English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2008, 01:52   #1
Dimlow
Likes to be thought of as
Dimlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kent,UK
Age: 49
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Dimlow Send a message via Yahoo to Dimlow
info on creating info files icons ?

OK this is probably real easy, but i think i must be getting old and my memory is failing me (well i am almost 40!)

Anyway, I'm sure there was an easy way of creating the .info files ie icons for files that do not have icons. If someone could give my brain a nudge in the right direction. then maybe my grey matter will kick in.

Yes i know I'm living up to my nick name Dimlow! There was a time i was called dimlow because i was so smart with computers but now as i get older the true meaning of the word is showing through
Dimlow is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 06:23   #2
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,467
Which OS are you using?

I think you can just use the icon editor in WB.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 14:13   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I remember there was an addicon shell command or something like that but it might have not come with the OS.

If everything fails, just open up IconEdit, make whatever icon of the type you need and save it as the icon for the file you want it added to. I think you can open up a file and get a default in there if memory serves right.
Akira is offline  
Old 13 June 2008, 01:56   #4
Dimlow
Likes to be thought of as
Dimlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kent,UK
Age: 49
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Dimlow Send a message via Yahoo to Dimlow
Nova, yes I'm using OS 3.1

Ah yes icon edit, that was it, how could i forget that! but also i installed Classic WB and found it had a nice little tool that you drag a source icon and a destination icon on to its window and it will update the icon for you!

I'm my stupidness i was looking for a menu item in WB

Cheers guys

Gary
Dimlow is offline  
Old 13 June 2008, 22:39   #5
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
MrIcon works well for me.

http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/MrIcon
meega is offline  
Old 14 June 2008, 15:34   #6
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Dopus 4 is what i use
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 14 June 2008, 15:35   #7
Dimlow
Likes to be thought of as
Dimlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kent,UK
Age: 49
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Dimlow Send a message via Yahoo to Dimlow
I dint know opus could do that ? how?
Dimlow is offline  
Old 14 June 2008, 17:23   #8
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 11,042
I think there's an Add Icon function on DOpus' toolbar somewhere (I think you access it by pressing the right mouse button on one of the toolbar buttons, can't remember which one right now though), simply highlight the file you want to add an icon too and use the Add Icon function.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 15 June 2008, 12:40   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
True.
Dirwork 2 has the same function, I suppose they copied it from dopus
Akira is offline  
Old 14 July 2008, 06:25   #10
Nomad of Norad
Registered User
Nomad of Norad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida, USA, Earth, Sol system, Milky Way galaxy...
Age: 52
Posts: 27
Send a message via ICQ to Nomad of Norad Send a message via AIM to Nomad of Norad Send a message via MSN to Nomad of Norad Send a message via Yahoo to Nomad of Norad
I've actually got a bunch of neat-looking icons collected together in a folder called My Icons (or something close to that) selected over the years from out of various Amiga icon collections and stuff. I collected drawer icons, document icons, disk icons, and so on. Even made a couple myself for specialized uses. Then I copy them over as needed via DirOpus.
Nomad of Norad is offline  
Old 16 July 2008, 19:28   #11
Dimlow
Likes to be thought of as
Dimlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kent,UK
Age: 49
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Dimlow Send a message via Yahoo to Dimlow
I now use ClassicWB, comes with a nice little tool in a Launch bar, I use it all the time now, keep all my icons looking good. Just drag a source icon onto the window then the destination icon, works a treat, nice and easy , and i keep the look of ClassicWB's Magic icons. Now all I need is Jens Scan doubler so i can use a nice LCD and my Amiga will be finished
Dimlow is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to create .info files jimbobrocks92 support.Other 2 31 December 2011 08:03
Creating a #?.info file bytemind project.WHDLoad 24 15 May 2010 09:26
def_disk.info, def_Kick.info and def_CF0 fc.studio support.Apps 4 09 January 2010 23:49
.info files Aljrob support.WinUAE 5 14 March 2007 15:42
New here with a question about .info files jobro Amiga scene 14 24 November 2005 22:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08110 seconds with 13 queries