English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 March 2020, 12:44   #1
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 676
Am I going mad, DDR4 3200mhz ram settings

I built my sons new machine yesterday.

Asrock B450 mobo
Ryzen 5 2600x CPU
RX Vega 64 GPU (I know its power hungry but it was cheap)
and importantly 16GB of Corsair Vengeance 3200mhz DDR4

now...

In the bios there are 2 screens showing ram. The first overview shows the 16gb of ram at 2133mhz. The next screen is advanced settings shows a ram profile as 3200mhz. On this screen both the profile option and speed option are set to auto. If I force this speed to 3200mhz I get no post. I haven't tried setting the profile yet as the BIOS is a pain to clear, must have taken 10 minutes yesterday to get it reset!

I suppose I should download CPU-Z or the likes and see what the speed is in windows but I suspect at present its 2133mhz.

How do I get this ram to its full potential?
Glen M is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 13:26   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 46
Posts: 5,257
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Is there no XMP option/profile?
DDNI is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 13:30   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Is there no XMP option/profile?
This, you have to go to the advanced memory settings to load and enable XMP profiles.

However, be aware that not all silicon can run the memory at the rated speed so you may need to tinker with it further.

Also note that the 2xxx series CPU's are based on the Zen+ architecture so they will have better memory support but may not run at 3200.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 13:33   #4
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Is there no XMP option/profile?
well that was easy, feel like a bit of a dumb-ass now haha
Glen M is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 13:34   #5
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmijo View Post
This, you have to go to the advanced memory settings to load and enable XMP profiles.

However, be aware that not all silicon can run the memory at the rated speed so you may need to tinker with it further.

Also note that the 2xxx series CPU's are based on the Zen+ architecture so they will have better memory support but may not run at 3200.
It posted fine with the profile enabled. I'll let him play a few games this afternoon and see how it goes. I'll soon be told if its not stable!
Glen M is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 13:42   #6
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 46
Posts: 5,257
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Happy days. Good luck!
DDNI is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 19:28   #7
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,378
Nice to hear, just an FYI, the original spec for DDR4 memory was clocked at 2133 so hence why this was chosen as the default RAM speed.
jmmijo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Else We Get Mad finished. kikems Amiga scene 59 04 April 2018 03:35
Mad TV Don_Adan HOL data problems 6 13 July 2011 13:28
WinUAE 1.4.0 RAM settings xalakibaniou support.WinUAE 4 01 April 2007 22:31
gone mad?!?! cebulba MarketPlace 7 10 November 2005 02:50
Help Before I go mad ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 5 10 December 2002 22:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07475 seconds with 15 queries