English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 May 2009, 21:09   #1
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
Partition Names?

This may sound like a dumb question, but does it matter what I name my HD partitions? I see that most people use Workbench, Work, and Games for their partitions, but I used Programs instead of Work. Will I run into any problems because of this? Do any programs specifically look for a partition called Work?

Last edited by Tempest 2084; 08 May 2009 at 21:10. Reason: Typo
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 08 May 2009, 21:20   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,423
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
No, it is just your own decision. There are two different things: device name and volume name. Volume is just a label for a device. Device name is given by system, volume name is yours.

Example: you have internal floppy drive in your Amiga. System knows this as DF0: You can insert a diskette to it and it can be called Workbench. If you want to use a file in that diskette, you can run it as DF0:file as well as Workbench:file.

The same with partitions. System knows HDD partitions as DH0:, DH1:, DH2: etc., but you can label them. It is the same with partitions under Windows XP: - you have partition called C:/ but it can be labelled for example "Main disk" or so. It doesn't matter, it is just for better orientation.
Predseda is offline  
Old 08 May 2009, 21:28   #3
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest 2084 View Post
Will I run into any problems because of this? Do any programs specifically look for a partition called Work?
There might be some stupid (probably early) software which wants to install to Work: or DH0: or HD0: but an assign may fix it.
zipper is offline  
Old 08 May 2009, 23:53   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,344
Many stupid installers (such as Picasso96) want to install to Work: if you select novice mode.

I think PFS3 also defaults to Work:

I myself use DH0, DH1, etc as my partition names. The volume labels are also boringly stupid HardDrive0, HardDrive1 etc.. If I want something descriptive for some use, I use an assign.
Jope is offline  
Old 08 May 2009, 23:59   #5
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
When I had an amiga I had my partitions named whatever I wanted, like Games, Harddrive1 etc..... was np as I had in my startup-sequence assign Work: hd0:... or assign Work: Programs:.. whatever... just use whatever name u want and assign Work and stuff to the correct hdd... no program will ever fail...
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 15 May 2009, 00:20   #6
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 3,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
No, it is just your own decision. There are two different things: device name and volume name. Volume is just a label for a device. Device name is given by system, volume name is yours.

Example: you have internal floppy drive in your Amiga. System knows this as DF0: You can insert a diskette to it and it can be called Workbench. If you want to use a file in that diskette, you can run it as DF0:file as well as Workbench:file.

The same with partitions. System knows HDD partitions as DH0:, DH1:, DH2: etc., but you can label them. It is the same with partitions under Windows XP: - you have partition called C:/ but it can be labelled for example "Main disk" or so. It doesn't matter, it is just for better orientation.
That's not entirely correct. With AmigaOs you have control over both the device label and the device name. My partitions are named HD0: to HD7: and they are labeled as various things: Workbench, Software, Data, Work, Dump, etc. This can be done with any device.

Want CD0: to be WHATEVER:? No problem, just change the mount file name. For hard disks the device name can be controled with a partitioning program.
Thorham is offline  
Old 15 May 2009, 05:56   #7
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I have a "Games" partition named "Games" on hdtoolbox...
rkauer is offline  
Old 15 May 2009, 08:16   #8
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,423
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
That's not entirely correct. With AmigaOs you have control over both the device label and the device name. My partitions are named HD0: to HD7: and they are labeled as various things: Workbench, Software, Data, Work, Dump, etc. This can be done with any device.

Want CD0: to be WHATEVER:? No problem, just change the mount file name. For hard disks the device name can be controled with a partitioning program.
OK, I only wanted to describe it as simply as possible.
Predseda is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protection format names kaffer Coders. General 44 03 November 2015 14:27
What the hell were those names? nemazoty request.Demos 4 26 September 2013 14:50
Where did your users names come from? Freakyweakywoo Nostalgia & memories 300 22 December 2012 05:54
LHA32 long names kipper2k New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 08 September 2006 00:12
Computers and their names Akira Nostalgia & memories 55 03 October 2001 00:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07344 seconds with 13 queries