English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 December 2005, 14:02   #21
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,253
like other Readysoft games, as the dragons lairs
Marcuz is offline  
Old 02 December 2005, 15:24   #22
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 48
Posts: 835
This game is a little bit tricky concerning disk swaps.
The original came on 4 disks afaik, but it seems there were some extra tracks so the Skid Row crack comes on 5 disks.

When the screen flashes the current disk in the drive has to be swapped against disk 5. When later on the screen flashes again the you have to replace disk 5 with the disk that was in the drive before the swap!! So, always remember which disk you swap for disk 5.
For normal diskswaps ( e.g. from disk 2 to disk 3) you will be prompted by the game. (no flashing colours)

Also remember you can load/save a game in progress when you press CTRL/L CTRL/S while the in-between level picture and scrolltext is running
Overdoc is offline  
Old 04 January 2008, 00:58   #23
k@leid
Registered User
k@leid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: montevideo/uruguay
Posts: 10
Wrath of the Deamon

Hi I just want to know if everyone ran Wrath of the Daemon on UAE.
Passing the intro the game stucks when "other floppy disk" (I don't know which) is required.
I run UAE 0.8.25 on Ubuntu Linux 7.10.
Thanks a lot.
k@leid is offline  
Old 04 January 2008, 14:52   #24
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,152
Hello kaleid,

Wrath of the Demon can be a pain to work out which disk is really required and when to insert it

Here are some related threads:

... Wrath of the Demon in Winfellow alpha v.4.4 built 2. Problem.
... Looking for the disk version of Wrath of the Demon
... Wrath of the Demon won't run properly.
... Wrath of the demon - loading probs

This is the version that you need to get hold of which has been 100% verified / tested until completion:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adderly View Post
Game: Wrath of the Demon

Cracker: Skid Row

Trainer: Skid Row +1

Files & CRC/MD5:
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr SKR][!][t +1 SKR] CA6E3DC6
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 2 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 1C1C1CD2
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 3 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 659E47FD
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 4 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 5949ADCD
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 5 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 0034AE3C

Notes: works fine, played and finished by Demoniac
Quote taken from this thread: The bad cracks / 100% working games thread

Thread also moved to the prb.Games section
DamienD is online now  
Old 27 June 2008, 21:11   #25
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,412
I remember having a trained version of Wrath of the Demon on my miggy :s It was a lame infinite energy trainer though, so it basically turned the game in a 'just keep walking' kind of thing. Nice to see all the gfx though

edit: huh! Gotta try Apano Sin, it looks awesome.
gimbal is offline  
Old 27 June 2008, 21:15   #26
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
I remember having a trained version of Wrath of the Demon on my miggy :s It was a lame infinite energy trainer though, so it basically turned the game in a 'just keep walking' kind of thing. Nice to see all the gfx though
Yup, it's the Skid Row trainer. Very lame trainer and annoying disk swapping That's why we still wait for a proper trainer (we = the bloody cheaters ofthe world ).
TCD is offline  
Old 27 June 2008, 21:25   #27
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,412
Yes the disk swapping was and is horrendous. I even cannot get it to work using WinUAE. Or could not, should try the latest and greatest version.
gimbal is offline  
Old 27 June 2008, 21:29   #28
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
Yes the disk swapping was and is horrendous. I even cannot get it to work using WinUAE. Or could not, should try the latest and greatest version.
I can give you a config and a 'disk swap' FAQ if you're interested
Btw : Nice avatar, oh dark one
TCD is offline  
Old 28 June 2008, 16:01   #29
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,412
Quote:
I can give you a config and a 'disk swap' FAQ if you're interested
If you could pass that to the zone, please!

Quote:
Btw : Nice avatar, oh dark one
Inspired by Thorham, my fellow Dutch brother
gimbal is offline  
Old 28 June 2008, 16:10   #30
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Okay everything in the attachment FAQ was a bit exaggerated though But you'll see what I mean...

So every dutch member now should choose a dungeon master character. Will be interesting
Attached Files
File Type: 7z Wrath_Helper.7z (2.6 KB, 99 views)
TCD is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 00:59   #31
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,412
Quote:
Okay everything in the attachment FAQ was a bit exaggerated though But you'll see what I mean...
Okay, yay, I got it to work. Your faq is incomplete though, after inserting disk 5 (upon flashing), the screen will start to flash again after a few moments. Then it is time to insert disk 2

When downloading from planetemu, you need the disk 2 marked [a] however, otherwise it won't work. That is probably why it wouldn't work for me before, I had the disk without the [a].
gimbal is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 01:17   #32
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,152
Sorry for the Off Topic...

