
Old 15 June 2008, 14:06   #444
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
winuae.zip updated. Seems to fix hanging problem in d3d/ogl fullscreen modes.
ehm, sorry which is the link? the ones above are older than the last one
Marcuz is offline  
Old 15 June 2008, 14:39   #445
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
ehm, sorry which is the link? the ones above are older than the last one
There is only one link that ends to winuae.zip

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 June 2008, 14:57   #446
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,251
heh i downloaded that but since my cache wasn't clean i kept resulting the same file as yesterday!

ok... tested:

D3D works! fullscreen coming from picasso mode, sound is perfect, gui is quick!

switching D3D to OGL works, the sound in OGL is a bit crunchy and messy (i guess CPU calc is heavier?)

however: when i call the gui from OGL the emulation seems to hang, ctrl+tab and back takes you to an hanged emulation; if you press ctrl+alt+canc, you finally see the GUI that was out of focus. either you change some settings or you don't, after pressing ok, you can get back to the emulation without problem (of course, if you stays in OGL mode, the condition is the same as above.)

it's not a major problem.

btw, thanks!
Marcuz is offline  
Old 15 June 2008, 16:38   #447
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
heh i downloaded that but since my cache wasn't clean i kept resulting the same file as yesterday!

ok... tested:

D3D works! fullscreen coming from picasso mode, sound is perfect, gui is quick!
Great.

Bug was "brown paper bag"-style:

I called IDirectDrawSurface7_IsLost (surface) with NULL surface and apparently it didn't directly cause errors or crashes but corrupted some random memory..

Quote:
switching D3D to OGL works, the sound in OGL is a bit crunchy and messy (i guess CPU calc is heavier?)
In my tests OpenGL has always been slightly slower than D3D (I think D3D has better interface for continuous texture uploads than OGL)

Quote:
however: when i call the gui from OGL the emulation seems to hang, ctrl+tab and back takes you to an hanged emulation; if you press ctrl+alt+canc, you finally see the GUI that was out of focus. either you change some settings or you don't, after pressing ok, you can get back to the emulation without problem (of course, if you stays in OGL mode, the condition is the same as above.)

it's not a major problem.
Will test.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 June 2008, 12:45   #448
Thom87
LameUser
Thom87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aylesbury/UK
Age: 44
Posts: 89
Hi Toni,

I just was testing native resolution for my LCD (1680x1050) so I switch to Full Screen and I was tested switching between a Native Amiga Mode at 1680x1050 and Picasso, but when I pressed F12 (after native was used) on Picasso screen I saw garbage on screen witch could be refreshed by mouse or just by redraw all in Workbench menu. (screen shot attached)

When I start those tests a have flew crashes where 1GB dump file was created. So I tried to reproduce why it was happened but with no look. I have only one dump now with winuaebootlog.txt, winuaelog.txt files.
It might be useful to debug (files attached).

Thomas
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AfterPresedOK-P96.jpg
Views:	387
Size:	155.1 KB
ID:	16886   Click image for larger version

Name:	MenuAfterNativeModeUsed-P96.jpg
Views:	387
Size:	159.9 KB
ID:	16887  
Attached Files
File Type: 7z winuae_15024_20080616_095554.7z (163.8 KB, 255 views)
File Type: txt WinUAEbootlog.txt (12.4 KB, 228 views)
File Type: txt WinUAElog.txt (39.5 KB, 245 views)
Thom87 is offline  
Old 16 June 2008, 17:20   #449
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,995
It was stupid bug that caused corrupted 1G crash dump files..
(see below)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 June 2008, 17:21   #450
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,995
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1500b25.zip (RC1)

Beta 25: RC1 (few days to go)

- "non-standard" Picasso96 resolutions are available again
- fixed unusable huge crash dumps if logging was enabled
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 June 2008, 18:53   #451
Thom87
LameUser
Thom87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aylesbury/UK
Age: 44
Posts: 89
Anything about those garbages or later?

Thomas
Thom87 is offline  
Old 16 June 2008, 19:10   #452
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thom87 View Post
Anything about those garbages or later?
No but include crash dump if it crashes again, this time it should be working dump file.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 09:24   #453
Blueberry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aarhus / Denmark
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
How about remembering that I can't test it myself. And how about testing it when there is something about it in change log and not when there is few days left before official release... (nothing personal but this pisses off most developers, me including)
I posted a message on May 6 saying it did not work with beta 15. I have kept an eye on the changelogs since then but not seen anything that indicated a change in that area. I simply assumed that you were postponing it while fixing more important stuff. That is, until I saw your message about impending release.

Sorry if I sounded demanding or anything. I just wanted to remind you that the bug was not fixed (and give you the information you needed to (hopefully) fix it).

Anyway, with the winuae.zip, the disk correctly disappears, but when I reinsert the card, the disk does not reappear. Attached log where I insert and remove the card three times. I tried beta 24 and beta 25 with same result.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (20.7 KB, 249 views)
Blueberry is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 09:05   #454
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,995
Beta over. Closed.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 10:22
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 2.3.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 79 31 May 2011 19:39
WinUAE 2.3.0 beta series (was 2.2.1) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 229 22 September 2010 19:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09128 seconds with 16 queries