English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2020, 21:46   #1
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
Tapper - Amiga OCS

Hey, dudes.




Here's something I've been tinkering around with for the last little while. It's in a fairly early state, but complete enough for a round of initial testing on real hardware. I've tested it with the quick launch configs in WinUAE and all seems well.

If somebody can give it a bit of time on real machinery, it would certainly help things along. 1mb Chip RAM is all that's required.

ADF is in The Zone.

B
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 10 March 2020, 22:48   #2
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 248
Whow, thx That is one of my fav. MAME games. I will try it on my A1200
nikosidis is offline  
Old 10 March 2020, 22:54   #3
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 17,528
Nice one Old_Bob

Unfortunately no real Amiga hardware here; so will test / play via WinUAE
DamienD is online now  
Old 10 March 2020, 23:07   #4
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 248
I just tried it A1200. Gfx looks nice There are some gfx trash on screen. I can take picture if you like. Other than that the game seams to work well in current state. Keep on the good work.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 10 March 2020, 23:32   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,194
it's arcade perfect year!
jotd is offline  
Old 10 March 2020, 23:54   #6
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,984
Cool
roondar is online now  
Old 11 March 2020, 00:24   #7
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
There are some gfx trash on screen. I can take picture if you like.
If you could take a quick snap of it, then yes, that might help. What config is your A1200?

B
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 06:01   #8
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,614
Very nice! Tapper is one of my favorite games, I use to play it on the C64!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 08:32   #9
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 248
It is ONLY in the lower part of screen it seams. It get worse the more the careacters move
Amiga 1200 Blizzard 030
https://imgur.com/a/4Du4BJi
nikosidis is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 09:26   #10
zzbylu
Saberman

zzbylu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kielce/Poland
Posts: 135
and gameplay:
[ Show youtube player ]
zzbylu is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 09:42   #11
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,516
Very nice...

Keep on with the good work, Old_Bob...
Steril707 is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 10:10   #12
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 857
Nice! I used to play Tapper a lot on the C64.
fryguy is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 10:11   #13
stevsurv
Beta 1.666
stevsurv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in 1985
Posts: 287
Excellent!
stevsurv is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 10:31   #14
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
It is ONLY in the lower part of screen it seams. It get worse the more the careacters move
Amiga 1200 Blizzard 030
https://imgur.com/a/4Du4BJi
Is the screen double-buffered? It's possible that the blitting isn't getting done quickly enough, which would make sense if it gets worse when more blitting is happening (and might explain why it doesn't happen in WinUAE with its extra speed). If that's the case, the blitting isn't completed by the time the beam / screen redraw reaches where it's taking place, resulting in corruption. Double buffering allows that to happen in the background, and then the entire bitmap can be flipped at once in the vertical blank to avoid corruption.

I'll have to check it out though - I used to play this on my old Atari 800XL as a kid. Good work Bob!
Daedalus is online now  
Old 11 March 2020, 11:55   #15
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
Amiga 1200 Blizzard 030
Thanks, dude. It's just this kind of non-standard config that concerns me. Of course, Murphy's law dictates that it works just fine for me using the Blizzard 030 quick launch option.

Edit: I've uploaded a new ADF that, I think, should cure the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzbylu View Post
and gameplay:
[ Show youtube player ]
Was this captured on the A2500? What config is it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Is the screen double-buffered? It's possible that the blitting isn't getting done quickly enough, which would make sense if it gets worse when more blitting is happening (and might explain why it doesn't happen in WinUAE with its extra speed).
Yes, double buffering is being used. I think I've got an idea as to what's going on and you may be not too wide of the mark.


B

Last edited by Old_Bob; 11 March 2020 at 13:04.
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 13:25   #16
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 248
That was fast Old_Bob
Works perfect on my 030 now
nikosidis is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 13:28   #17
WayneK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Somewhere secret
Age: 46
Posts: 317
I love Tapper, one of my all-time favourites. I really hope you complete this, it's already looking good!
WayneK is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 13:41   #18
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
That was fast Old_Bob
Works perfect on my 030 now
Good news! Thanks, dude.

B
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 13:51   #19
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,833
Same here, love a bit of Tapper too - very close to my heart.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 14:51   #20
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,760
Ooh, don't keep us in suspense - what was the issue? Good stuff sorting it anyway. As an aside, you should bring it along to show off at the next Scottish Amiga users meetup, which should be happening in Glasgow in April or May...
Daedalus is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The most impressive 3D graphics on unexpanded OCS Amiga? rodland Amiga scene 71 26 September 2017 12:51
Best looking copper backgrounds on Amiga OCS Trachu Coders. General 7 28 March 2017 10:27
A new Learning Demo for Amiga OCS and beyond. Toni Galvez Amiga scene 46 01 March 2015 15:20
Amiga 500. OCS or ECS? trydowave support.Hardware 10 25 May 2013 21:58
Best Flight Sim on Amiga OCS? Photon Nostalgia & memories 70 16 February 2010 21:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09735 seconds with 14 queries