English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 May 2020, 01:09   #1
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,022
Shadow of third moon update 1.5 appeared to aminet

Here

http://aminet.net/package/game/actio...w_3rd_Moon_1.5

What annoys me a lot, this requires CD in drive. Would I be bad person, if I ask; "could somebody crack this?"

CD is not a real problem, it accepts any burned CD or even Image, but still.
utri007 is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 01:11   #2
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,450
If you crack the CD wouldn't that make it hard for the laser to read it?
Pyromania is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 01:30   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,992
Install the update inside WinUAE emulation, with a mounted CD image. Or do i miss here something?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 11:53   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,568
Why does it need the CD in drive? The Readme says that you just need to replace the four files on HD.
daxb is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 12:04   #5
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Install the update inside WinUAE emulation, with a mounted CD image. Or do i miss here something?
That would be fine, if I would be playing with emulators.
utri007 is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 12:05   #6
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Why does it need the CD in drive? The Readme says that you just need to replace the four files on HD.
Copy protection. Time when Shadow of the third moon was released CD-writers was rare.
utri007 is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 12:27   #7
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 260
I wonder what fixes or changes this update has?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 12:40   #8
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,022
Y3D060_LL (Designed for 68060. Features a smoother landscape but it is about 60% slower)

I'm interested that
utri007 is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 13:09   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
That would be fine, if I would be playing with emulators.

And you don't have anything to copy the preinstalled game plus patch onto your real Amiga hdd. Or does the game need the CD anyway in drive, just for playing?

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 14 May 2020 at 13:16.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 15:00   #10
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,035
The CD has audio tracks.

You won't really get into the atmosphere if you play the game without music.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 May 2020, 00:04   #11
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
The CD has audio tracks.

You won't really get into the atmosphere if you play the game without music.
CD is needed just for playing. If you try to start game without a cd in drive, it refuses to start. It is some sort of copy protection.
utri007 is offline  
Old 15 May 2020, 01:00   #12
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
CD is needed just for playing. If you try to start game without a cd in drive, it refuses to start. It is some sort of copy protection.

That's not unusual for games of that era. I suspect it wasn't even intended as copy protection in many cases. I can't speak for TSotTM specifically as I don't have my copy in front of me, but remember that reading files directly from the CD instead of storing them on disk was a way of preserving hard drive space.


But if you have the space, sometimes you can just copy the CD contents to a directory and give it an Assign with the same name as the original volume.
Matt_H is online now  
Old 15 May 2020, 01:55   #13
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 38
Posts: 2,639
Is this actually a new patch or just uploaded again ?
kriz is offline  
Old 15 May 2020, 03:39   #14
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz View Post
Is this actually a new patch or just uploaded again ?
It’s vintage.
Matt_H is online now  
Old 15 May 2020, 08:41   #15
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_H View Post
But if you have the space, sometimes you can just copy the CD contents to a directory and give it an Assign with the same name as the original volume.
It doesn't help in this case! It requires CD in drive, thats why I'm askin a crack.
utri007 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shadow of the Third Moon and Starfighter Captain_ Kal Retrogaming General Discussion 73 31 March 2019 08:54
Shadow Of The Third Moon lkjhgf request.Old Rare Games 51 01 January 2014 21:24
shadow of the third moon? starlord request.Old Rare Games 5 01 December 2012 20:11
Shadow of the Third Moon Charlie request.Old Rare Games 6 23 December 2007 16:50
Shadow Of The Third Moon Graham Humphrey support.Games 4 24 March 2006 20:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08337 seconds with 13 queries