English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 May 2020, 21:08   #1
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,425
Nvidia is Weird ???

Went to site:
Entered machine specs...
Downloaded Driver Pack ---
Got error message (see grab), What gives ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nvidia Error.png
Views:	108
Size:	131.3 KB
ID:	67474  
Nobby_UK is online now  
Old 23 May 2020, 21:33   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,536
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
64bit driver on 32bit OS or vice versa?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 May 2020, 21:38   #3
Pixelfill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Preston
Posts: 29
Quadro vs GeForce driver?

I believe mobile chipsets are all in the unified driver, so shouldn't be a desktop/laptop issue
Pixelfill is offline  
Old 23 May 2020, 21:40   #4
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 3,169
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
While the the sub-forum is called support.Other, it is still intended for Amiga related issues.

Tomorrow I'll move this thread to OT - Technical which is the usual location for such a thread (even though some members of the regular forums don't often go to the OT ones. Or vice versa...)
lilalurl is offline  
Old 23 May 2020, 21:48   #5
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 732
If you bought an OEM (cheap) windows license, you need to use the OEM driver.
spiff is offline  
Old 23 May 2020, 22:01   #6
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,425
Quote:
64bit driver on 32bit OS or vice versa?
Nope


Quote:
If you bought an OEM (cheap) windows license, you need to use the OEM driver.

Win 7 Ultimate SP 1
No mention of OEM
Nobby_UK is online now  
Old 23 May 2020, 22:39   #7
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 156
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Use nVidia automatic driver detection applet aka nVidia "Smart Scan" :
https://www.nvidia.com/Download/Scan.aspx?lang=en-us
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 23 May 2020, 23:18   #8
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,960
If is quatro, Win 7 support was dropped at beginning of year.

Quote:
As of January 14th, Nvidia will be ending driver support for not only Windows 7, but also Windows 8 and all other prior Microsoft operating systems.
If is OEM driver, wing appropriate company support. My work laptop has Intel and Nvidia cards, while nVidia loads fine, I have to update intel manually since Dell seems to update driver once a year.
Anubis is offline  
Old 24 May 2020, 02:42   #9
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,425
The release notes say:
Requirement for Obtaining NVIDIA Drivers for Windows 7 Microsoft now provides only SHA-2 signed drivers. If your Windows 7 system is NOT equipped to detect SHA-2, you need to install the SHA-2 update support patches. For details as well as access to SHA-2 update support patches, see the Microsoft KBA "2019 SHA-2 Code Signing Support requirement for Windows and WSUS".
Nobby_UK is online now  
Old 24 May 2020, 12:01   #10
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 156
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
If you think you miss these updates, MS offers manual updates installation of each of these, namely KB4490628 and KB4474419. So, to add SHA-2 support to SP1 Window 7, go ahead and grab each update according to the platform your system is running (x86 or x64) :
https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/new...uture-updates/
https://www.catalog.update.microsoft...aspx?q=4490628
https://www.catalog.update.microsoft...px?q=kb4474419
Before you download, make sure the file size is not zero (that's just related to how their search engine display results apparently)
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 24 May 2020, 20:26   #11
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,425
Saw that:
Might do it if the thing that prompted the update ---
"Display driver stopped responding and has recovered"
gets too annoying.
Nobby_UK is online now  
Old 25 May 2020, 07:17   #12
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 156
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
I would suggest uninstalling and reinstalling your GPU drivers. Before reinstalling though, make sure you use Guru3D's Display Driver Uninstaller in safe mode to clean the remaining traces of previous driver package completely.
https://www.guru3d.com/files-details...-download.html
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 25 May 2020, 22:13   #13
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,425
Might try that as the updated certification did not help
Nobby_UK is online now  
Old 26 May 2020, 02:56   #14
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,960
Or just update windowz to 10... will fix driver issues.

Win 7 is today what XP was in time 7 got out.
Anubis is offline  
Old 26 May 2020, 18:57   #15
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,557
Only problem with that is that all 10 versions except LTSC is utter junk riddled with crapware and "feature updates" that will screw up your day sooner or later.
That said, LTSC runs great when everything is tweaked and properly configured, OOTB settings, I don't think so.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 26 May 2020, 21:07   #16
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,960
Shooney posted more then once in this area utility to run on Win10 that turns off all tracking and data collection and much more...

Just don't play to get XGP afterward, as it might not work as intended (ask jmmijo about it ) and same goes for windowz store.

Speaking of store, there is new apt package software that new version of Win 10 will have, that reminds me very mich of Ubuntu.
Anubis is offline  
Old 26 May 2020, 21:19   #17
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,557
XGP ?

Fortunately MS Store is absent in LTSC as well.
When good old Quick Launch is enabled and Open-Shell is installed it pretty much acts like dear old 7 did.
If only there's a way to get rid of the "Settings" app (app, why is it my toes cringe every time I hear that word) and have control panel back in full action I'd be a happy camper but that's unfortunately not going to happen.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 26 May 2020, 22:08   #18
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
XGP ?

Fortunately MS Store is absent in LTSC as well.
When good old Quick Launch is enabled and Open-Shell is installed it pretty much acts like dear old 7 did.
If only there's a way to get rid of the "Settings" app (app, why is it my toes cringe every time I hear that word) and have control panel back in full action I'd be a happy camper but that's unfortunately not going to happen.
XGP = Xbox Game Pass
jmmijo is offline  
Old 27 May 2020, 14:57   #19
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
XGP ?

Fortunately MS Store is absent in LTSC as well.
When good old Quick Launch is enabled and Open-Shell is installed it pretty much acts like dear old 7 did.
If only there's a way to get rid of the "Settings" app (app, why is it my toes cringe every time I hear that word) and have control panel back in full action I'd be a happy camper but that's unfortunately not going to happen.
Sorry about that. Jmmijo explained XGP. As for settings, shortcuts still works. What Win10 gives is even more - how about god mode explained here:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=101127
Anubis is offline  
Old 27 May 2020, 17:35   #20
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Only problem with that is that all 10 versions except LTSC is utter junk riddled with crapware and "feature updates" that will screw up your day sooner or later.
It takes ~30 minutes to get Win 10 into a very usable shape. Simplewall, O&O, Classic Start Menu and few under-the-hood tweaks and you're done - no need for LTSC.
dreadnought is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDF/ ADF on Nvidia Shield steviebwoy support.OtherUAE 11 01 May 2017 23:50
Amiga on Nvidia Shield ransom1122 Retrogaming General Discussion 15 22 May 2016 16:46
NVIDIA Shield with uae4all2 Vars191 support.OtherUAE 5 10 December 2014 00:28
Nvidia Project Shield john4p News 1 08 January 2013 20:19
Nvidia 8800GT support. lifeschool support.WinUAE 4 12 March 2011 20:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10278 seconds with 14 queries