English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

Old 20 May 2020, 23:27   #1
landryan

WHDLoad Amiga Forever disk access - what am I doing wrong?

Hi - I'm a bit of a newbie here and still getting my head around Amiga Emulation after about 20 years of dipping in and out, so bear with me.

I've been recently experimenting with WHDLoad and images of various games, rather than using .ADFs.

For most of the games I've tried, I've got the games working on a vanilla Amiga 1200 with a HDF of Workbench 3.1 that comes with Amiga Forever.

I've installed the latest WHDLoader onto the disk.

I normally create a second HDF, copy the drawer of the WHDLoaded game files (e.g. disk.1, disk.2, game.slave etc.) to that hard drive, then run. Sometimes I need to put an A500 kickstarter image in devs Kickstarters. Some times I have to install XPKMaster. Other disk images seem to work without this.

In virtually every game I've tried, I've got the game working but can't get it to write save files back to the disk... Dungeon Master is the most verbose... it says:

"File "disk.2" is compressed using XPK but not cached. Detected in function 'reload_SafeFileOffset'.

In Lords of Chaos, I can save back to the disk (Apparently) but when I restart the emulator, despite writing changes back to the disk when I quit my disk is empty and no save files exist once more.

Midwinter II doesn't even get that far - just fails to load.

I'm sure there are multiple and complex reasons why I'm struggling to get these games working but if someone can give me a clue I'd appreciate it - by modern standards the Amiga is something of an arcane beast!
Old 21 May 2020, 01:15   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Quote:
Originally Posted by landryan View Post
Hi - I'm a bit of a newbie here and still getting my head around Amiga Emulation after about 20 years of dipping in and out, so bear with me.