English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 April 2020, 23:32   #1
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,820
Ripping arcade sprites

I had a bit of time today and thought I'd have a game of Super Sprint.

I then thought I'd try getting hold of the car sprites for an Amiga conversion.... in the end I made a Youtube video showing how to rip some sprites in a rather unorthadox way.

It might be of use to someone sometime.

[ Show youtube player ]

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 10 April 2020, 00:00   #2
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,644
There is an Amiga version http://hol.abime.net/5903
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 10 April 2020, 00:54   #3
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
There is an Amiga version http://hol.abime.net/5903
Its an atari st version running on an .amiga.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 10 April 2020, 14:58   #4
WayneK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Somewhere secret
Age: 46
Posts: 317
It was pretty interesting to watch, but I really don't understand why you didn't just screenshot the VRAM/Tile memory from the MAME debugger and write a little python script or something to stitch all the frames together :P
WayneK is offline  
Old 10 April 2020, 15:50   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,181
maybe the palette. I didn't watch all the video but I suppose that McGeezer takes advantage of an even background to snip the sprites and rework them (and also the fact that you can 360 with your car, there's no scrolling, ...). I did the same with Bagman remake since there was no background.

And using a python script to create exact crop of each image with the same coords over and over until it's perfect isn't a bad idea either.

This is possible only with games with a few frames. Try to do that on Street Fighter II with the background, scrolling, and all

But when it's possible it's way easier than to try to figure out how the planes/colors are organized. Remember that this isn't an amiga game. I ripped Jim Power sprites using data file, from composite sprite data (not bitplanes) to png and it was really time-consuming already.
jotd is offline  
Old 10 April 2020, 18:08   #6
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneK View Post
It was pretty interesting to watch, but I really don't understand why you didn't just screenshot the VRAM/Tile memory from the MAME debugger and write a little python script or something to stitch all the frames together :P
Yeah, I could have done that as I'm pretty good with Python but it would have took me a bit longer I think.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
maybe the palette. I didn't watch all the video but I suppose that McGeezer takes advantage of an even background to snip the sprites and rework them (and also the fact that you can 360 with your car, there's no scrolling, ...). I did the same with Bagman remake since there was no background.

And using a python script to create exact crop of each image with the same coords over and over until it's perfect isn't a bad idea either.

This is possible only with games with a few frames. Try to do that on Street Fighter II with the background, scrolling, and all
I ripped the Rolling Thunder sprites using the same method because the MAME debugger enables you to switch off the background tile maps, makes things much easier to grab.

I'll see if I can get the entire sprite set and I'll post it here.... give me something to do I guess.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 10 April 2020, 23:07   #7
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 733
We have the rom files, and from the mame source we know the graphics location and probably the format.

Shouldn't it be possible to do a raw-read script?
something like
Starting at location 0x02000 ->
Step width * colour depth ->
Step height * colour depth
byte switch?
save tile
spiff is offline  
Old 10 April 2020, 23:46   #8
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 36
Posts: 1,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiff View Post
We have the rom files, and from the mame source we know the graphics location and probably the format.

Shouldn't it be possible to do a raw-read script?
something like
Starting at location 0x02000 ->
Step width * colour depth ->
Step height * colour depth
byte switch?
save tile
There is a tool for that called Turaco-CL. But no Amiga port or output to IFF yet.
redblade is offline  
Old 11 April 2020, 00:10   #9
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,181
if you can output png, then converting to iff isn't a problem.
jotd is offline  
Old 11 April 2020, 10:00   #10
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 36
Posts: 1,519
What freeware gfx tool do you use to convert to IFF? I don't know how MAME writes the PNGs if does 4bitplanes for 16 colours or defaults to 8bitplanes?
redblade is offline  
Old 11 April 2020, 10:11   #11
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
What freeware gfx tool do you use to convert to IFF? I don't know how MAME writes the PNGs if does 4bitplanes for 16 colours or defaults to 8bitplanes?
xnconvert - it's featured in my video.
https://www.xnview.com/en/xnconvert/
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 11 April 2020, 10:14   #12
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,686
You can also use GIMP with the IFF plugin : https://blitterstudio.com/gimp-iff-plugin/
malko is offline  
Old 11 April 2020, 15:41   #13
WayneK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Somewhere secret
Age: 46
Posts: 317
If you are ripping them from a VRAM/tileram screenshot, the cars are centred in each 16x16 (or 32x32, whatever) meta-tile already.
Python has Pillow (fork of PIL, Python Image Lib) which I think a few lines of Image.crop and Image.paste in the right places would produce the correct result in a few minutes :P
WayneK is offline  
Old 11 April 2020, 16:04   #14
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,181
Pillow is exactly what I use for all image manipulations. I used it to convert bitplanes from and to PNG preserving palette order and all.
jotd is offline  
Old 15 April 2020, 13:41   #15
SteveMoody
Registered User

SteveMoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: South Wales
Age: 47
Posts: 27
Probably a bit late for you now but if it helps i can post the tiles directly from the arcade version if you want them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gfxset1 tiles 16x16 colors 4 set 0_0000.png
Views:	60
Size:	73.1 KB
ID:	66867  
SteveMoody is offline  
Old 16 April 2020, 22:17   #16
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMoody View Post
Probably a bit late for you now but if it helps i can post the tiles directly from the arcade version if you want them.
Thanks Steve.... already have them.

Here's what SS would look like on an A1200 Hi-Res Interlaced Amiga.

[ Show youtube player ]

I'm interested to know if people love/hate/don't care about the interlacing. I personally think it looks OK.... certainly playable in a game of SuperSprint.

If I have enough DMA time I could drop it down to OCS mode and into 16 colours but keeping the playability side of things.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 17 April 2020, 01:46   #17
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,181
Supersprint arcade has a very high resolution. It would look like the ST version if downgraded lores... And we already have the ST version...

Keep the interlace and hires
jotd is offline  
Old 17 April 2020, 02:05   #18
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,686
Don't know where the flickering we can see on the video comes from, but without it just stay with the max resolution.
malko is offline  
Old 17 April 2020, 10:52   #19
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,503
Why use IFF format if you can convert directly to raw ILBM??
Steril707 is offline  
Old 17 April 2020, 11:11   #20
Valken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amiga
Posts: 237
I watched the video and thought it was brilliant.

Is there a way to rip console rom tiles this way such as SNES or even old Macintosh games under emulation on a PC?

It would allow us to port graphics over to an Amiga based game if possible.
Valken is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ripping Dreamweb sprites tempsanity project.Sprites 3 14 October 2019 20:44
Ripping Sprites - Technique... method project.Sprites 42 15 April 2019 13:13
Help ripping Roketz sprites AdamB project.Sprites 16 06 October 2015 15:08
Ripping Sprites help.... Louk project.Sprites 13 08 July 2013 23:25
ripping various sprites gifgit project.Sprites 4 26 April 2006 18:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09473 seconds with 14 queries