English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2020, 17:07   #3961
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,062
@Johnnybarker did you set:
-Harrier256MB (0 or 1): Enable if you have a Harrier based G4 card with 256MB.

@TheMrKocour
Yes due to the Spider using three IRQs, they are going to share with something. I haven't run the Sonnet in a long time but I was using the Spider with it successfully. Currently I have a Sphyder in with an Apocalypse and it basically works.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 17:11   #3962
johnnybarker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Helmsdale Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 77
Oh, just reading the github again, looks like I may need to alter the envarc harrier =1?

I know, RTFM. In the bath now so will try later.
johnnybarker is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 17:14   #3963
johnnybarker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Helmsdale Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 77
Thanks grelbfarlk- screen refreshed too late to read your post before I replied to myself!

Fingers crossed. I am hoping that if the RAM/soldering was dodgy then it would not work at all.
johnnybarker is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 17:43   #3964
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnybarker View Post
Thanks grelbfarlk- screen refreshed too late to read your post before I replied to myself!

Fingers crossed. I am hoping that if the RAM/soldering was dodgy then it would not work at all.
Yeah, that's what I've seen. So if it's working with 128MB out of 256MB it's probably fine.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 19:52   #3965
johnnybarker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Helmsdale Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 77
Hooray it works!

Thanks again grelbfarlk for all the hard work you did in creating/testing this mod.

Now that it is working I will admit that that I did go for the cheap RAM chips off Aliexpress.
johnnybarker is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 19:54   #3966
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnybarker View Post
Now that it is working I will admit that that I did go for the cheap RAM chips off Aliexpress.


Got a link to them I’ll get some for mine
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 20:20   #3967
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnybarker View Post
Hooray it works!

Thanks again grelbfarlk for all the hard work you did in creating/testing this mod.

Now that it is working I will admit that that I did go for the cheap RAM chips off Aliexpress.
I mean I didn't really do any more work than you did, but I'll accept the props. Glad you got it done on the cheap as well.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 21:25   #3968
johnnybarker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Helmsdale Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtheloon View Post
Got a link to them I’ll get some for mine
This is what I bought

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3259...40fc5764SsGVd1

They appear to be even cheaper now.

I used an "Aoyue 1257 - Air Nozzle SOP Type - 11 x 21mm" with an antex hot air gun and, with plenty of flux, the chips came off quite easily.

I did actually buy a spare apocalypse card from the seller in Israel as I wasn't confident I could change the chips without bricking at least one card. I also bought enough RAM chips to do the second card. If I get time between working and home schooling I may have a bash at the second card and if successful will pass it on for what I paid for it.
johnnybarker is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 21:48   #3969
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 157
Hopefully I’ve bought the right ones

Timtheloon is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 22:08   #3970
johnnybarker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Helmsdale Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 77
Looks good.
johnnybarker is offline  
Old 22 May 2020, 18:58   #3971
TheMrKocour
Registered User
TheMrKocour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 19
Hi, any news on SheepShaver or iFusion?
TheMrKocour is offline  
Old 22 May 2020, 19:06   #3972
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMrKocour View Post
Hi, any news on SheepShaver or iFusion?
No, unfortunately we need a coder with at least 6th level spell slots, and they're all busy on something else.
*Edit* And no, Six 1st level spells are not equivalent or First level working six times as hard.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 25 May 2020, 10:49   #3973
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 157
Hi I noticed this issue has been closed and marked as done on the GitHub.

“Add an auto-detect routine for memory size for Apocalypse cards. #9”

Does this mean we no longer need the jumper on 128mb cards?
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 25 May 2020, 13:01   #3974
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,249
Thats a different library. And it removes the need for the env, not the jumper
That one prevents booting of the card into its own kernel
Hedeon is offline  
Old 25 May 2020, 14:43   #3975
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Thats a different library. And it removes the need for the env, not the jumper

Oh sorry didn’t realise is this going to be version 18? Or is it completely different?
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 25 May 2020, 16:42   #3976
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,249
Not sure yet. Version 18 is in use by ReWarp. I probably stick to 17. It is intended for a more easy maintenance of the library. Adding stuff became more and more difficult (1MB of asm sources...).

The main motivator was Prometheus/Firestorm. And second to learn more C.

Any lingering A1200 support will be removed.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 25 May 2020, 18:57   #3977
starship
Registered User
starship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 169
Hi hedeon

Anything for ragnarok+radeon128+100mbps eth card situation?

When the init old build (400 or older ) and softreset, all new builds are working.

Can be a way without softrestart?
starship is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 18:15   #3978
starship
Registered User
starship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 169
It seems I must find 10mbit nic.
starship is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 19:22   #3979
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,693
RTL8029AS works fine
trixster is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 20:16   #3980
starship
Registered User
starship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 169
Thanks
starship is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 02:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 00:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 00:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 15:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15100 seconds with 14 queries