English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 January 2012, 22:04   #1
Overkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Barnstaple/UK
Posts: 49
Unhappy A1200 Hard Drive problem. missing pins?????

Hi all,

I have just bought an Amiga A1200 from Ebay, it didn't work at all to start with but after pushing on the ROM chip it booted up

But I can't get the hard-drive working , I've tested it on my A600 and it works fine. I have noticed that there are 3 pins missing from the IDE connector on the mainboard, is that normaly or have some pins snapped off?

I didn't notice the 3 missing pins to start with and I did get a CF-IDE adaptor booted once.

I'm pretty sure it's a hardware fault, sometimes I can see the hard-drive in the HDTools but it fails to partition.

Thanks for looking

Last edited by Overkill; 09 January 2012 at 22:23.
Overkill is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:09   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,348
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
There should not be any missing pins
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:12   #3
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overkill View Post
But I can't get the hard-drive working ,
oh men..careful your head..
yes pins is missed ,look the IDE connector, of your A600 ,is same
Anemos is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:12   #4
Overkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Barnstaple/UK
Posts: 49
Well at least I know what the problem is then lol

thanks for the quick reply BTW

oh, one says yes and the other says no lol

There is no pins missing on my A600

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 10 January 2012 at 00:29. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
Overkill is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:16   #5
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
some more easy.. "replace all pins missed" ..
Anemos is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:21   #6
Overkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Barnstaple/UK
Posts: 49
I will try sticking some copper wire in the cable where the pins are missing, unless someone has a better idea. I don't want to get the soldering iron out too soon
Overkill is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:48   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,348
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overkill View Post
I will try sticking some copper wire in the cable where the pins are missing, unless someone has a better idea. I don't want to get the soldering iron out too soon
Well I would solder it, wont be long until you run into trouble - I managed to save data from a faulty HDD this way but it soon started to throw up errors...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:49   #8
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
better found some right pins of old PC board, that pins is not copper metal, is steel golden plated.
Anemos is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:56   #9
Overkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Barnstaple/UK
Posts: 49
Yep, bits of copper wire did nothing, will have to try soldering in new pins

It's not totally uncommon then, I found this http://www.lemonamiga.com/forum/view...6830ff5fddffdb

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 10 January 2012 at 00:29. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
Overkill is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 23:36   #10
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
i'm sure the likes of amigakit.co.uk could take care of it if you've not got a steady hand and soldering experience.

if you want to try it yourself, you'll need a solder sucker, solder braid (to remove excess solder) a low watt soldering iron (20w) with a chisel tip, solder with flux, and possibly a flux pen, and some surgical spirit to remove the flux from the board to make it nice and clean again when you're finished.

you'll need to completely remove the motherboard so you can get to the underside.

if you go this route, i'll explain further how its done to remove a pin and replace it.

to be honest though, all that equipment will likely cost twice as much as the repair and postage to send to amigakit.co.uk. if you dont have the tools already i'd personally just send it to them for a quick and much better fix.

Last edited by diablothe2nd; 10 January 2012 at 01:08.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 11:30   #11
Overkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Barnstaple/UK
Posts: 49
Thanks for the reply and advice, I have all the tools needed, plus a smd reflow unit.
I would replace the whole connector but I don't have one, so I think I'll try and replace the missing pins. I'm not sure how hard this will be, because there's not much left of the broken pins, they would need pushing out with something very small but firm.

I should really order a new connector, but I don't like waiting to see if the thing works lol
Overkill is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 11:37   #12
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
Is not to hard.. soldering time!
Anemos is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 12:01   #13
Overkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Barnstaple/UK
Posts: 49
ok! I got the board out
Overkill is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 14:01   #14
Overkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Barnstaple/UK
Posts: 49

IT's WORKING!

Wasn't easy, I used my SMD Rework Station to melt the solder, but the solder sucker seemed huge when working on such small pins, so I ended up with other pins moving. I pushed the remains of the broken pins through from the underside, so there was enough to pull out with pliers. I ripped out some pins from a broken 2.5" IDE hard-drive. They were the wrong shape (not straight) but I straighten them and pushed them in the holes. A lot of the pins were now too long because they had started to come out, so I used a flat item (an old PC memory SIMM) to push on the pins while I heated the other side with my rework station, until they all lined up.
I when used a liquid flux and soldered the pins.

I cleaned up the board, straighten some of the pins, fitted a CF and adaptor and plugged it all in and IT WORKED!

Thanks again for your help, advice, encouragement

Just need to get SWOS working off the hard-drive now
Overkill is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 14:03   #15
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
great news!
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 14:07   #16
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
Rest and Beer time..
Anemos is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 14:23   #17
Overkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Barnstaple/UK
Posts: 49
Thanks!
Overkill is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Drive Problem blade002 support.Hardware 11 27 June 2006 11:23
Hard drive problem.. spannernick support.Hardware 2 03 October 2004 19:57
Hard Drive Problem !!! THX1138 support.Hardware 7 08 December 2002 19:56
Hard drive problem! Pixel support.Hardware 3 01 April 2002 15:36
Hard-Drive problem Pixel support.Hardware 1 10 March 2002 14:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08350 seconds with 15 queries