English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2020, 15:09   #1
Tolgod
Registered User

Tolgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Heerlen / The Netherlands
Posts: 33
What about speed

Hi there...I have an A500 with aca500+. Recently I got the xsurf 500 (realy recommended) and now an 1221lc card with 020@ 26/40 mhz and 16mb ram.

So now my mind is going where it shouldn't and I am considering going for the bigger 030 brother.
I am however also fearing it might be overkill and a big amount of extra spending for little gain.

So what I am curious about is how the real life difference would be between 030/50mhz/mmu and a 020/40mhz cpu?
I've read somewhere that a 030 at equal nominal speed would be 5 to 10% faster than the 020 equivalent.

Is that in the ballpark and what about mmu?

From what I've read it is not used by much software. IBrowse does distinguish between fpu and non fpu but I don't know if this is the same ?

Considering the huge investment it would take I wanna figure out if it is worth it at all. Obviously the huge amount of 128mb ram is very nice, but given there is no rtg or aga anyway I am wondering when it would ever come to use in my routines.

Is it of much use to have a 030 upgrade on an A500, as most software that requires it will also require aga or rtg.?
Most software that doesn't require aga or rtg will likely run on a 020 I presume?

So recapped , is a 030 significantly faster than a 020 operating at equal speed and does mmu improve performance and what is the difference with fpu?

Last edited by Tolgod; 04 May 2020 at 02:03.
Tolgod is offline  
Old 04 May 2020, 11:46   #2
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 889
Yes, 030 is significantly faster than 020 @ 40Mhz
An 030 @ 50Mhz is about 10 MIPS (Million Instructions Per Second) - What does SysInfo speed rate yours at?

An Memory Management Unit (MMU) does not make the CPU Faster. - It merely supports software that can utilise the MMU within the CPU, effectively making the CPU more versatile. - GigaMem is the only program I know of that has to have a MMU.

You only really need an FPU if you're using programs that utilise or require one.
A Floating Point Unit will allow your Amiga to do Intensive Math Calculations. Unless you're into Ray Tracing/3D Modelling or even Desktop Publishing, you don't need an FPU.

Last edited by Kin Hell; 04 May 2020 at 16:11.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 04 May 2020, 11:48   #3
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,187
depends on what you want to do with the A500. To play games, 020 is enough, specially because you don't have AGA. A MMU is useful for whdload developpers for instance (test/debug against out of bound accesses). Or if you want to install linux, just for fun...

For apps, well, even with a 68030 you'll find that apps crawl and it's frustrating to use an amiga to do "serious" work IMHO, specially without RTG.
jotd is offline  
Old 04 May 2020, 12:46   #4
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,047
well, some more Mhz could be good to play some 3D OCS games like flight and naval simulator
Seiya is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 13:25   #5
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 689
Don't listen to the person above -- the 030 is not vastly faster per clock, that 10% estimate seems about right. The 020 and the 030 are architecturally almost identical in the actual CPU core, but the 030 does have a small 256-byte data cache while the 020 does not. This can make some workloads extremely fast if the data you're working on fits in the cache while other times it doesn't make any difference.

Another difference is that the 030 supports burst mode memory transfers with cache. This helps when you're processing a lot of data at once by reducing the amount of cycles needed to transfer data to and from memory, but it can actually hurt if you're doing lots of small accesses across the memory map.

An MMU will not help with gaming at all. It will help with testing code for bugs that cause them to crash, or potentially letting you run buggy software without it crashing your system (but still crashing eating memory, etc.). An MMU can be used to remap data like a kickstart ROM, but most cards already have that feature built-in.

One major use for the MMU though is in delta-calculations for display refresh in emulators, especially noticeable in a fast virtual machine setup like Shapeshifter/Basilisk2. This would let you appreciably run color mac software without huge amounts of slowdown.

Almost no Amiga games use an FPU. Exceptions include TFX, Tornado (maybe?), and ports of more recent games. I don't think a single game made specifically for the Amiga ever used the FPU. However there are many Mac games that do use FPU, and that's where Shapeshifter comes into play again.
AmigaHope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network speed and Disk speed S0ulA55a551n support.Other 2 05 December 2019 20:18
Looking for Speed!! Predseda request.Old Rare Games 4 07 June 2015 13:35
2.3.3 vs 2.4.0 speed mingle support.WinUAE 22 03 May 2012 00:14
Need for speed! DDNI Retrogaming General Discussion 2 05 April 2008 23:31
OS 3.1/3.5/3.9 Speed fc.studio support.Apps 6 17 August 2005 13:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06431 seconds with 13 queries