English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 November 2020, 19:20   #1
Dradd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Andover/Hampshire
Posts: 16
Cloning CF/HD on Mac

Hello folks,

Can anyone tell me how it might be possible to clone my Amiga's internal CF HD by using my Mac?
Before anyone asks, the card was set up for me by someone using a PC.

I just want to be able to clone the card so I have a physical backup. I can't use any standard cloning software because macOS won't recognise the format of the card so won't mount it. I understand under Windows there is cloning software that will do this, but I don't run any Windows machines...

I do have FS-UAE on my Mac, but again can't do anything with the card as macOS won't mount it, soo....

Any help welcome.
Many thanks.
Keith
Dradd is offline  
Old 08 December 2020, 10:03   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,234
Open the terminal, then use dd to make an image of it. The card is not supposed to be mounted on Windows either, you work on the raw device.

You can see the disks detected by the system with:

Code:
diskutil list
Then you can dump the image with

Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/rdiskNUMBERHERE of=backup.hdf bs=8m
Be careful of course. Don't dump the wrong disk, don't dump in the wrong direction. if = input file, of = output file.

If your card shows up as identifier disk2 when you diskutil list, then your input file is /dev/rdisk2

Last edited by Jope; 08 December 2020 at 10:09.
Jope is offline  
Old 12 December 2020, 01:12   #3
quantum8
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: BNE AU
Posts: 203
I keep it simple and use an older version of Applepi-baker, 1.94.

It avoids accidentally using the incorrect disk using the terminal, especially when you're sleep deprived! I found newer 2.x version do more image checking for the linux build so it fails when using unexpected formats such as amiga images.
quantum8 is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 20:18   #4
Dradd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Andover/Hampshire
Posts: 16
Thank you so much for this. Works a treat. Brilliant!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Open the terminal, then use dd to make an image of it. The card is not supposed to be mounted on Windows either, you work on the raw device.

You can see the disks detected by the system with:

Code:
diskutil list
Then you can dump the image with

Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/rdiskNUMBERHERE of=backup.hdf bs=8m
Be careful of course. Don't dump the wrong disk, don't dump in the wrong direction. if = input file, of = output file.

If your card shows up as identifier disk2 when you diskutil list, then your input file is /dev/rdisk2
Dradd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cloning an Amiga Forever SD card Eamoe support.Amiga Forever 3 19 November 2020 19:09
TF1260 cloning legality discussion Chucky Amiga scene 23 25 September 2020 06:16
Hdf cloning 512k support.WinUAE 3 25 March 2020 21:04
Easy Cloning Amiga HDD on PC Amigan123 support.Hardware 4 21 August 2013 09:30
hard drive cloning problems simon_m74 support.WinUAE 1 13 April 2013 17:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06616 seconds with 14 queries