English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 July 2017, 17:56   #1
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
E-UAE on Mac OS X 10.2.8

Hello friends!

I hope you may be able to offer some help on this matter.

I am trying to get E-UAE to run on my Beige G3 Macintosh with a 800 mhz G4 upgrade card.

I downloaded the latest E-UAE for Mac OS X 10.2.8. I got it from here: http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/

However, when I click on the E-UAE icon nothing happens. I then came aware of SDL and how this is important for the E-UAE to run.

I thought the package from http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/ was ready-to-go and usable immediately, but I have a suspicion that parts of this download needs to be installed/build with "./configure; make; make install".

I opened up a terminal in Mac OS X and tried to do the ./configure command for the SDL folder containing the configure and makefile but it just returns with "Missing }."

I'm not sure, but I then figured it may be caused by a missing compiler. So I got the latest developer tools iso for OS X 10.2.8 with the ProjectBuilder (later called XCode).

This didn't do any difference.

I can't seem to understand what I need to do before this emulator will execute. Apparently I can't build anything from the shell.

Any advice would be terrific!
fjellebasse is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:02   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Isn't there a Cocoa version of E-UAE you can use? Also with your specs, you could run Tiger, have you considered that?
I remember running E-UAE and I did not to compile a thing neither did I have to download SDL as far as I remember. I don't have it setup in my iBook now but I will try to look back at some backups to see if I have any other version anywhere.

I did have to launch it from console or use the HiToro GUI.

(and yes you need GCC to be able to build)

[edit] I tried to download the binary file: http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/e-uae-...ppc_sdl.dmg.gz and I can't, the archive stops at 5MB and is corrupted. That is the archive you need, not the source, but if the download is corrupt, then no dice. I managed to download a version from here: http://www.emutopia.com/index.php/do...miga/499-e-uae . Gonna test it on my iBook and let you know.

Last edited by Akira; 19 July 2017 at 18:08.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:13   #3
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
Hi Akira!

Thank you so much for responding!

My Dear Beige G3 vomits when I try to install anything above 10.2.8 with XpostFacto. So it appears 10.2.8 is the final OS X I can manage to have up and running.

I've also asked this question to a person in a vintage group on Facebook and he ALSO said that as far as he remembered, he didn't have to compile anything. It just ran. So this is weird that nothing happens at all when I try to load it.

I haven't tried to load it via console though!

I'm gonna try to download the package from your link now and see what happens.
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:16   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Are you sure it is supposed to run with 10.2.X?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:19   #5
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
It says this on http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/

Mac OS X/PowerPC binary, built for OS 10.2+ against libSDL framework. No config GUI. (X server not required.)
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:25   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
OK I downloaded the DMG I mentioned above and I also downloaded the Hi Toro GUI from here: https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/25618/hi-toro

I used Hi-Toro to configure E-UAE and it all worked fine. Make sure to provide it the path to your Kickstart ROM image at the very least.

When you double-click e-uae, look at your Dock. Does the icon show up there at all? Does it briefly show only to disappear right away?
Maybe it isn't running because it's missing the default .uaerc config file that should be created on your home folder. Hi-Toro will create this for you so I recommend you downloading it.

I am running Tiger, so I cannot help you with your exact config, but the above mentioned archives I linked to work, at least.

[edit] some people seem to have been able to run Tiger on a Beige G3: http://lowendmac.com/macdan/md07/1207.html
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:31   #7
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
I got the EUAE to execute now! Apparently the original gunzipped file was corrupt.

However, the next issue is that Hi-Toro.dmg won't mount. I fear that Hi-toro is not compatible with OS X 10.2.8.
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:44   #8
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
I think I may have to do the config file manually.

Damn...
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:00   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Hold on, let me give you a hand. Here's my .uaerc I just made with Hi Toro,.
Modify it with a text editor, to start, change all the "/Users/akira/Desktop/uae/" to your own path.

I configured a kickstart path , a floppy path and a virtual hard disk folder path. Change those to your needs. It should be pretty easy/understandable, but if not, ask again!
Attached Files
File Type: zip default.zip (1.1 KB, 15 views)
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:02   #10
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
Wow, great, thanks! I'll take a look now.
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:49   #11
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
It exits with an error.

