English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 May 2020, 19:44   #1
PurpleMelbourne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 71
Newly manufactured 68060's from Rochester

In case you don't already know, Rochester took over production of the legacy chip from Freescale. Presumably to fulfill contractual obligations to telecommunication companies like Nortel.

Last year they were wanting US$750 for a new 68060 chip

Now they've dropped the price by around 16.5% to only $623.77, probably about what they cost 25 years ago...

But what's the price of a brand newly manufactured 060?
https://www.rocelec.com/part/fremotmc68060rc50

Well now you know
PurpleMelbourne is offline  
Old 12 May 2020, 20:23   #2
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurpleMelbourne View Post
In case you don't already know, Rochester took over production of the legacy chip from Freescale. Presumably to fulfill contractual obligations to telecommunication companies like Nortel.

Last year they were wanting US$750 for a new 68060 chip

Now they've dropped the price by around 16.5% to only $623.77, probably about what they cost 25 years ago...

But what's the price of a brand newly manufactured 060?
https://www.rocelec.com/part/fremotmc68060rc50

Well now you know
No worries, if you order 1000 they're only $574 a piece.

Edit: BTW, https://www.digipart.com/part/MC68060RC50
Look at those stock numbers, 060 availability really isn't a problem.

Last edited by eXeler0; 12 May 2020 at 20:29.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 12 May 2020, 20:32   #3
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 164
Well, taking into account what some people sell them used on the various bays for, this seems like a fair deal. And at least you know you'll get a non-fake real rev. 6. :-D
torsti76 is offline  
Old 12 May 2020, 20:48   #4
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 149
I wonder if they accept "Trade In's".
Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 12 May 2020, 20:48   #5
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,803
I am really quite surprised by the high price .
It's not like if they had R&D to amortize...
malko is offline  
Old 12 May 2020, 21:28   #6
coldacid
Registered User

coldacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 159
Yeah for a chip that already has that much inventory and is considered obsolete, those Rochester prices look like a total ripoff.
coldacid is offline  
Old 12 May 2020, 21:38   #7
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,246
They are probably basing price on current market value then add on 10-20% since item is new.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 12 May 2020, 23:02   #8
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,759
I don't think it's the R&D costs they're trying to cover, it's the high setup, processing, testing and warranty costs they're trying to justify over what would be a very small manufacturing run. It's not like they're going to make hundreds of thousands of them.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 02:27   #9
PurpleMelbourne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
I don't think it's the R&D costs they're trying to cover, it's the high setup, processing, testing and warranty costs they're trying to justify over what would be a very small manufacturing run. It's not like they're going to make hundreds of thousands of them.
You're probably right. Its all in the tooling expense.
If you order one chip, they'll do it, and then keep a bunch on the shelf for the next buyer in two years. That's their business model.

Now they have lowered their price that little bit, I'm actually thinking about getting one... at the end of the year.

I wonder what they will clock at. I've heard the late Freescales could do 110MHz.
PurpleMelbourne is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 09:22   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,387
The FAB that made 68060 chips closed a long time ago. I’d bet strong money these are not being made today but are NOS made as a stockpile in the early 00s before the FAB closed. Motorola had military contracts using the 060 and so had to guarantee a supply for decades to qualify. The high prices are because they expect the only buyers today to be military with deep pockets. There is absolutely no way they know/care the Amiga market exists.
alexh is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 10:48   #11
LongLifeA1200
Registered User

LongLifeA1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Amiga Kingdom
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurpleMelbourne View Post
$623.77[US]
That is rather steep.
Still cheaper than AmigaOne, I guess.
LongLifeA1200 is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 14:03   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,856
Vampire related discussion deleted, please carry on with the 68060 discussion.
Jope is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 14:12   #13
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Look at those stock numbers, 060 availability really isn't a problem.
Indeed...

Qty In Stock: 1
(...)
There is a minimum quantity of 1 and a maximum quantity of 1 for this product.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 14:45   #14
Juz400
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London
Posts: 105
I`ll just drop this in here as a comparison!
https://www.cbronline.com/news/motor...0_next_quarter

I dont think many of the Amiga board makers would hope to sell 10k units to get the best price, quite the gamble to purchase back then!
Juz400 is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 15:24   #15
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,984
Interesting. That works out to be around $412 adjusting for inflation.
A pity the price @1000 units in 1994 isn't known, we could've done a better comparison.

Note: I do understand the 2020 price point is ridiculous, but it kind of makes sense given the extremely low quantities they'll be selling and the markets they intend to aim at.
roondar is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 15:42   #16
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,715
Lol, what the hell is this?
030 rebranded as 060?
https://www.utsource.net/itm/p/661879.html

Even the Mask ID corresponds to 030.. (obviously the packaging..)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 16:32   #17
grond
Banned

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Lol, what the hell is this?
030 rebranded as 060?
That's the famous 060-overdrive processor for 030 sockets...
grond is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 13:19   #18
Juz400
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
Interesting. That works out to be around $412 adjusting for inflation.
A pity the price @1000 units in 1994 isn't known, we could've done a better comparison.

Note: I do understand the 2020 price point is ridiculous, but it kind of makes sense given the extremely low quantities they'll be selling and the markets they intend to aim at.
Imagine if the current A1200 never existed and both AGA machines shared the same motherboard, A4000 CD and a thinner NON CD Desktop version instead of A1200.

10K units could have been a realistic sales figure, if as stated the 060 was HALF the price of the Pentium, the price for a drop in 060 card should/could have been 3/4 of the price of the Intel CPU!
You still would have needed a Motherboard and RAM for the Intel upgrade!

Last edited by Juz400; 14 May 2020 at 13:21. Reason: speeling
Juz400 is offline  
Old 14 May 2020, 22:26   #19
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurpleMelbourne View Post
8><--------------

Now they have lowered their price that little bit, I'm actually thinking about getting one... at the end of the year.

I wonder what they will clock at. I've heard the late Freescales could do 110MHz.
Yea that's the big question. Its very hard to find any info about the manufacturing process, but unless the old equipment was being tossed around there would be a new mask and production line and should by done at a much smaller manufacturing process.. Yea its some work to shrink a design, but then you get a whole lot more chips from one wafer so its usually worth it.. If its done on any sort of half-modern process it should overclock really nicely..
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 15 May 2020, 09:11   #20
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,387
I bet good money they are not making new ones. Just selling old ones they had in stock. They will be standard Rev 6 E41J made between 2004 and 2008. I've never seen a legit part made after 2009.

I can see on Google Maps, NXP is still operating at the address of MOS-11 (where 68060 was made). It says that it is now a 0.25um FAB which indicates to me that they closed the 0.32um production line used by 060. (0.25um is still very old, new production lines are now 0.007um)

Last edited by alexh; 15 May 2020 at 16:53.
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed 4GB CF Card into newly Arrived 1200 :-) Need Help with WB Install Please nathanm1991 support.Hardware 15 03 May 2018 20:09
Newly acquired Amigas with issues Signman support.Hardware 0 21 September 2017 19:03
Newly received A1200 zerohour1974 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 12 March 2015 02:35
Videogame Museum Opens in Rochester, New York Paul_s News 10 25 March 2009 16:50
Newly finished Atari ST Shooter! Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 19 28 July 2004 14:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09893 seconds with 13 queries