@gimbal; in The bad cracks / 100% working games thread there is a post about Wrath of the Demon concerning the correct files / CRC32 to use

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adderly View Post
Game: Wrath of the Demon
Cracker: Skid Row
Trainer: Skid Row +1
Files & CRC/MD5:
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr SKR][!][t +1 SKR] CA6E3DC6
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 2 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 1C1C1CD2
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 3 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 659E47FD
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 4 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 5949ADCD
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 5 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 0034AE3C
Notes: works fine, played and finished by Demoniac
DamienD is online now  
Old 29 June 2008, 01:18   #33
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Good to hear it worked for you gimbal.
I have the 'cleared' version of the disks marked with '!', but I can't remember where I got them.
Thanks for the info on my FAQ. I'm a bit lazy with it since I only use it for myself (till now ).

Thanks Damien, now I remember where I got the version from
TCD is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 17:00   #34
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,412
Quote:
Good to hear it worked for you gimbal.
Not really, I got a crash to guru after the first caving scrolling part But oh well, even with trainer I could see that I still suck terribly at this game, for all the enemies and traps I hit about 99% of them, even while trying my very best to avoid.
gimbal is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 17:29   #35
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
Not really, I got a crash to guru after the first caving scrolling part But oh well, even with trainer I could see that I still suck terribly at this game, for all the enemies and traps I hit about 99% of them, even while trying my very best to avoid.

How far is it in the game? If it doesn't take an hour I would like to check it. I can't remember if I played through WOTD, but I think I got at least pretty far.
TCD is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 18:58   #36
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,152
5 x Wrath of the Demon "problem" threads merged and also the last 11 posts here (not including this one) were moved from the Which games should be trained? thread

Finally, I've uploaded the verified working set to The Zone!:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adderly View Post
Game: Wrath of the Demon

Cracker: Skid Row

Trainer: Skid Row +1

Files & CRC/MD5:
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr SKR][!][t +1 SKR] CA6E3DC6
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 2 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 1C1C1CD2
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 3 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 659E47FD
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 4 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 5949ADCD
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 5 of 5)[cr SKR][!] 0034AE3C

Notes: works fine, played and finished by Demoniac

Last edited by DamienD; 29 June 2008 at 19:04.
DamienD is online now  
Old 29 June 2008, 19:05   #37
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,737
As always: Use the WHDLoad installed game with a trainer key for full energy. Not disk swapping, should work to the end. Hopefully.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 19:33   #38
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Good idea Retro
A little question : Which is the default trainer key? It sais 'numerical [' in the readme. Where can we lazy WinUAE users find on a normal PC keyboard?
TCD is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 19:43   #39
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,737
To be honest: I had always problems with this default trainer key on a PC keyboard. Never find the correct key for i.e. Giana Sisters, but it works fine on a real miggy.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 19:44   #40
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
As always: Use the WHDLoad installed game with a trainer key for full energy. Not disk swapping, should work to the end. Hopefully.
...and what if the person who wants to play this game has a real Amiga 500???

Remember that not everyone on this board uses WHDLoad Retro, some use disk based games as they are easier to get your head around. It can be quite difficult for people to install WHDLoad if they are not that technically minded. Let's list *some* of the things you would need to do first before using WHDLoad:

... Have the Kickstart ROMS or extract them from your real machine.
... Have the Workbench disks.
... Install / configure a hard drive.
... Download WHDLoad.
... Transfer files across.
... Use unarchivers to extract the WHDLoad files.
... Download / install the games.
... etc.

Just take a look around at the number of WHDLoad "help" threads on EAB.
DamienD is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unknown "Skid Row" module Old Fool request.Modules 3 11 September 2009 14:22
Skid Row intro & unknown demo s2325 request.Modules 4 05 October 2006 10:11
Wrath of Demon MheAd request.Old Rare Games 1 03 September 2005 11:33
Magic Pockets: Difference between SKID ROW and CRYSTAL crack? andreas Retrogaming General Discussion 13 27 November 2002 13:01
Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis (Adventure) [cr Skid Row] kozan request.Old Rare Games 13 07 April 2002 11:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09309 seconds with 14 queries