English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 April 2010, 20:36   #1
christianlucio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sigmaringen / Germany
Posts: 118
Mounting CD image in new WINUAE

Hi, I can not find out how to "insert" a CD image in the latest WINUAE for CD 32 emulation, without using the quickstart menu. Am I blind ?
christianlucio is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 21:00   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,019
You don't. You can use quickstart selection even if quickstart is not enabled.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 April 2010, 02:37   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Hooooo

Besides...
since when did WinUAE GUI ever provide a way to MOUNT a cd image in WinUAE?
That must've escaped me...
Would be a nice-to-have, for sure, since one would no longer be in need of using external software.

Commonly, you'd use a standard virtual CD emulation software like Daemon Tools, specify a drive letter in the latter, and WinUAE ought to find the virtual CD drive by itself. No "hand-mounting" (this is not Linux )

And to prevent you from having to grope in the dark if anything goes wrong, you can check the log files because they "tell" you whether the v-drive was found or not ...

Last edited by andreas; 30 April 2010 at 02:43.
andreas is offline  
Old 30 April 2010, 03:42   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,655
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas View Post
Besides...
since when did WinUAE GUI ever provide a way to MOUNT a cd image in WinUAE?
That must've escaped me...
Would be a nice-to-have, for sure, since one would no longer be in need of using external software.

Commonly, you'd use a standard virtual CD emulation software like Daemon Tools, specify a drive letter in the latter, and WinUAE ought to find the virtual CD drive by itself. No "hand-mounting" (this is not Linux )

And to prevent you from having to grope in the dark if anything goes wrong, you can check the log files because they "tell" you whether the v-drive was found or not ...
Sine the last couple of beta's, simply hit CD32 quickstart and it replaces the floppy drive with cdimage location.

Awesome addition, means I can play MicroCosm in all its glory, .
FOL is offline  
Old 30 April 2010, 09:19   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas View Post
That must've escaped me...
Would be a nice-to-have, for sure, since one would no longer be in need of using external software.
From the 2.1.0 readme :
Quote:
New features:

- CDTV/CD32 direct CD image file support, including audio tracks,
plain iso, cue + bin, cue + bin + wav and cue + bin + mp3.
Quickstart GUI support, cdimage0=<path> in configuration file and
-cdimage=<path> in command line.

I know Retro-Nerd hates it, but the '+ mp3' bit is a really nice addition
TCD is offline  
Old 30 April 2010, 09:36   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,019
Remember that it only has full compatibility in CDTV/CD32 modes.

It does "work" in uaescsi.device mode but all SCSI commands will be ignored (no audio tracks etc..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 April 2010, 18:10   #7
christianlucio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sigmaringen / Germany
Posts: 118
Thanks Toni

o.k. will use the quickstart option; Thanks to you Toni for this fantastic release. Last night I played Microcosm and Defender of the crown II. After all these years...
christianlucio is offline  
Old 30 April 2010, 23:06   #8
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,316
yes tony the greatest version for sure.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 06 May 2010, 03:22   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Sine the last couple of beta's, simply hit CD32 quickstart and it replaces the floppy drive with cdimage location.
Coolish!
And thanks for the info. As you might have presumed, I did NOT keep up with every beta during the last cycle, just lacked time.

Yet I do think my post had some valuable information for those folks that cannot (or will not) use the current version and stay with, say, 1.6, where you obviously will still need Daemon Tools or a replacement product to get your CD recognized by WinUAE. (Note too that even WinUAE has a limited support cycle for previous OS versions, e. g. Windows 2000. So if you want to run the emulator on your 2K machine, you MUST downgrade, thus do without some newer bells & whistles )

Last edited by andreas; 06 May 2010 at 03:29.
andreas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting a disk image with later version of FFS mark_k support.WinUAE 48 27 January 2013 14:43
Mounting Amiga HDD Win (winuae) or OSX Wasagi support.Hardware 11 18 June 2010 20:41
WinUAE crashes with 1.4 MB disk image thomas support.WinUAE 1 03 February 2008 14:21
ISO mounting within WinUAE please zardoz request.UAE Wishlist 8 18 May 2005 18:51
Winuae 0.8.26 Hangs when load disk image Unregistered support.WinUAE 10 04 June 2004 01:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07063 seconds with 13 queries