English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2018, 21:40   #1
slx
Registered User
slx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Neverhood
Posts: 26
Cool Flashback on A1200 continues :D

As I know, this game and the A1200 were released on the autumn of 1992.
I think the makers of this game knew about the new AMIGA! But they didn't care about the synchronization at all!
I downloaded the WHDLoad version. I can not run because I have a pre-installed A1200 WB HD file what contains WHDLoad v16.8... :'(
slx is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 21:55   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by slx View Post
I downloaded the WHDLoad version. I can not run because I have a pre-installed A1200 WB HD file what contains WHDLoad v16.8... :'(
Then upgrade to the latest WHDLoad, try agian
DamienD is online now  
Old 18 February 2018, 22:16   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Quote:
As I know, this game and the A1200 were released on the autumn of 1992.
Then your memory is wrong. It was 1993. If you check the file dates of the game, then you know it.

And yes, upgrading to WHDLoad 18.3 is pretty easy. Just overwrite the "whdload" file inside your WB C: folder with the newer from one this archive.

http://www.whdload.de/whdload/WHDLoad_usr_small.lha
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 22:22   #4
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
@Retro-nerd, why are you so insistent on this?? Every website including wiki state that it was released in 1992. This very year is stamped on the game title screen also. So how is it that you and Akira are the only ones stating it was 1993?

I do not get it, you do know that HOL could be wrong on this!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flashback_1992_video_game)
MigaTech is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 22:23   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145


Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 22:32   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Because SPS 1163 was the first release, which are the files from. The re-release was on a compilation. Now stop it.

Flashback (1993)(Delphine - U.S. Gold)[compilation Delphine Classic Collection][1885]

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 18 February 2018 at 22:46.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 22:34   #7
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Hold up you came in here first not me !

Maybe we should just agree to disagree, before we both get into trouble again off DamienD, for starting up something he already closed?

Although I know I am right about the reason this video game doesn't run correctly on the A1200. Which I stated in the OP's other post on this.
MigaTech is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 23:06   #8
slx
Registered User
slx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Neverhood
Posts: 26
„...Just overwrite the "whdload" file inside your WB C: folder with the newer from one this archive.”
Do you mean 'System:C ' ????
slx is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 23:13   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,142
Yes Retro does

...others; enough please and get back on topic.
DamienD is online now  
Old 18 February 2018, 23:15   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Quote:
„...Just overwrite the "whdload" file inside your WB C: folder with the newer from one this archive.”Do you mean 'System:C ' ????
Yes, or whatever you've named your Workbench partition.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 23:28   #11
slx
Registered User
slx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Neverhood
Posts: 26
I updated the WHDLoad and I can start the game and I set the things at the start... but it gives black screen and some white things go from down to up... and the game does not start. :'(
WHHHAAATTT????
slx is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 23:32   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Is there maybe a pirated "whdload.key" file in one of the S:, L: or C: folders? Wepl blacklisted all of them. What's your hardware config? Do you have fast ram?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 23:40   #13
slx
Registered User
slx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Neverhood
Posts: 26
Thanks for your time! I use it in WinUAE, and I wrote it is a pre-installed WB for A1200.
It has 3.1 - 40.68 ROM
Chip 2 MB
Z2 Fast 8MB
I don't know there is any pirated things in this WB! I downloaded this file long-long ago (maybe in 2008)!
slx is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 23:46   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Ah, i thought that you use a real Amiga. 8MB Fastram is good enough. Maybe the rest of your WinUAE config settings aren't compatible enough.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 23:54   #15
slx
Registered User
slx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Neverhood
Posts: 26
No, there is a problem with the pre-installed WB!
After the WHDLoad update nothing runs!
slx is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 23:56   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Have you actually checked the mentioned folders for a "whdload.key" file? Upgrading WHDLoad doesn't mess with your system.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 February 2018, 00:26   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Do a fresh install, you shouldn't be downloaded preconfigured junk off the internet.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 February 2018, 00:28   #18
slx
Registered User
slx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Neverhood
Posts: 26
I found 3 in the whole system:
System:C/WHDload.key
System:WBStartup/WHDload.key
System:WBStartupM/WHDload.key
all three have the same size 888
but they have different dates but in minutes only...10-Apr-09!
slx is offline  
Old 19 February 2018, 00:30   #19
slx
Registered User
slx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Neverhood
Posts: 26
This is it:
http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/full.htm
slx is offline  
Old 19 February 2018, 00:31   #20
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Delete the 3 files. Then it should work again. They were for WHDLoad 16.x, later WHDLoad versions detect them and the games don't work anymore.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flashback on A1200 slx Nostalgia & memories 24 19 September 2018 13:30
Flashback Crazy C support.Games 5 08 September 2017 20:00
Flashback DamienD project.TOSEC (amiga only) 37 26 May 2016 10:24
The sale continues :) Now a batch of boxed games mabus MarketPlace 1 13 April 2009 09:06
Here is a interesting trend that I hope continues. Pyromania Amiga scene 7 04 June 2002 05:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11284 seconds with 15 queries