English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 July 2002, 01:13   #81
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally posted by DPainter
Unfortunately I do not think that rawread images can be written back to Amiga floppies, at least not those with copy protection.
Of course you're right. I was too enthusiastic and that's why I forgot about that matter completely.
andreas is offline  
Old 30 July 2002, 02:35   #82
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,297
Artic Fox WHD ORIGINAL

Upload in the Zone.
Frog is offline  
Old 30 July 2002, 22:44   #83
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Smile

Very nice one, Frog!
andreas is offline  
Old 12 September 2002, 19:34   #84
Splatman
Junior Member
Splatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: U.K
Age: 53
Posts: 53
Happy

YES...

But can someone please re-post both in the zone or at least the working adf...

Go away for a while and a problem gets sorted. All we need now is Dragons Breath fixed...OK so I am asking a bit much
Splatman is offline  
Old 12 September 2002, 21:31   #85
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Splatman
But can someone please re-post both in the zone or at least the working adf...
ADF and WHDLoad Version in the zone again
RetroMan is offline  
Old 21 February 2003, 10:09   #86
microslave
 
Posts: n/a
Happy Arctic Fox solved at last :-O

Hi,
could anyone please repost the working arctic fox adf image to the zone (w config) or email me. I created an 80 Track image from my original copy myself some years ago, but couldn't get it to work :-( It was then posted to the dreamzone (anyone still knows this site;-))
Creating adfs was always a bit of work with my old Amiga1000/1MB machine and it was frustrating, when the games wouldn't run on WinUAE...
I'm looking forward to playing Arctic Fox again, I've got the Atari-Emulator version too, but it just isn't the same. I remember, Arctic Fox was one of my Amiga Games, that would run with Kick 1.1.
So I'd be glad, if you could provide me with a working copy.
 
Old 02 June 2017, 05:21   #87
megadeth859
 
Posts: n/a
14 years later, status on Arcticfox?
 
Old 02 June 2017, 08:44   #88
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,209
http://www.whdload.de/games/ArcticFox.html

I adapted the original, copy protected version to whdload in 2006. I wasn't aware one already existed in 2002. Never saw that, and neither did Bert/Wepl.
jotd is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 07:19   #89
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,466
Anyone have a working ADF? I cannot seem to find one. Tried them all from all the known sites and even EAB File Server. Tried them all on an original Amiga 1000 with Kickstart 1.2! None work.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 11:07   #90
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,111
The only working .ADF is the extended one: >> click <<

...but guess you can't use this on a real Amiga.
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 11:13   #91
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,111
Well, there's also this that I made, see this thread: Hello and Help--Arctic Fox/Degrader

...and this post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Had a wild / crazy idea late last night

So, you have a non standard A500 with:

... Kickstart 3.1 ROM.
... 2MB RAM (can't remember the configuration).
... no Hard Drive.

I thought to myself "I wonder if I could somehow get the WHDLoad version onto a disk?" so proceeded with the following:
  • Firstly downloaded the Arctic Fox package. Took a look at this and it contained a disk image; "Disk.1" which was 901122B in size. No way this was going to fit on one disk...
  • Used "Crunch Mania" to compress this file.
  • Created a bootable floppy disk.
  • Copied the "WHDLoad" file.
  • Copied the required "Kickstart ROM" / "RTB" files.
  • Copied the crunched "Disk.1" file.
  • Copied the "ArcticFox.slave" file.
  • Wrote the "S/Startup-Sequence" file.
I then tested in WinUAE with these configurations (took a while to load though):

... A500 / ECS Agnus / Kickstart 3.1 / 2MB Chip RAM [success]
... A500 / ECS Agnus / Kickstart 3.1 / 1MB Chip & 1MB Slow RAM [failed]

Anyway, I can't put this .ADF in The Zone! as it contains a Kickstart ROM. Will upload somewhere and post you a link nd2003grad.

Let us know if this works for you?
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 14:03   #92
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,238
Back in 2014 I cracked Arcticfox just for fun. I have removed the complete encryption and made the game file based, i.e. it's not NDOS anymore. I didn't fix the graphics problems that occur on Kickstart 1.2+ yet though, may do that in the (hopefully not too distant) future and create a proper version of the game.
StingRay is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 18:08   #93
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twistin'Ghost View Post
Yes, we are in need of a fresh dump. But seeing as how your original is copy protected, this may pose a problem. If you are technical, here is how you can deprotect it:
Code:

  Cylinder 0, Top
    Sync = $AA25, Length = $2EC0

  Block 857
    Offset $F4
      Value = $2876E751
    Offset $F8
      Value = $AE9613F3
    Offset $FC
      Value = $AEA6B6EB

  Block 861
    Offset $48
      Value = $55B3898B
    Offset $A4
      Value = $4CC93DBF
    Offset $A8
      Value = $01ED69DF
    Offset $E4
      Value =   $DB175E55,$F3D89CBC,$6966557D,$87AA6CAB
	  	$989738D7,$A9E86BA3,$70DC7124,$F5C4F131
	  	$80CA5CA1,$AE7A0CE2,$AC8BBBF2,$7888429A
	  	$27F139F9,$2F7F4E6A,$6E91B365,$F5AA2F48
	  	$AF72DD5D,$2B78824D,$1D1A5B8D,$E86723AC
	  	$9B2642C7,$76139072,$54DBE185,$D4366BFF
	  	$C44D189D

1. Use Dumb Copy to make a Backup copy.
2. Modify the above block(s) starting with
   the offset(s) shown to the value(s) shown.
3. This will deprotect the disk.

