English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 September 2010, 13:30   #1
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,307
Smile My A1200

Time to show the world my boring little A1200!
Sorry for bad pictures, I only have my mobile phone for taking pictures!

The A1200 (1GB CF + Indivision AGA 1200) opened, in glory and blurriness:

The floppy drive (and floppy drive connector on mobo) is modded by me so that it acts like a normal Amiga floppy drive - brand new and even boots the Sanity demos!
The black thick wire under the floppy drive is for connecting the VGA connector's metal to the Amiga's internal ground.
(I need a 4GB CF and something to isolate the CF adapter pins...)



It's indeed a rev 2B mobo (new old stock from Amigakit):




Look, it's non-polarized capacitors! (22µF 100v, glued with hot glue and not glued to the metal shielding for practical reasons)

(Don't get alarmed, the capacitor pins do NOT short onto the serial connector's ground!)



Here's my VGA bracket mount:




My lovely Microbotics M1230 XA (68030 50MHz, 32MB RAM):




The electrolytic caps are changed for new ones, and the CPU/FPU crystals are directly soldered for more stability:

(Again, don't worry, there's no short from the yellow cap pins to the crystals - I've checked that)



It has got an old MC68030RC50B in it that gets too warm, but I've ordered a new MC68030RC50C and an MC68882RC40A FPU for it!



More pictures to come! Especially when I get my new CPU and FPU (+ 64 MB RAM)

Last edited by 8bitbubsy; 28 September 2010 at 16:49.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 28 September 2010, 18:59   #2
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 37
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Superb pics mate
ck1200 is offline  
Old 28 September 2010, 21:50   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
@8BitBubsy

thats shaping up to be quite a tasty little A1200 indeed!

so whats happened to your Apollo 040?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 28 September 2010, 22:30   #4
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@8BitBubsy

thats shaping up to be quite a tasty little A1200 indeed!

so whats happened to your Apollo 040?
It's barely alive... It was just as you said: Don't play too much with it, it'll die
I think it kind of works (a lot of bridge wires), but I need a new 040 as the one I had is broken now.
I tried another 040 earlier and it didn't want to accept it.

I don't want to use it because:
1) It doesn't fit with the trapdoor on
2) It needs a heatsink (or the rare "late mask" 040)

It could be good for a tower, though.

Last edited by 8bitbubsy; 28 September 2010 at 22:42.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 28 September 2010, 22:59   #5
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Nice

as u have a 2b Mobo are you going to solder a ps2 or 5pin din conector to it so that you can use an A2000 or A4000 keyboard ?? Ive just done that to my 2b Mobo and it works a treat. Pic will be sorted some time this week I hope
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 02:29   #6
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
<SNIP> "late mask" 040
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=9459

Check from page #3 onwards.
rkauer is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 02:13   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Bubsy, what are those capacitors? For audio? Why are they so BIG?
Akira is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 09:44   #8
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Bubsy, what are those capacitors? For audio? Why are they so BIG?
Yes, they are for the audio - there's supposed to be non-polarized/bi-directional capacitors in the audio out circuit, not polarized as Commodore used (to save money ).
I have no idea why they are so big, I guess it's because of 100v rating + some more mystic stuff -- I couldn't find any smaller.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 10:22   #9
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 40
Posts: 822
They add nice colour to the board. Stick some LED's under the vents and those red beasts will shine through The yellow socket looks awesome under blue LED's.
Jimbo is offline  
Old 03 October 2010, 14:40   #10
chrispy
Registered User
chrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wales (Gods Country)
Posts: 155
Very nice and for a camera phone those pictures are brilliant.
chrispy is offline  
Old 07 November 2010, 13:55   #11
Matt020
Registered User
Matt020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
Nice

as u have a 2b Mobo are you going to solder a ps2 or 5pin din conector to it so that you can use an A2000 or A4000 keyboard ?? Ive just done that to my 2b Mobo and it works a treat. Pic will be sorted some time this week I hope

The keyboard connector can be soldered direct to a 2B board? Do you have more information on this??
Matt020 is offline  
Old 07 November 2010, 15:03   #12
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,074
Nice, clear and no so terrible mods,is keeping the classic style..
i like it.
congrats
Anemos is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 03:05   #13
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt020 View Post
The keyboard connector can be soldered direct to a 2B board? Do you have more information on this??
Look at this post from good friend Zetr0.

Ignore the A500 wire up: you need only the motherboard pinout and a female PS/2 (for A4000/CD32/CDTV keyboards) or normal DIN for all others.
rkauer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - A1200/A1000/IndiAGA MkII/A1200 Trapdoor Ram & Other Goodies! fitzsteve MarketPlace 1 11 December 2012 10:32
Orig. Commodore A1200 vs. Escom A1200 c0dehunter MarketPlace 5 01 June 2011 20:08
Trading A1200 030 acc and A1200 indivision for Amiga stuff 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 17 14 December 2009 21:50
Trade Mac g3 300/400 or A1200 for an A1200 accellerator BiL0 MarketPlace 0 07 June 2006 17:41
A1200 , and a1200 hardware keropi MarketPlace 23 22 February 2005 00:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07944 seconds with 15 queries