English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 January 2019, 10:49   #41
davide78
Registered User

davide78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Padova / Italy
Posts: 36
You can also replace the Radeon with a Voodoo 3 AGP, that is compatible with voodoo1/2 games. However, for windows games it may not be much of an improvement.
davide78 is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 14:12   #42
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,748
Having Win98 makes it also DOS PC, as long as you can find DOS drivers for all components. True, title is bit misleading and processor is much more than we ever used under dos. My 450 MHz processor is too fast for most of DOS Games and I use programs to slow it down.
Anubis is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 14:56   #43
davide78
Registered User

davide78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Padova / Italy
Posts: 36
Some may argue that Win98 is just a GUI on top of DOS 7.0

Anyway, a Win98 machine is probably the best all-around PC for retrogaming. True, you have speed issue with old games, and you cannot run Crysis . But with some simple tricks you can play a huge number of games of the '90s, the best decade for PC gaming, IMHO.
davide78 is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 14:59   #44
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by davide78 View Post
Some may argue that Win98 is just a GUI on top of DOS 7.0

Anyway, a Win98 machine is probably the best all-around PC for retrogaming. True, you have speed issue with old games, and you cannot run Crysis . But with some simple tricks you can play a huge number of games of the '90s, the best decade for PC gaming, IMHO.
All of it well possible with pcEM with Win98 SE installed on top on modern PC. I still didn't find a game that does not work.

Sure, if you have a place on desk for a pc, go ahead and run it, but for me one computer is quite enough and I rather use extra space for additional monitor.
Anubis is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 16:02   #45
davide78
Registered User

davide78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Padova / Italy
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
All of it well possible with pcEM with Win98 SE installed on top on modern PC. I still didn't find a game that does not work.
True, I forgot to add "if you want to use old hardware". pcem/dosbox would be even better, because you can easily have multiple configurations for different games.
davide78 is offline  
Old 17 January 2019, 14:28   #46
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,708
BTW... Something more interesting on the DOS front is emulation of Roland MT-32! I hadn't realised the game sounds could have been so different!

This sound is now very much unrecognizable in terms of hardware vs emulation. So most are moving to using software even if they have the hardware.

Munt is the name of the project. Worth checking out!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 17 January 2019, 14:41   #47
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,748
You must have missed my post on pcEM topic: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...1&postcount=44

ScummVM, DOSBox, pcEm all support MUNT, and yes, many games sound way better with this midi selection.
Anubis is offline  
Old 17 January 2019, 14:47   #48
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,708
Yes I did miss that part lol.

Also, you could look at doing this as an entire replacement for a less power,DOS only machine. Hence, you feed the MIDI output via a USB to MIDI converter and use a 2nd higher spec computer to run the MINT interface! Basically the 2nd PC becomes the Roland MT-32!


Update: just used the MT-32 emulator. Wow! Monkey Island sounds so good!

Last edited by lesta_smsc; 18 January 2019 at 20:40.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 00:36   #49
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Just a Update on the Machine so Far.

Service Pack 3 (Unofficial)
Microsoft Plus! 98 (Theme Pack)
American Mcgees Alice
One unite Whole Blood 1 and 2
Blake Stone 1 and 2
Crime City
Duke Nukem 1, 2 and 3d
Final Doom and Doom 2
Descent
Driver
GTA, GTA London, GTAII, GTAIII and Vice City
Gangsters 1 and 2
Half Life 1 and 2
Heretic
Hexen
Jazz Jackrabbit 1 and 2
Lemmings, Lemmings 2 and Lemmings Revolution
Mafia
Powerslave
Postal 1 and 2
Quake 1 and 2
Resident Evil
Rise of the Triad
Shadow Warrior
Star Wars Dark Forces 1 and 2
Star Wars Shadow of the Empire
Thief Gold and Thief 2
Tomb Raider 1, 2 and 3
Unreal
Wing Commander 1, 2 and 3

A Lot more to Come these are just the Games I have found in my Mums Loft. This is just half of a box I have and there are Five or Six more Full of Old and Newer Titles. New Update to Come :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 02:50   #50
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,708
Don't forget Broken Sword 1 and 2 and Flight of the Amazon Queen! I believe these are now free downloads.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 02:55   #51
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Don't forget Broken Sword 1 and 2 and Flight of the Amazon Queen! I believe these are now free downloads.
Funny enough as I just read this Message I am installing the Broken Sword Collection! Spooky

Flight of the Amazon Queen I will Check out now :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 02:56   #52
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Could anybody tell me how I Multiquote like Damien D Asked?
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 03:00   #53
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanm1991 View Post
Could anybody tell me how I Multiquote like Damien D Asked?
If you're using Tapatalk then it's as simple as selecting the msg and pressing the reply symbol on the top right hand corner.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 03:26   #54
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
im just using Eab Forum tools
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 03:36   #55
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,708
There should be a quote button and then at the bottom a multiquote?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 04:06   #56
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
There is its just unclear on how its used?
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 06:42   #57
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
BTW... Something more interesting on the DOS front is emulation of Roland MT-32! I hadn't realised the game sounds could have been so different!
For those of us lucky enough to have a GUS, they were so different. Only lamers used Sound Blasters!
Hewitson is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 11:19   #58
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanm1991 View Post
Could anybody tell me how I Multiquote like Damien D Asked?
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanm1991 View Post
im just using Eab Forum tools
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanm1991 View Post
There is its just unclear on how its used?
It's very easy nathanm1991.

Look at these buttons:



It's the 3rd button along i.e. "+ and if you hover over it with your mouse it will say "Multi-Quote This Message".

You click this for all posts that you want to quote, except for the last one. On the last one you click "Quote".

A new post window will now appear with everything contained within

Last edited by DamienD; 19 January 2019 at 15:22.
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 January 2019, 14:46   #59
davide78
Registered User

davide78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Padova / Italy
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Also, you could look at doing this as an entire replacement for a less power,DOS only machine. Hence, you feed the MIDI output via a USB to MIDI converter and use a 2nd higher spec computer to run the MINT interface! Basically the 2nd PC becomes the Roland MT-32!
Didn't know that! Do you have any link on how to do it? It would be a nice upgrade for my retro PC. Roland MT-32s and other MIDI Synth are neither cheap nor easy to find.
davide78 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 15:07   #60
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,708
This is using tablet but the same concept can be achieved with using 2nd PC or laptop powerful enough to do the conversion.

[ Show youtube player ]
lesta_smsc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x86 VS 64-bit? jb2815 support.WinUAE 1 11 July 2016 14:12
DO OR DIE,x86 or ARM? hydragon Amiga scene 19 21 March 2014 12:05
What could have happened if AmigaOS went x86? ancalimon Amiga scene 4 08 January 2010 21:47
The Amiga x86 lelezetec Amiga scene 5 27 September 2009 19:59
Amiga x86 Cerberus73 project.EAB 27 10 August 2009 20:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09753 seconds with 14 queries