English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinFellow

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 November 2006, 19:03   #1
elector
 
Posts: n/a
Cannot save game play in Deuteros

Hi All,

I'm not new to the Amiga, but am with these emulation programs !

I purchaised the Amiga forever plus and loaded it onto my pc. I also downloaded the adf files for Deuteros ( used to play it for hours a few years ago and recently had the urge to play it again ! )

I tried to get it to run using WinUAE but without much success. I have got it to run smoothly using WinFellow. My problem occurs when I go to save the game, just get Non Game Disk regardless of what I do.

I have tried to create an adf file both manually and via WinUAE, two actually in WinUAE, standard disk and custom disk. When I go to save I F11 and change DF0 to this destination, but no success I'm affraid.

My question here is am I missing something really silly or is Deuteros one of these games that requires something a bit special to get it to save?

Anybody experienced the same problem with this game ?

Any advice would be much appreciated and would save me having to pay christmas prices on A1200 or so on Ebay ! ( I have the original disks for Deuteros !!!! boxed and complete ! )

Thanks all !
 
Old 18 November 2006, 19:42   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,111
Hey elector,

Welcome to EAB

Hmmm, don't really have that much experience with WinFellow. Sorry

Also, unfortunately WinFellow doesn't get updated much these days...

I would recommend trying to get it running in WinUAE. If you are unable to get saves working via disks you can always use Save States (see http://eab.abime.net/faq.php?faq=emu...#faq_savestate)

Maybe post a new thread in prb.Games, mention that you are using WinUAE and let us know what the problem seems to be. A lot more people will be able to help out then
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 November 2006, 20:30   #3
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 39
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
I don't use save disks, but I do believe that BTTR hosted a lot of them for games where save disks could only be created on a real Amiga (?).

You might be able to find some pre-made save disks by searching around a bit!
P-J is offline  
Old 18 November 2006, 21:30   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J
I don't use save disks, but I do believe that BTTR hosted a lot of them for games where save disks could only be created on a real Amiga (?).
Thanks for the reminder P-J

I grabbed a lot of BTTR save disks before the site went down, pretty sure Deuteros was one of them...

Will check now and upload to The Zone!

@elector: to access The Zone! you need to http://eab.abime.net/faq.php?faq=vb_...ezone_faq_item

...but I would still recommend using WinUAE instead as it's being developed quite frequently
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 November 2006, 21:49   #5
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 39
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
...but I would still recommend using WinUAE instead as it's being developed quite frequently
I would second this. Although WinFellow is 'easier' to use since it's got a much more spartan interface, you should be able to achieve pretty much anything with WinUAE. It's been ages since I last had a problem running a game released pre-1996.

If you want some help with WinUAE, please let us know your problems. It is much more likely you will have success with WinUAE!
P-J is offline  
Old 18 November 2006, 22:01   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,111
Just to clarify...

It's not that I'm slating WinFellow. I've never actually used it so who am I to comment???

...but I've heard great things, I think the strongest point being that it runs better than WinUAE on older, less powerful hardware.

I'm sure Worfje has done a damn fine job with it, I've just never needed to use it has my PCs / laptops are decent spec

...my main point being that support wise WinUAE is the way to go.
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2006, 15:10   #7
elector
 
Posts: n/a
Hi P-J and DamienD, thanks very much for you comments above.

I have played around with WinUAE and have finaly managed to get Deuteros to work with it !!! I have also found that as suggested above, the save states works fine for what I want, ie saving the game when I've done for that session rather than leaving it running for months until I've finished it !

All good stuff and now a happy Amiga games player again thanks to you !

No doubt I'll be back on these forums again at a later date with some other silly question or two !

Much appreciated !

Regards
S.
 
Old 23 November 2006, 15:24   #8
elector
 
Posts: n/a
Hi, me again !

Just to add that actually using save states means that the game is instantly re-loaded rather than having to select DF0 twice whilst loading the original game, Brill !

My hardware is OK, Intel E6600 clocked at 3ghz, 4gb xms2 memory, 1TB sata II 300 hard disk space and 512mb XFX 7950GT grahpics. Seems to cope with most things with a zing !

Regards
S.
 
Old 23 November 2006, 15:35   #9
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 41
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
deuteros uses its own save disks. you have to format one using the format option in the save game screen. (just insert a blank adf, I remember it working in winuae)

deuteros was one of my fave games back then, and one of the few amiga games I had the patience to finish to the end on the real amiga
coze is offline  
Old 23 November 2006, 17:42   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze
deuteros uses its own save disks. you have to format one using the format option in the save game screen. (just insert a blank adf, I remember it working in winuae)
I also put the Save Disk from BTTR (Detroitsave.zip) in The Zone! for elector just in case he wanted to try this with WinFellow or WinUAE
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 November 2006, 11:33   #11
elector
 
Posts: n/a
Hi DamienD,

thanks for reminding me of the upload above, have now down loaded it and will play later on to see if I can make that option work to !

Getting into this WinUAE proggy now !

 
Old 27 January 2007, 13:06   #12
Deus
 
Posts: n/a
save game

I just created a savegame disc with WinUAE, email me at imperial_konsul@hotmail.com if U need a pre-made save disc for Deuteros.
As usual with internet material I take no responsibility for any damage that might occur to ure computer using this savedisc.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello. I want to play an amiga game, but... pakjunho Member Introductions 17 28 July 2012 07:17
What should I do emulator to play the game? heanavsior├žopi5 support.WinFellow 19 17 November 2010 23:12
Cant play any game Halcyon project.MAGE 10 25 August 2009 14:15
Just want to play ONE game. Very new to Amiga. Please help. AmazeO XD New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 18 February 2008 12:45
Trained save game or kick-butt RPG party save disk for Pool of Raidiance 7-Zark-7 request.Old Rare Games 1 16 June 2003 01:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07550 seconds with 15 queries