English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 August 2019, 03:53   #21
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 256
Congratulations Kipper this is Awesome! I would like to be able to put one of these in my A2000, A3000T, and also in my A4000T. Please keep up the development on these awesome projects!
Magic is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 11:29   #22
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 189
Is it only Aotl that will be selling these or can we also buy them through European resellers like Amigakit or Amigstore?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 12:05   #23
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 431
Great stuff!

Where can I buy them in Europe and when?
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 12:08   #24
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 822
I'm interested in an A1200 version.
fryguy is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 16:56   #25
ramonsmits
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 33
I would like one! Shipping to the Netherlands / Europe.
ramonsmits is offline  
Old 04 August 2019, 13:01   #26
albatorsk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Malmö
Posts: 2
I would definitely buy an A1200 version. Especially now with development of AmigaOS seems to have started again with 3.1.4, and who know if there will be for example a Kickstart 3.2?
albatorsk is offline  
Old 04 August 2019, 14:26   #27
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,830
a thought for ROM games

Hi All, so i was doing a lot of thinking and i am wondering about something that i think is possible but i do not know about Amiga coding too much so if it is a stupid idea be nice to me lol...

Using the Romulator will allow you to use custom roms. On a 16 bit A500 you can use a maximum 1MB ROM (which is the size of the RAM chip we have on board).

The A600 has a 8375 Agnus capable of addressing 2MB so if we have the 2MB RAM then in theory your ROM could be up to 2MB in size. For the A1200 the same applies in 32bit mode, so here is my thoughts.

Think SNES where the SNES load ROM images and have instant access to game loads. What is to stop people creating custom ROMs that load games directly into memory so that the Amiga can do the same. I understand there are limitations with RAM availability and who knows in theory you could still mount a floppy etc to load estra levels or whatever.

I know some games provide their own libs etc and are not hostage to a WB so i think this is doable to some extent...

Am i out in left field on this ????
kipper2k is offline  
Old 04 August 2019, 16:39   #28
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 139
Would love an A1200 version, but will probably want an A500/A600 one too!

As for the ROM image idea, I don't think there's any reason that wouldn't work, if you can have a big enough rom/ram on it then you could have most of the usual ROM/WB stuff in there. SNES roms ranged of 256k to ~4MiB
AJCopland is offline  
Old 04 August 2019, 18:54   #29
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 335
@kipper2k - http://lallafa.de/blog/amiga-projects/romdisk/
Romanujan is offline  
Old 04 August 2019, 19:07   #30
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanujan View Post

ooooooh!, that looks very interesting. hopefully we can do some good things with this . it would make for some good demo shows at the very least.

p.s. I have designed a little board so the A2k CPU and Romulator sits in the Copro board, much like my Vampire copro board that i originally designed. It will make life a little easier for people to update/swap etc and wont interfere with agnus megachip installations etc

Last edited by kipper2k; 04 August 2019 at 19:24.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 08:53   #31
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 544
This looks absolutely fantastic, Kipper. Excellent work. Trying to figure out why anyone would NOT want one!!
LuMan is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 16:43   #32
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuMan View Post
This looks absolutely fantastic, Kipper. Excellent work. Trying to figure out why anyone would NOT want one!!
Thanks for the kind words, I will look at adding an expansion board for the A1000. I have also looked at the 32bit systems and i think it is possible to make 1 romulator to fit them all with a little trickery
kipper2k is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 17:30   #33
amigo-mexicano
Amiga's Power!

amigo-mexicano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 52
Kipper, you always amaze us with these releases. I want to try one on my A1000, will keep an eye on AOTL catalog!
amigo-mexicano is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 18:13   #34
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 584
You mention USB in the original post, will it be possible to load ROM files directly over USB? That would be very useful for AROS 68k development

Last edited by Marlon_; 06 August 2019 at 21:45.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 18:21   #35
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon_ View Post
You meantion USB in the original post, will it be possible to load ROM files directly over USB? That would be very useful for AROS 68k development
Hi Marlon.

When you turn your Amiga on you can jump into an "Update Romulator" mode by pressing a set of combo keys which will allow you to download a USB update file if available from your PC directly to the Flash on the Romulator.

When you boot normally into Amiga you simply plug in a USB cable from Romulator to the PC and you will be able to access the SD card on the Romulator allowing you to add/delete files etc

There is no need to remove the SD card from the romulator once you have the romulator installed. The easiest thing to do would be to just feed a USB cable to your PC, i am sure there is someone out there who can design a little USB plate for it
kipper2k is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 18:28   #36
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 584
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Hi Marlon.

When you turn your Amiga on you can jump into an "Update Romulator" mode by pressing a set of combo keys which will allow you to download a USB update file if available from your PC directly to the Flash on the Romulator.

When you boot normally into Amiga you simply plug in a USB cable from Romulator to the PC and you will be able to access the SD card on the Romulator allowing you to add/delete files etc

There is no need to remove the SD card from the romulator once you have the romulator installed. The easiest thing to do would be to just feed a USB cable to your PC, i am sure there is someone out there who can design a little USB plate for it
Nice! =) Would definitely want one for Amiga 1200
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 07 August 2019, 07:04   #37
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,354
This product is very nice in both the specs and the final design!
demoniac is offline  
Old 07 August 2019, 08:35   #38
ME-tan
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Waterlooville
Posts: 1
Another request here for A1200 version!
ME-tan is offline  
Old 07 August 2019, 08:35   #39
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 3,218
Would you consider adding a vertical slot to the top of the PCB to make it look even more like a penis?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 07 August 2019, 13:04   #40
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Would you consider adding a vertical slot to the top of the PCB to make it look even more like a penis?
lol, i did, but the Chinese manufacturer removed it. I was going to make the fat part round but that would have turned a few more heads. There are so many addons for the Amigas nowadays I was trying to keep it as small as possible. I was hoping to get away with one design for both the a500 and a600 but overhead space was an issue

edit; 1 thing i have noticed with the round machined pins on the headers is they are very fragile and when attempting to push them into a round pin header if the pins are not lined up perfectly then you can easily bend a pin.

For the A2000 i am going to use the older spring leaf type sockets for the Romulator as they allow for a bit of misalignment. I cannot find a spring leaf type 64 pin socket for the CPU so i will have to use the round pin type. (and same for the A1000)

Last edited by kipper2k; 07 August 2019 at 13:53.
kipper2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted : Amiga A500/A600/A1200 Power Connectors Zetr0 MarketPlace 2 21 April 2014 11:53
A1200, A600, A500+ and A500 maddoc666 MarketPlace 1 22 May 2011 09:11
Ian "tinkering with Amiga's since 1986" Stedman's A500/A600/A1200 ATX power adaptor Paul_s MarketPlace 0 05 October 2010 22:39
Amiga SVideo Adapters A500 / A600 / A1000 / A1200 / A4000 Zetr0 MarketPlace 194 12 December 2009 20:48
A500 Vs A600 MoonStone-500 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 02 June 2002 23:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08712 seconds with 13 queries