If all of that is greek to you, ProjectD 3.16 will deprotect the game to a new disk (copy) which will in turn be adf'able. The existing copy on the net is a useless overdump.

Codetapper of some of the other WHD guys may want to contact you for an image of the original for making a hard-drive version, as well.
I have an original disk of Arctic fox, can anyone help me make a crack copy? What tools can I use to do the above steps?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 18:12   #94
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Back in 2014 I cracked Arcticfox just for fun. I have removed the complete encryption and made the game file based, i.e. it's not NDOS anymore. I didn't fix the graphics problems that occur on Kickstart 1.2+ yet though, may do that in the (hopefully not too distant) future and create a proper version of the game.
Would love to try out your filed version of the game!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 19:31   #95
Pyzano
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 20
I too have an original that I used to play on my Amiga 1000.

If guys can rip it ....it's yours.

Just give me a working copy so I can sell my Amiga for christmas money

TJ: maybe we'll start a kickstarter lol
Pyzano is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 19:49   #96
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,111
Hey there Pyzano,

Welcome to EAB

...I'm a little confused by your above post plus your PM to me.

What is it you're after exactly?

Seems that you have an Amiga and the original disks so just use them...

If you are indeed planning on selling your Amiga and want to play Arctic Fox via an emulator then just use either:

a) the .IPF file (we can't help you locate / link to this but Google is your friend).
b) the extended .ADF that is located on the EAB File Server.
c) the WHDLoad version.
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 20:15   #97
Pyzano
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Hey there Pyzano,

Welcome to EAB

...I'm a little confused by your above post plus your PM to me.

What is it you're after exactly?

Seems that you have an Amiga and the original disks so just use them...

If you are indeed planning on selling your Amiga and want to play Arctic Fox via an emulator then just use either:

a) the .IPF file (we can't help you locate / link to this but Google is your friend).
b) the extended .ADF that is located on the EAB File Server.
c) the WHDLoad version.
Yes I'm selling my Amiga 1000 and plan on using an emulator to play but had no idea it was such a struggle to find a working adf. I'm not a technical guy as I only learned how to use UAE and run Bard's Tale on it just the other day(man it's been like 30 years and I still haven't finished that game). Since google is my friend do you know the actual name to the working adf of arcticfox if there is one? That whdload stuff is too much for my pea sized brain.....I'd even pay a guy to ftp my pc to get it running and grease them with some paypal money. PM me if this interests you or anyone here. Hey knowledge is power.
Pyzano is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 20:22   #98
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,111
Ok, go to the EAB File Server and then navigate to:
Commodore_Amiga --> TOSEC [2016-01-03] --> Commodore Amiga - Games - [ADF] (TOSEC-v2015-12-28_CM) --> A
From here download the file "Arctic Fox (1985)(Electronic Arts)[extended adf].zip".

Extract and use as you would a normal .ADF in an emulator

Note: see this post for the KS ROM and RAM settings to use in order for the game to run correctly...

Last edited by DamienD; 27 September 2017 at 20:38.
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 20:30   #99
Pyzano
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok, go to the EAB File Server and then:

/Commodore_Amiga/TOSEC [2016-01-03]/Commodore Amiga - Games - [ADF] (TOSEC-v2015-12-28_CM)/A

From here download the file "Arctic Fox (1985)(Electronic Arts)[extended adf].zip".

Extract and use as you would a normal .ADF in an emulator

Note: see this post for KS ROM and RAM settings...
Ok i'll try this tonight when I finish work. If this works I will name my next son DAMIEN. I played the Atari ST version of AF and the sounds were not even close, no hand icon on the controls just a big MEH. Funny as the Bard's Tale(Atari ST version) was very close to the amiga so I though the ST version of AF would do it justice.
Pyzano is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 20:33   #100
Pyzano
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok, go to the EAB File Server and then navigate to:
Commodore_Amiga --> TOSEC [2016-01-03] --> Commodore Amiga - Games - [ADF] (TOSEC-v2015-12-28_CM) --> A
From here download the file "Arctic Fox (1985)(Electronic Arts)[extended adf].zip".

Extract and use as you would a normal .ADF in an emulator

Note: see this post for the KS ROM and RAM settings to use in order for the game to run correctly...
the link for the KS ROM and RAM settings didn't work?
Pyzano is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arctic Moves demoniac project.aGTW 98 01 July 2019 05:58
Arctic Fox ADF doesnt work Calo Nord support.WinUAE 44 25 September 2007 09:30
Aunt Arctic adventure hardmoon support.WinUAE 3 10 January 2004 13:43
Voyager, The Immortal, Dungeon Master, and Arctic Fox (but this one works) Unregistered support.Games 10 13 December 2001 22:32
arctic fox - Help me Mangar request.Old Rare Games 26 25 July 2001 23:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09182 seconds with 14 queries