English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2020, 00:46   #241
RuySan
Registered User
RuySan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
Is this version better? I disabled the "wobbling" effect which should originaly change with time i guess.
I've been using your shaders (thanks a lot), but to my suprise, even though the effect is fantastic, they take quite a big toll on my performance. In retroarch i can use any shader without any problem at all (stuff like crt-royale on SNES or MAME). Is this normal? Are shaders like Lotte supposed to be this demanding on FSUAE?
RuySan is offline  
Old 05 February 2020, 16:36   #242
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuySan View Post
Some of the shaders on Retroarch are really nice, and simple scanlines just doesn't cut it anymore on FS-UAE

But the shader I use for Retroarch, CRT-Royale, seems overkill for Amiga. It really looks more like a TV instead of a monitor. What is the shader that emulates the 1084s screen the best for FS-UAE?
If the shader has more options, you can customise it better. The most popular shader here is crt-easymode-halation. Would give it a try.

But otherwise, i don't know/remember how the image in 1084s looked like. I was using my miggy with an TV.


Quote:
I've been using your shaders (thanks a lot), but to my suprise, even though the effect is fantastic, they take quite a big toll on my performance. In retroarch i can use any shader without any problem at all (stuff like crt-royale on SNES or MAME). Is this normal? Are shaders like Lotte supposed to be this demanding on FSUAE?
It's normal for crt-lottes. That's why there are more versions of it (Original - very slow, normal and fast). The fast version should run on motherboard integrated gfx. using 4x4 scaling.
guest.r is offline  
Old 06 February 2020, 12:17   #243
RuySan
Registered User
RuySan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
If the shader has more options, you can customise it better. The most popular shader here is crt-easymode-halation. Would give it a try.

But otherwise, i don't know/remember how the image in 1084s looked like. I was using my miggy with an TV.

It's normal for crt-lottes. That's why there are more versions of it (Original - very slow, normal and fast). The fast version should run on motherboard integrated gfx. using 4x4 scaling.
I do have an i5-6500 CPU and a GTX1060 6GB GPU. I though I was completely over framerate problems in 16bit emulation for decades
RuySan is offline  
Old 06 February 2020, 17:10   #244
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 296
The cpu is also a bit important to get a better grasp how slow or fast the shader runs, because it's common that a cpu bottlenecks the gpu/shader with advanced emulation like FS-UAE.

Otherwise you don't need more FPS than the refresh rate of the game with FS-UAE unless you are using a speedup key - very uncommon i think.

Some shaders are running like 200FPS on my 1080p setup, but they should also run like 190FPS on 4k, because they shade at a fixed scale (like 6x) and then up/down scale with a fast HW procedure.

Still, my adapter is slower than yours and i don't have issues with any shader here so i think maybe it's a Windows issue involved, like the power plan. You could change that in windows/nVidia panel. I read many users experience this.
guest.r is offline  
Old 06 February 2020, 19:02   #245
RuySan
Registered User
RuySan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
The cpu is also a bit important to get a better grasp how slow or fast the shader runs, because it's common that a cpu bottlenecks the gpu/shader with advanced emulation like FS-UAE.

Otherwise you don't need more FPS than the refresh rate of the game with FS-UAE unless you are using a speedup key - very uncommon i think.

Some shaders are running like 200FPS on my 1080p setup, but they should also run like 190FPS on 4k, because they shade at a fixed scale (like 6x) and then up/down scale with a fast HW procedure.

Still, my adapter is slower than yours and i don't have issues with any shader here so i think maybe it's a Windows issue involved, like the power plan. You could change that in windows/nVidia panel. I read many users experience this.
I was testing the shaders with Turrican, and in some cases, like lottes or matias the fps would dip to under 30 fps. I will check if there's anything on the power settings that's messing with it
RuySan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shaders Zeraphine support.Amiga Forever 0 24 May 2016 00:23
Looking for dithering shaders for FS-UAE switchblade support.FS-UAE 1 28 July 2015 19:13
CG Shaders Enverex support.FS-UAE 2 05 October 2014 19:51
fx Shaders in WinUAE 2.6.0 crazy46guy support.WinUAE 8 16 June 2013 15:30
Using shaders with FS-UAE on Ubuntu [Solved] DaveMB support.FS-UAE 2 14 October 2012 16:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07333 seconds with 16 queries