English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2010, 11:31   #1
Conundrum
 
Posts: n/a
[REQ]Gauntlet II Sprites

Hello everyone. Long time reader, first time poster.

I was wondering if someone would be generous enough to rip Gauntlet II's sprites and tilesets. I was thinking of creating a nice remake using the amiga sprites, which are by far the best. I've searched all over the web, but I was unable to find other than the ugly NES version sprites which are obviously a lot less detailed.

Thanks in advance.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 February 2010, 00:24   #2
gifgit
Retarded and dribbling
gifgit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Immingham
Age: 43
Posts: 429
Please post an uncompressed save state and I`ll have a look
gifgit is offline  
Old 20 February 2010, 14:40   #3
Marlon
Registered User
Marlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England, York
Age: 48
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conundrum View Post
...I was thinking of creating a nice remake using the amiga sprites, which are by far the best...
Check out Gauntlet IV on the Megadrive. Pretty much arcade perfect. The game's aces too.
Marlon is offline  
Old 20 February 2010, 15:05   #4
Conundrum
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by gifgit
Please post an uncompressed save state and I`ll have a look
Is this good? I followed the instructions on the sticky thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon
Check out Gauntlet IV on the Megadrive. Pretty much arcade perfect. The game's aces too.
Played it before. A nice game, but I still prefer 2's sprites.
Attached Files
File Type: zip gauntletsave.zip (298.6 KB, 291 views)
 
Old 20 February 2010, 19:46   #5
gifgit
Retarded and dribbling
gifgit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Immingham
Age: 43
Posts: 429
@ conundrum

Thanks for the savestate , I`ll have a look and post soon.

Edit : Ripped this so far , not sure if there is any more
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gaunlet spr 1.png
Views:	2854
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	24338  

Last edited by gifgit; 20 February 2010 at 23:07.
gifgit is offline  
Old 21 February 2010, 13:34   #6
Conundrum
 
Posts: n/a
Oy! It looks great! Thanks for the help so far. But I think there are some more tile patterns that aren't there.

Also, is that a hidden Ferrari symbol on the last row?
 
Old 21 February 2010, 13:45   #7
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,477
might a single saves-state not only contain the tiles for the level currently loaded?

chaces are that the tiles are loaded / uncompressed etc when needed, so you'll either need a savestate for every level, or you'll need to locate the source data in the disk image.


just a thought!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 21 February 2010, 13:49   #8
Conundrum
 
Posts: n/a
Perhaps. I'll get a few more save states. Problem is the game randomizes levels upon the completion of the 1st six, so getting a few more exquisite tile schemes will be a more complicated than expected.


*EDIT*

And here's the savestates. From lvl 2 to 15, including the bonus level. I'm aware that some of these are just recolours of similar tile patterns, so feel free to sort that out or not according to your will. Will get more levels later.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=V0E4ZMB8

Had to put 'em on megaupload, if you don't mind. File is too big.

Last edited by Conundrum; 21 February 2010 at 14:34.
 
Old 21 February 2010, 17:26   #9
gifgit
Retarded and dribbling
gifgit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Immingham
Age: 43
Posts: 429
Thanx conundrum , I`ll see what I can rip from these, it may take some time lol
gifgit is offline  
Old 21 February 2010, 17:29   #10
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conundrum View Post
Had to put 'em on megaupload, if you don't mind. File is too big.
too big for The Zone?

http://eab.abime.net/zone.php?

http://eab.abime.net/faq.php?faq=vb_...ezone_faq_item
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 22 November 2015, 22:22   #11
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
The Gauntlet II Amiga sprites and backgrounds use no more than 16 colours, it is a DIRECT ST port with only 16 colours used and shrunken sprites compared to Megadrive/Arcade of the mid 80s. Don't waste your time using such source graphics unless you are thinking of making an Atari ST game! It's about as dumb as the Gauntlet 1 conversion that needs 400% the processing power of the Atari ST original it was converted from

Gauntlet IV from Megadrive was something I worked on for ages before a HDD crash about 6 months ago but comfortably got them down to the Amiga 32 colour limit with all enemies, collectibles and player sprites as well as the original backgrounds of course. It looked great anyway but all gone now and anyway I am not a 68000 coder and not sure if C could handle the game at 50FPS....maybe 25/30FPS is achievable with C compiled code with good quality libraries.

An arcade quality Amiga port for HD based systems and 1mb chipram is very possible though IMO and anything less than this target really is a waste of everyone's effort. Sorry if this offends, but Amiga NEEDS a technically excellent conversion of my favourite games because it should be possible.
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
Old 16 October 2016, 01:18   #12
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 389
32 colours, static info panel at side, 232x240 visible playfield with (at least) 15*15(=225) possible 24x24 bobs that needs cookie-cuts.

That will not refresh every frame. This is the bad news.

However, you don't have to refresh it all - you can scroll the screen and move the player every frame if you construct the data structures right (like I think Alien Breed did) - This is the good news.

You can optimize further by making a rule that a monster wont move until the whole square it wants to go into is clear, but that might be a bit different from the arcade (though I like that optimization a whole lot as a programmer).

I have been toying with how to best do it for AGA, but can't find any fire-sure winning ways for 50fps. Using loads of copper-fu to get 6 hw sprites free, dual-playfield to cut(!) down on cookie-cuts etc, but I'm still uncertain how far that can take you.
Perhaps I should just listen to my own advice and hope it looks and feels good enough...
NorthWay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[REQ] Turrican 2 sprites pidarr project.Sprites 2 18 October 2013 19:10
Gauntlet II & Gauntlet III .adf version Sasquatch request.Old Rare Games 4 26 April 2010 10:55
Gauntlet III DamienD support.Games 6 26 October 2005 12:17
Gauntlet macce2 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 15 June 2005 13:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33982 seconds with 13 queries