English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2008, 03:02   #1
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 407
PPC hardware Pron. for those who CARE!

Yo,

I think someone was worried about there card heating up way too much, with my desks inbuild fan. (I will post some pics of that later.) This thing doesn't even get warm.

Also has a pass through for the floppy controller, and a molex connector. for more power!

Laters, Adam.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1101.JPG
Views:	536
Size:	203.1 KB
ID:	15889   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1105.JPG
Views:	416
Size:	232.8 KB
ID:	15890  
Vairn is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 07:32   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
nice!
is it with a 060 or a 040? will you use it in the original A1200 desktop case?
Have you replaced already the psu?
if u plan to put it with the bvision in the original case, you must plan CAREFULLY ventilation and airflow... those things inside that case will get too hot...
keropi is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 07:48   #3
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 41
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I think it looks like a 040. innermost solder points are empty.
coze is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 07:56   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
yes, I see now from serial number that it is LC040/25 and 160mhz PPC
keropi is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 10:37   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
LOL i can understand the cooling on the bridge chip and 040, but the140mhz ppc!!!!

lol awesome mod , i just love ghetto hacking, always inspirational!

still i would be tempted to use two laptop cpu coolers on the chips though.... much more efficient.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 10:48   #6
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,196
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Vairn nice hack, but why a heatsink on top of a heatsink?
DDNI is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 11:04   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
The original heatsink is insufficient, extra one makes for better cooling. I think still one oughta add a fan on it.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 11:11   #8
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,196
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
BAmiga yup they arent the greatest heatsinks are they!
I would have been tempted to replace the PPC heatsink enitirely and add a fan.
Securing the new heatsink to the non standard holes of the BPPC would bring difficulties though...

Vairn is likelky, nodding and thinking been there, tried that, did this
DDNI is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 12:01   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
my DCE 200mhz Bppc had a small heatsink/fan glued directly on the ppc cpu... I think the DCE way was better.... but maybe phase5 had the original case in mind?
keropi is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 12:55   #10
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 407
yeah, it is a 040/25 and 160 ppc, which is running at 175mhz.

The mod wasn't done by me, the previous owner didn't even say he modded it, maybe he wanted it to be a surprise... I was actually thinking of adding a new heat sink when I got it, so now I don't have too. He even cut holes in the trapdoor cover. The fan is powered by either a molex connector, or a pass through for the floppy drive power.

With my "desk mod" there is loads of airflow going through there, I also modded a 300w power supply for my 1200, and its addons. CDrom, SD-IDE, and the case fan, I added to my desk. (I have to remember to take that picture...)

Haven't played around with it much, but it is cool to touch and all that after a few hours use, so I wonder what it will be like under strain..

I am soo tempted to send it off for a 060 mod, just cause I think I'll enjoy that more then the PPC part...

Really only got it to add a blizzardVision too it (the 3d programmer in me wants a new toy, get to program xbox360's at work, so I wanted a hobby 3d card lol.
Decided it is cheaper then the Mediator path, since then I would need a case and all that.... hmm, it looks like it would fit in my Antec 900 one though.
It will also let me play with OS4, if I want to at a future date once I see what other peeps opinions are. Too early to decide if it is worth it.. Might just order it for the sake of it next payday tho.

Last edited by Vairn; 11 February 2008 at 13:07.
Vairn is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 13:12   #11
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
BAmiga yup they arent the greatest heatsinks are they!
I would have been tempted to replace the PPC heatsink enitirely and add a fan.
Securing the new heatsink to the non standard holes of the BPPC would bring difficulties though...

Vairn is likelky, nodding and thinking been there, tried that, did this

lol, yeah, looking at it after I got it, I figured out that it might be quite interesting to replace the heatsink and all that with a modern spare P4 heat sink/fan I have.. It can cool my Quadcore so it might work on it.. Just that would mean I have to move it to a tower.. I like the look of the 1200 too much for that tho.. It is soo distinctive.
Vairn is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 19:53   #12
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 728
If you replace the P5 heatsink keep in mind the chips around the PPC needs ventilation too. There are some really short heatsink/fan combinations around, the stock CyberStormPPC heatsink/fan is only 1 cm tall (but then it kinda sucks). Optimal for the BlizzardPPC would be some kind of custom heatpipe design.

It is actually possible to buy heatpipes and bend them with pipe benders but machining fittins etc is a lot of work, and you would still need airflow over the underside of the card.
cv643d is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 20:29   #13
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,196
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Firdt post from my archos605..... Vairn I had mine upgraded by PG over at amiga.org he uses the latest mask of 060. My bppc is a 160mhz chip that phase5 overclocked to 175. I have since over clocked the 060 to 64mhz. The 3.0 multiplier gives the PPC an overclock to 192. This worried me, but it runs cool and stable with a noticeable speed boost. my philosophy is hack it and enjoy it..... Will break my heart if and when it goes pffffft but hey I enjoyed it till then
DDNI is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 22:48   #14
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 407
Yeah, I have spoken to PG, sent him some more info about it, was waiting till it actually arrived, now I'm just waiting till next payday for the cash required, if he agrees to do it.

Over clocking the PPC eh.. hmm interesting. Its a pitty it aint a 200mhz one tho...

64mhz 060, that would just fly right?
Vairn is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 22:56   #15
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
yeah, a 60+ mhz 060 is just GREAT!
plus I don't think it will hurt the ppc cpu to run at ~200mhz, provided it is cooled!
keropi is offline  
Old 12 February 2008, 08:19   #16
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
The extra mhz-boost won't harm the cpu if it's properly cooled! I'm runnin' my ppc @256mhz. Only the fast memory speed stops me from going further.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 12 February 2008, 08:21   #17
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
I'm runnin' my ppc @256mhz.
really? what sysspeed gives you for the 603e ?
keropi is offline  
Old 12 February 2008, 08:27   #18
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Alrighty, it was 253mhz not 256mhz . Well let's not start nitpicking .

SysSpeed results:

MIPS: 314.96
MFLOPS: 194.95
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 12 February 2008, 08:37   #19
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
really? will check it now with my 233mhz csppc...
wait....

edit:

MIPS: 320.09
MFLOPS: 211.27

impressive results u got there Bamiga2002

Last edited by keropi; 12 February 2008 at 08:47.
keropi is offline  
Old 12 February 2008, 08:44   #20
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Funny SysSpeed reports 253mhz when the multiplier is 4x and the crystal 64mhz. It should say 256mhz.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bit of hardware pron Jimbo Hardware pics 2 14 November 2010 10:50
Cyberstorm PPC hardware mod: 060@72MHz/PPC@396MHz stachu100 Hardware mods 7 30 April 2010 15:26
Would anyone care for some free hardware? Paul_s MarketPlace 5 17 October 2009 23:52
Audio hardware pron! Paul_s Hardware pics 3 23 September 2009 17:08
Exclusive HardWare Pron from Japan ! XXX68000 ! Zetro Outraged ! coze Hardware pics 24 07 January 2009 11:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10028 seconds with 14 queries