This is the edited config:

config_image=
config_description=
config_info=
unix.rom_path=/Users/perfjelstad/Desktop/uae/Roms/
unix.floppy_path=/Users/perfjelstad/Desktop/uae/Games/
unix.hardfile_path=
kickstart_rom_file=/Users/perfjelstad/Desktop/uae/Roms/kick13.rom
kickstart_key_file=
kickstart_ext_rom_file=
cart_file=
kickshifter=false
chipmem_size=2
fastmem_size=0
bogomem_size=2
z3mem_size=0
gfxcard_size=0
log_illegal_mem=false
cpu_type=68000
cpu_24bit_addressing=false
cpu_compatible=false
cpu_cycle_exact=false
cpu_speed=real
cachesize=0
comp_nf=false
compforcesettings=false
comp_trustbyte=indirect
comp_trustword=indirect
comp_trustlong=indirect
chipset=ecs_agnus
ntsc=false
immediate_blits=false
x86.use_tsc=true
collision_level=playfields
gfx_width=640
gfx_height=480
gfx_width_fullscreen=640
gfx_height_fullscreen=480
gfx_width_windowed=640
gfx_height_windowed=480
gfx_linemode=double
gfx_center_horizontal=none
gfx_center_vertical=none
gfx_fullscreen_amiga=false
gfx_fullscreen_picasso=false
gfx_lores=false
show_leds=true
gfx_correct_aspect=true
sdl.use_gl=false
gfx_vsync=false
gfx_framerate=1
sound_output=normal
sound_channels=mono
sound_interpol=none
sound_bits=16
sound_frequency=22050
sound_latency=100
sound_max_buff=4400
floppy0type=0
floppy1type=-1
floppy2type=-1
floppy3type=-1
floppy0=/Users/perfjelstad/Desktop/uae/WB31/Wbench13.adf
floppy1=
floppy2=
floppy3=
floppy_speed=100
filesystem2=rw,DH0:Untitled:/Users/perfjelstad/Desktop/uae/amiga,-10
kbd_lang=us
joyport0=mouse
joyport1=kbd1
input.config=0
input.1.keyboard.0.button.17=JOY1_UP
input.1.keyboard.0.button.11=JOY1_DOWN
input.1.keyboard.0.button.3=JOY1_LEFT
input.1.keyboard.0.button.4=JOY1_RIGHT
input.1.keyboard.0.button.58=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON
input.1.keyboard.0.button.126=JOY2_UP
input.1.keyboard.0.button.125=JOY2_DOWN
input.1.keyboard.0.button.123=JOY2_LEFT
input.1.keyboard.0.button.124=JOY2_RIGHT
input.1.keyboard.0.button.62=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON
input.2.keyboard.0.button.17=JOY1_UP
input.2.keyboard.0.button.11=JOY1_DOWN
input.2.keyboard.0.button.3=JOY1_LEFT
input.2.keyboard.0.button.4=JOY1_RIGHT
input.2.keyboard.0.button.58=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON
input.2.keyboard.0.button.126=JOY2_UP
input.2.keyboard.0.button.125=JOY2_DOWN
input.2.keyboard.0.button.123=JOY2_LEFT
input.2.keyboard.0.button.124=JOY2_RIGHT
input.2.keyboard.0.button.62=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON
input.3.keyboard.0.button.17=JOY1_UP
input.3.keyboard.0.button.11=JOY1_DOWN
input.3.keyboard.0.button.3=JOY1_LEFT
input.3.keyboard.0.button.4=JOY1_RIGHT
input.3.keyboard.0.button.58=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON
input.3.keyboard.0.button.126=JOY2_UP
input.3.keyboard.0.button.125=JOY2_DOWN
input.3.keyboard.0.button.123=JOY2_LEFT
input.3.keyboard.0.button.124=JOY2_RIGHT
input.3.keyboard.0.button.62=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON
input.4.keyboard.0.button.17=JOY1_UP
input.4.keyboard.0.button.11=JOY1_DOWN
input.4.keyboard.0.button.3=JOY1_LEFT
input.4.keyboard.0.button.4=JOY1_RIGHT
input.4.keyboard.0.button.58=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON
input.4.keyboard.0.button.126=JOY2_UP
input.4.keyboard.0.button.125=JOY2_DOWN
input.4.keyboard.0.button.123=JOY2_LEFT
input.4.keyboard.0.button.124=JOY2_RIGHT
input.4.keyboard.0.button.62=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON
sdl.map_raw_keys=false
scsi=false
scsi_device=
bsdsocket_emu=false
serial_on_demand=false
parallel_on_demand=false


