English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 February 2004, 00:42   #1
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Thumbs down Syndicate

I just did a few missions, saved, and then quit. A Bit later, went back to play them and noticed it hadn't saved at all. It turns out this is an issue with SFS, as SFS waits before writing back to files, but as Syndicate opens the file and closes it immediately, it doesn't have time to write it back and it doesn't save.

Now as everyone seems to use SFS, I would think this is quite a major problem.

Would anyone be up to looking into this / fixing it?
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 01:02   #2
DeCreator
 
Posts: n/a
Surely the best thing to do is contact the slave author via the whdload site

On a side note the Bump n burn file on your site i could not download says javascript error when trying to bring up the box
 
Old 29 February 2004, 01:10   #3
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Good point.

And site fixed (didn't like the ' in it).
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 06:38   #4
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,160
If you really think SFS is causing the problem copy the game to RAM: and run it from there. If it works, then problem solved - the save game will be in RAM:

Remember WHDLoad does have a read and write cache for kickstart games and usually it will not write your save games back to disk unless you quit. If you are powering off your Amiga rather than using the quit key then your games will not be there!

If that doesn't fix it, file a proper bug report on the WHDLoad page. Jeff doesn't visit here so posting about your bug won't see it resolved.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 09:54   #5
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally posted by Codetapper
Remember WHDLoad does have a read and write cache for kickstart games and usually it will not write your save games back to disk unless you quit. If you are powering off your Amiga rather than using the quit key then your games will not be there!
That must be it, as lots of the games say press PrtScr to quit, but it doesn't work (where as the ones that say press F10 do work).

Whats the line to add to the icon info to specify the qui key?
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 12:14   #6
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 448
QUITKEY=$5d
Without the smily ofcourse
jrom is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 12:20   #7
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
What does $5d stand for?
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 14:47   #8
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 39
Posts: 657
Quote:
If you really think SFS is causing the problem copy the game to RAM: and run it from there. If it works, then problem solved - the save game will be in RAM:
Hmm, I remember when I installed Syndicate on my HD (just copying the files across, not using WHDLoad), my hard drive was always invalidated after saving and reboting the machine. Maybe that has something to do with it - perhaps the game is generally badly behaved when it comes to saving data to HD.
TikTok is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 14:47   #9
abelthorne
Registered User
abelthorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: France
Posts: 140
$5D is the character * on the numpad (which whdload understand as PrtScr I think).

All keys values are displayed in the whdload documentation (don't remember if the pic is included in the amigaguide or if you have to dig it up from the place you installed the doc to).
abelthorne is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 14:49   #10
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
So, infact the quit button isn't what it said it was? It is infact *? How confusing.

I'll check that.
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 14:51   #11
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Enverex
So, infact the quit button isn't what it said it was? It is infact *? How confusing.

I'll check that.
Not confusing at all Have a look at any Amiga keyboard and you´ll see, that PRTSCR is the second function of the * key
RetroMan is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 15:36   #12
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
Not confusing at all Have a look at any Amiga keyboard and you´ll see, that PRTSCR is the second function of the * key
Ah, but I am using a towered system with a Win95 keyboard
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 15:54   #13
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Enverex
Ah, but I am using a towered system with a Win95 keyboard
Hmmm, try the "-" key above the big "+" key to the right
RetroMan is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 16:22   #14
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
Hmmm, try the "-" key above the big "+" key to the right
I know where the key is! I mean't the fact is isn't marked as a second function as PrtScr for obvious reasons.
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 18:03   #15
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally posted by TikTok
Hmm, I remember when I installed Syndicate on my HD (just copying the files across, not using WHDLoad), my hard drive was always invalidated after saving and reboting the machine. Maybe that has something to do with it - perhaps the game is generally badly behaved when it comes to saving data to HD.
This problem is rendered non-existant if you use WHDLoad. The game saving is generated differently as Codetapper saids.
Akira is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 20:23   #16
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Deffinately doesn't work.
I told it to save, it did it's little pause, and I clicked the Load save button again and they all just still said empty, so I saved again, quit (with *) loaded it back up and they were still all empty.

So I think the WHDLoad is officially broken.
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 20:46   #17
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
Just did a quick test on my A1200 with SFS -> works
Test on A4000 with FFS -> works

RetroMan is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 20:53   #18
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
Just did a quick test on my A1200 with SFS -> works
Test on A4000 with FFS -> works

In that case, can you do a quick check with the version of the game (the WHDLoad) that is on my site please.
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 21:18   #19
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Enverex
In that case, can you do a quick check with the version of the game (the WHDLoad) that is on my site please.
That´s the exact same version I allready have, but I tested again and it still works fine here
RetroMan is offline  
Old 29 February 2004, 21:19   #20
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
That´s the exact same version I allready have, but I tested again and it still works fine here
I'll try copying it, but I don't see how it will help
Enverex is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Syndicate - Your memories Cherno Nostalgia & memories 37 10 January 2017 22:32
Syndicate - new or old? TKM21 Retrogaming General Discussion 14 27 April 2012 19:23
Syndicate (DE) Josh request.Old Rare Games 4 10 January 2008 11:38
syndicate freezing pbareges support.Games 5 07 March 2007 17:41
Request: Syndicate jimmay project.Sprites 5 04 May 2006 10:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16514 seconds with 13 queries