English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2008, 00:32   #21
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 286
na m8. There built to last and I have the adf's now. God for anyone else though
Kola is offline  
Old 13 December 2008, 23:46   #22
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
only one bid, went away for £29.99. not that bad, i guess.
hit is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 00:10   #23
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,589
Where does it say it uses parallel port? All documention in above site and schematics show it having a standard serial port..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 14:07   #24
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 286
Sorry Tony it may well be a serial port. Not really something I'm up on and to me they look the same. Serial and Parallel ports are something I haven't used in years so may well have got it mixed up.

Does that change the outcome though? Will it work with UAE?

Very surprised Miracle went for £30. Its a very rare Amiga item. Miracle was most common on the Nintendo systems NES/SNES in the US.
Kola is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 14:30   #25
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kola View Post
Does that change the outcome though? Will it work with UAE?
PC compatible serial port devices should be 99% compatible. Just select correct serial port in WinUAE serial port configuration.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 14:39   #26
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 286
Now all as I need is a serial port :/

Will a USB to serial interface do? What you think Toni?
Kola is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 14:55   #27
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,202
I use a USB>SER adapter with WinUAE to connect an A500 using the DNet networking package. Should work just fine. Make sure you buy a proper adapter (full emulation). The ones based on the Prolific chipset are probably the best choice (that's the one I'm using, anyway).
ppill is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 14:56   #28
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kola View Post
Now all as I need is a serial port :/

Will a USB to serial interface do? What you think Toni?
USB adapter should work fine. (in this case, not necessarily with other serial hardware)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 15:01   #29
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 286
Thanks Toni

Ppill - can you link me to the product you recommend. I dont want to buy the wrong thing and I haven't a clue re chipsets etc.
Kola is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 15:10   #30
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,202
Anything based on the Prolific chipset. That's it.

Here's a link to the one I own.
ppill is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 16:40   #31
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 286
Thanks ppill. I cant find one of thoese in the UK. Has it got a specific make and model number?


ALso isnt that to small for the Amiga? My 1200s serial port is twice as long.
Kola is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 17:26   #32
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
the amiga models have a DB25 connector ( A500 is male for example - not sure about A1200 port).
here is another one: http://www.amazon.com/RS232-9-pin-25.../dp/B000NSDPUQ
includes a DB9 to DB25 adapter. here you would need a gender changer too (in case of A500).

Edit: not tested, no clue if its working, just an example.

@ppill: do you use a special db9 (pc) to db25 (amiga) adapter ? the pin-usage seems different as shown here: http://www.amigaforever.com/gfx/null...iring_9-25.gif

Last edited by hit; 14 December 2008 at 17:43.
hit is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 17:51   #33
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,589
Normal 25<>9 adapter works. Amiga serial port is standard (+"unused" pins have some special functions). Only exception is A1000.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 December 2008, 18:11   #34
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kola View Post
Thanks ppill. I cant find one of thoese in the UK. Has it got a specific make and model number?
long.
I don't have it with at the moment so I can't give you any specifics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hit View Post
@ppill: do you use a special db9 (pc) to db25 (amiga) adapter ? the pin-usage seems different as shown here: http://www.amigaforever.com/gfx/null...iring_9-25.gif
I use a 9<>25 nullmodem between the adapter and the miggy. Should've mentioned it earlier. A simple adapter would also work.
ppill is offline  
Old 15 December 2008, 13:35   #35
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 286
Thanks to everyone for there help. I have bought this cable
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...776687fcaae03c

When I find if it works or not I will update this thread for anyone else interested.

I will say just one thing. For anyone wanting to learn to play the Piano or Keyboard I know of no better system to this day on any format that is better than the Miracle system. And I believe I have tried most of them. Seems as they sell second hand boxed for £30 you could do a lot worse!
Kola is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 12:50   #36
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
tested it with a different keyboard, but it wont work that well.

i've tested it on a "full ecs" 030/882 (with and w/o jit) 1mb chip / 32 mb fast,
kickstart 2.04, also 68000 (more compatible mode) 1mb chip/ 1.8 mb fast,
but it always freezes whole winuae, within first lesson - "listen to ode of joy".
it plays a midi song, when the program starts, i can add user , then 1st lesson fails. can anyone recommend a working setup?
hit is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 13:01   #37
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 286
Hi hit, When you say tested it with diffrent keyboard Im taking it you used MIDI?
Kola is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 14:37   #38
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kola View Post
Hi hit, When you say tested it with diffrent keyboard Im taking it you used MIDI?
yep, midi based connection. its a linux box using wine (windows emulation layer for linux) running winuae. all devices (incl. midi) on the emulated windows side, have access to their linux counterpart.
well, basicaly it works and plays notes. but clicking on "listen to ode of joy" just freezes the emulator (winuae). might be a problem with wine/linux, so its not worth reporting.
just asking for your setup, you are running the Miracle software
hit is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 14:58   #39
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,589
You can check winuaelog.txt (or run with -log command line parameter).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 15:43   #40
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
did so, first time nothing special, then i skiped the freezing lesson, starting the next and freezes again, after some pages. gave this (not sure, if this really causes the freeze):
Code:
20-047 [1389 000x000]: DirectDraw_BlitToPrimary: 88760096 S=1 F=0876 C=0096 (150) (Rectangle provided was invalid.)
[many of them...]
20-067 [1390 000x000]: DirectDraw_BlitToPrimary: 88760096 S=1 F=0876 C=0096 (150) (Rectangle provided was invalid.)
20-106 [1391 000x000]: winuae_active(0)
20-156 [1391 000x000]: DirectDraw GUID=NULL
20-156 [1391 000x000]: W=1280 H=1024 B=32 CT=9
20-175 [1391 000x000]: window already open
20-186 [1391 000x000]: Created 720x568x32 (0014A5B0) surface in DefaultRAM (1)
20-193 [1391 000x000]: Created 48x48x32 (00155DB8) surface in DefaultRAM (1) software colorkey
20-196 [1391 000x000]: Created 48x48x32 (00149D58) surface in DefaultRAM (1)
20-196 [1391 000x000]: DDRAW: primary surface 00159700, secondary 0014A5B0 (720x568x32)
20-196 [1391 000x000]: set_ddraw: 720x568@32-bytes
20-312 [1391 000x000]: P96FREQ: 312*50 = 15600 / 50 = 312
20-312 [1391 000x000]: PAL mode, V=50Hz H=15600Hz (227x312)
for sure, some wine issues. not worth digging into it.
hit is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miracle Piano Teaching system videofx support.Hardware 0 24 July 2013 00:46
Little tweak for Miracle Piano System Akira support.WinUAE 11 21 September 2012 18:37
Miracle Piano keyboard query Akira support.Hardware 5 18 September 2012 18:54
Miracle Piano Teaching System? chiark request.Apps 5 03 July 2009 12:11
Educational Game Designed for teaching C indivision request.Old Rare Games 22 04 November 2002 14:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08698 seconds with 13 queries