English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2002, 17:02   #61
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,620
did you say you have 1.02? I have 1.01 and wandered what improvements/bug fixes there are?
BippyM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 September 2002, 09:56   #62
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Nope, I tought I did... but infact 1.01 is the latest one.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 02:10   #63
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,620
I have been playing and have just about got the hang of it

What would be a really cool feature was if you could change the ripped sprites and put them back in

obviously offsets, sizes, pallettes etc need to be known/remain the same, but it would be a really, really cool feature

edit:

oh and a ZOOM function, it gets hard aligning a 32x32 image on a 1024x768 desktop
BippyM is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 10:40   #64
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Well, I can't promise anything since the program was a REALLY fast hack, put together in about 3 hours (yes) - for the sole purpose of getting correct sprites out of some games for remakes. It has evolved a bit from there - when I gave it to some other people to do the same and those games had some other way of ripping sprites. It basically does what I want it to... the zoom function and putting sprites back in will prolly never make it to the program, since it would be WAY too much work - to do that the whole program would need changing.

I will probably release the source code when I get back to work (I am still sick - no sources here) - so if anyone wants to see how it works and wants to work on it they can. But I think it does everything I ever wanted from a sprite/tiles ripper...
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 12:29   #65
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,620
How do these things work?

I might attempt an Amiga version as it would be better as it's use proper bitplanes etc..
BippyM is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 14:10   #66
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Hmm, what do you mean by "how these things work" ?

The code is pure c ... only a few things like the dialogs for file requestor and the save requestor are used from one of the allegro gui libraries. It is basically straight-forward stuff, to draw things on the screen it used put_pixel(bitmap, x, y)...
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 15:31   #67
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,620
What I mean is, how do you decide what to draw? each pixel is obviously 1 byte, well a byte can be from 0-255 (-127-128) etc.. do you just plonk it down and allow the colour to change when increasing the depth?

Also how do you get the pallette info? what do you look for?
BippyM is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 16:35   #68
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Well, the thing is... one pixel is not one byte... well atleast not on the amiga. It is on the PC in chunky 256 colour mode. On the amiga each pixel is gathered from several bitplanes, each bitplane contributes one bit for each pixel. If there are 4 bitplanes then first pixel has 4 bits and is made from bit 7 of each of the bitplanes, and so on.... this is called "planar" mode and it is not in use on modern graphics cards, because of low speed needed to write one pixel on to the bitmap (this is what 3d games made). The planar modes are much better to manipulate for scrolling, blitter and such things, which are basically redundant for todays games.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 20 October 2002, 22:51   #69
dbar
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

I try to scan Superfrog graphics... It's really hard.
I see some graphic in 320*200 (2 colors) but after I cannot combine them to obtain color.
 
Old 21 October 2002, 00:50   #70
Captain HIT
 
Posts: n/a
Still no one who could rip Turrican 2 gfx tiles?
Or could someone port that to Amiga please?
tomcat666 sent me sources, but i was unable to do anything.
I don't have any knowledge about coding aswell :P
 
Old 31 January 2005, 01:03   #71
Raislin77it
Zone Friend
Raislin77it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: italy
Age: 40
Posts: 219
anyone can put the gfx ripper again in the zone ? i've missed it )
please
Raislin77it is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 01:20   #72
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
There are SO many sites out there with ripped graphics from ALL systems, except the amiga. One of the reasons for this is that most nes, snes etc emulators has built in sprite rippers, like removing different layers making only the player appear on screen, all, except WinUAE. If winuae had a built in layer controller, we could rip sprites with ease.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 02:19   #73
Raislin77it
Zone Friend
Raislin77it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: italy
Age: 40
Posts: 219
yes, it's true, but tomcat 666 have realized a bmp rip tool for the winuae save state ^_^ and it work 1 year ago
but in the zone i can't find it, so if anyone has it can share it ?

(sorry for my poor english)
Raislin77it is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 02:20   #74
Raislin77it
Zone Friend
Raislin77it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: italy
Age: 40
Posts: 219
check this tread :P http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...=sprite+ripper
Raislin77it is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 02:57   #75
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
There are SO many sites out there with ripped graphics from ALL systems, except the amiga. One of the reasons for this is that most nes, snes etc emulators has built in sprite rippers, like removing different layers making only the player appear on screen, all, except WinUAE. If winuae had a built in layer controller, we could rip sprites with ease.
Do you realize not all machines work the same way? It's easier in the SNES and Megadrive but the Amiga doesn't work with "layers" or something like that. Probably it's similar to the NeoGeo.
Akira is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 04:15   #76
Raislin77it
Zone Friend
Raislin77it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: italy
Age: 40
Posts: 219
yes akira , the amiga hardware is much more complicated and the programmer is free to use all the chip memory for the gfx , this is why i search the tool of tomcat666 ^_^
Raislin77it is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 04:16   #77
Raislin77it
Zone Friend
Raislin77it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: italy
Age: 40
Posts: 219
but the tomcat666's post was old so anyone have the tool ?
Raislin77it is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 04:23   #78
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,620
It's in the Zone
BippyM is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 09:19   #79
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
The Graphics ripper is always online now since it has its own home:

http://retrospec.sgn.net/

Click on Utilities and then Graphics ripper

Tomaz
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 09:35   #80
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira
Do you realize not all machines work the same way? It's easier in the SNES and Megadrive but the Amiga doesn't work with "layers" or something like that. Probably it's similar to the NeoGeo.
Yes, I did realize that.. just not fair
Ironclaw is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another A500+ restoration project kipper2k Hardware pics 12 21 January 2014 07:31
My Amiga 1200 restoration project radiokida Member Introductions 1 29 April 2013 16:17
A1200 Restoration & Hot Rod Project- Completed TheCorfiot Hardware pics 17 17 September 2008 14:19
Mousepointer restoration and varying audio pitch at savestate restoration NoX1911 support.WinUAE 0 22 January 2007 21:19
I need 4 sprites for a new project I am working on. foody project.Amiga Game Factory 4 11 January 2006 19:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28748 seconds with 13 queries