Am I missing anything? i'm not totally sure about the filesystem part.
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:51   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Yes, maybe. Do you have your files in Desktop/uae like me or did you just keep that from my config?
You have to point to the folders where you have your stuff.

Otherwise, as I said, it might just not run, despite what the dev said. He might have compiled it against 10.2, but he might not have had a 10.2 setup to thoroughly test with.

If you open E-UAE on its own it will ask you to load a config, does it do that and then you chose this config?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:56   #13
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
I have the following paths:

/Users/perfjelstad/Desktop/uae/

Within that, theres the following:

amiga (folder with uae config files)
ChangeLog (file)
COPYING (file)
docs (folder)
E-UAE (executable)
README (file)
README-SDL (file)
Roms (folder with roms)
Games (folder with adf games)
WB31 (folder with extras31.adf, fonts31.adf, install31.adf, locale31.adf, storage31.adf, wbench31.adf)
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:59   #14
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
Yes, it asks for the config if it's not in the EUAE folder. If, however, it is in that folder /Users/perfjelstad/Desktop/uae/ then it doesn't ask for it.
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 20:10   #15
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
I See.
Well, it worked for me, so I am afraid to say something is up with your config.
Unfortunately I don;t have a G3 Mac or 10.2 to test with anymore :/

Does it log anywhere in its home folder? A logfile would be good to look at.

Otherwise launch it from console, it will show output there.

Have you tried anything of what is in the link I posted before about getting onto 10.3? Panther is a million times better than Jaguar, I know because my old iBook G3 came with Jaguar and I was really happy to change

Last edited by Akira; 19 July 2017 at 20:16.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 20:13   #16
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
I really would love to install it, but I had a terrible time trying to do so. There is a glitch in the ROM, I think. I remember trying to install it more than 20 times, but nothing succeeded. Strange boot errors happened. :-(

Oh well, I just wanted to play some amiga games on a vintage machine until I get my A1200 :-P
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 20:17   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Is it the glitch with IDE/ATA? It is described in the link I sent, it has a way to circumvent it it seems. Again, I have not tried this, but maybe worth a try. Jaguar is TERRIBLE.

Anyway, launch it from console and see what it spits out.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 20:17   #18
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
Is the filesystem part supposed to be named "Untitled"?
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 20:28   #19
fjellebasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
When trying to launch under console, I have to type "su perfjelstad ./E-UAE.app" and it just returns with nothing.

I guess it's a dead thing. Dunno if SDL somehow needs to be integrated to give an output.

- And yes, Jaguar sucks balls! lol!
fjellebasse is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 20:46   #20
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
I don't have SDL in my system. I just downloaded what is above, unpacked to a folder and executed it.

That's not how you run it from a terminal, E-UAE.app is a package, not an app per se.

You have to cd E-UAE.app/Contents/MacOs and then do ./uae (no need to su or sudo or anything)

You specify the config file as an argument.
So in my case it would look like:

Code:
~akira/Desktop/uae/E-UAE.app/Contents/MacOs/> ./uae default.uaerc
It will spit out a lot of stuff, see where it fails.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to FS-UAE on Mac OS Mavericks WeiXing3D support.FS-UAE 3 24 March 2015 05:55
Mac Mavericks E-UAE ? Washac support.OtherUAE 2 09 October 2014 15:19
Compiling P-UAE on Mac OS X MagerValp support.OtherUAE 253 27 December 2013 00:26
E-UAE for Mac VerizonLover support.OtherUAE 1 20 August 2012 08:18
FS-UAE For Mac webneta support.FS-UAE 10 12 May 2012 17:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25260 seconds with 13 queries