English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

View Poll Results: ClassicWB for OS39 - Yes, No or Insults
Yes 32 88.89%
No 1 2.78%
Your Workbench setups stink, buy deodorant 1 2.78%
My setup is better than yours! I don't give a crap! 2 5.56%
Voters: 36. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 December 2007, 16:31   #41
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
Scalos, it's too buggy or complicate to a quick use imho
I don't know, I've always loved it! Well for Workbench 3.0/3.1 anyway. The last stable release, 1.2D, rarely gave me any issues or crashed (apart from the dodgy menu prefs editor) in WinUAE or my A1200, made much better use of the Amiga's multitasking ability and adds so much to Workbench. Of course you have to be more careful about what patches to install, as Scalos has many fixes already built in and/or they may not be compatible.

It's not really required to the same extent in OS3.9 and I guess it is kind of nice to have a "pure" Workbench system.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 22 December 2007, 17:29   #42
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,253
many of the things i consider bugs maybe they are not (like the icons disappearing or the colour scheme getting loaded after the one of workbench etc) anyway not a big problem...
Marcuz is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 11:09   #43
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,253
just a stray thought... will you insert an option to choose what icons install? or to leave out new-icons?
Marcuz is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 11:59   #44
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I was thinking about it - would mean a lot of extra work. It would save RAM and speed up its performance on slower A1200's.

At the moment I'm not sure. Depends how motivated I feel at the time.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 18:12   #45
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
glad you are still chipping away at this Bloodwych! have a good christmas dude
thinlega is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 19:08   #46
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Yeah, it's slow going, but I don't have as much free time these days.

Have a great xmas too thinlega.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 30 December 2007, 03:15   #47
MickJT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetlilmre View Post
-Does CWB make use of exec 44.1 and the other speed / stability patches?
-(e)
I know i'm replying to an old post, but just wanted to say that if you are talking about it being used on OS3.9, there's no need, as exec.library is already later than 44.1
MickJT is offline  
Old 17 March 2008, 18:59   #48
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
any updates on the 3.9_cwb? I use the previw one, and I am very pleased.
with cwb+3.1 there was MUCH MUCH trouble using it on a real amiga with a 12GB HD. the 4+GB HD just screwed it all... I used SFS and an eide'99 adapter with it's driver, I just could not make it work... with 3.9 and it's own FFS all is well now
yeah, I did not bother much with this amiga limitation, I just installed 3.9 instead
keropi is offline  
Old 17 March 2008, 23:06   #49
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Yeah, that 4-8GB limitation in WB 3.0/1 is a pain and it's a shame there is not a free and easy solution as it puts many people off what is otherwise a perfectly acceptable Workbench.

It's been a busy time for me at the moment with career changes and a house move. I fully intend to get back to this and finish it, but can't say exactly when.

I may get some free time this week, but no promises!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 March 2008, 23:09   #50
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
keropi is offline  
Old 18 March 2008, 12:57   #51
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
What about a CWB for OS3.5 pls.............
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 25 March 2008, 13:38   #52
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorfiot View Post
What about a CWB for OS3.5 pls.............
This pack should be compatible with OS3.5 as well, as it simply adds extra files to the Workbench and leaves most the original files untouched. Nothing in it is OS3.9 specific.

I have made more progress with this pack and it's coming along nicely. Still not ready for prime time, but I'll see if I can make another private release in the near future.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 25 March 2008, 14:44   #53
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
yes, please do so, it r0x
keropi is offline  
Old 25 March 2008, 14:47   #54
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
This pack should be compatible with OS3.5 as well, as it simply adds extra files to the Workbench and leaves most the original files untouched. Nothing in it is OS3.9 specific.

I have made more progress with this pack and it's coming along nicely. Still not ready for prime time, but I'll see if I can make another private release in the near future.

Thank you.....
Pls let us know when / how to download this version
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 18:47   #55
Kristian95
A4000T owner :)
Kristian95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California, USA
Age: 44
Posts: 498
I too anxiously await your OS 3.9 ClassicWB package
Kristian95 is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 19:32   #56
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
I'm strangely finding myself more drawn and excited to this than the option of finding a PPC and getting OS4...anyone else in the same boat?
DoogUK is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 20:16   #57
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,253
me three
Marcuz is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 20:29   #58
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
the beta is soooo sweeeetttt , but I found it freezing completelly... had to disable magic menu for starters...
keropi is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 20:29   #59
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Arrrggghhh! The pressure to complete!

Seriously, thanks for showing interest guys. I do enjoy working on these packs, just wish I had the free time of old to get them done ASAP. Sorry for the slow progress, but I'm afraid I still can't say when it'll be ready. Even the standard WB3/3.1 packs need a small update - I noticed some of them are missing WBgame links on the fast launch bar. Small but annoying little glitch.

Don't forget though, a really good pack with hardware optimizations that I certainly won't be including in this pack already exists, AmigaSYS:

http://amigasys.extra.hu/amiga.html

While you're waiting for this why not give it a whirl? (Yep, I'm trying to distract you guys from waiting LOL! ) It really is a nice setup and you may not even want this pack after trying it out! With all the install options, it is more of a final solution to a wide range of real Amiga hardware setups.

The main thing I'm doing with this ClassicWB pack is to make it an ideal addition to the default base install of OS35/39. It's not meant to be a final solution, lacking install options, although it is good enough to be used as such. It should be very easy for you guys to then go on and customize it to your specific Amiga and visual tastes.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 23:32   #60
Kristian95
A4000T owner :)
Kristian95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California, USA
Age: 44
Posts: 498
sounds good Bloodwych and I'll be as patient as it takes, no worries mate
Kristian95 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB OS39 v2.5 update to v2.7 amigappc project.ClassicWB 3 01 June 2013 21:04
Classic Workbench OS39 on Amiga 4000 Turran support.Hardware 6 03 March 2013 20:33
To use OS39 or ADVSP (3.1)? amigappc project.ClassicWB 11 31 December 2010 09:23
VGA Screen on ClassicWB OS39 amigappc project.ClassicWB 2 27 December 2010 15:06
intuition, kingcon in dopus4/os39 and screenborders hardwir3d project.ClassicWB 10 16 May 2008 12:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13360 seconds with 17 queries