English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad > project.Killergorilla's WHD packs

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2007, 07:35   #1
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
ERROR: Theme Park AGA (Slow Downs)

Some timing bug must be in Theme park AGA, asi it slows down after few minutes (to unplayable speed).
Ive tried those fancy tooltypes like NOCACHE etc but i didnt solve anything

Normal (non whd) version works great if i boot machine without startup-sequence

tested on "classic" 1230/50, 32 MB, WB 3.1
Chain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 May 2007, 11:01   #2
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,167
if i remember correctly it happened also on the real thing (A1200) but i think it was a memory problem (too little for all the stuff on screen) other than that i don't know, it's years since i've tested it either on amiga on winuae
Marcuz is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 11:47   #3
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post

Theme Park AGA - To check
Can somebody from testers confirm it, pretty please
Chain is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 12:03   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain View Post
Can somebody from testers confirm it, pretty please
What do you mean? The slow scrolling in the park area? Is it better in pure DOS mode, thought it would be normal.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 07 November 2007 at 12:15.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 November 2007, 12:41   #5
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
What do you mean? The slow scrolling in the park area? Is it better in pure DOS mode, thought it would be normal.
it slows down completely, not only scrolling, but also people and attraction moving, opening menus etc, ive tried it on A4000/060 and its almost same, so there must be some timing bug
Chain is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 12:50   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
I built a park with a lot of attractions. It's a slow game in generel, didn't noticed any special slowdowns, except the scrolling. Maybe i should try the DOS installed version too.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 November 2007, 12:56   #7
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
in my case it slows down just with five attractions, but it happened after few minutes, and its always after differrent time (just dont get it)

will be my savegame helpfull? (i thing there is some bug in saving/loading game too, but dont remember what it was now)
Chain is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 13:19   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain View Post
will be my savegame helpfull? (i thing there is some bug in saving/loading game too, but dont remember what it was now)
I could try your savegame, Chain.

btw: The DOS installed game crashed my miggy with a guru after a few minutes, because the original installer copied only 62 instead of 66 data files.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 07 November 2007 at 13:27.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 November 2007, 16:56   #9
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
saves in the zone...

try to load save 7, let it be few minutes (tea) then go to menu, select restart and load ie. save 5. its unplayable, you mus wait just for menu pulldown about 5 seconds!!

and now, try to run it without startup sequence directly form data directory (no need to have two installs on drive. and yes, installer is crap)

im also wondering if its possible to overwrite save position, i mean re-use. im already at 7 and just two more saves left!!!
Chain is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 17:00   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
Will try it, Chain.

btw: You want a really crappy Amiga DOS installer, try any Sierra game!!!
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 November 2007, 17:23   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
You're right, this saves are really slow. Not unplayable slow, but it's annoying anyway. Have you told jotd about it?
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 November 2007, 17:29   #12
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
until now i thought it something with my amiga, but if you can see it too, we can report it (and my engrish really sucks).
Can you have an idea for better description than "it slows down after some time" ?
Chain is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 17:33   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain View Post
Can you have an idea for better description than "it slows down after some time" ?
Not really. Are you really sure it doesn't happen in the DOS installed version?

btw: If you wait a bit after reloading a save you gain some speed, at least on my machine.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 07 November 2007 at 17:40.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 November 2007, 17:52   #14
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Are you really sure it doesn't happen in the DOS installed version?
yes im sure, ive played it whole time without whdload and it still runs well after couple of hours. otherwise i will be unable to build that large park
Chain is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 17:57   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
I have no amiga programmer skills, but jotd wrote this:

Quote:
version 1.0 (2002) done by JOTD:
- initial release
- fixed to work with caches & fast memory (self modifying code removed)
It's a bit strange that the game act like this, heh?
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 November 2007, 18:08   #16
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
ive read it too
maybe there was another piece self modifying code left, dunno.

what a nice dialogue we have here, hope KG will not be mad, as i really want to solve this problem (for many years...)
Chain is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 18:13   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain View Post
ive read it too
maybe there was another piece self modifying code left, dunno.

what a nice dialogue we have here, hope KG will not be mad, as i really want to solve this problem (for many years...)
No worries, Chain. KG will probably move our discussion to this thread:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=31499
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 November 2007, 19:35   #18
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Of course I don't mind

I'll move it some time soon

EDIT: MOVED!

Last edited by killergorilla; 12 December 2007 at 11:50.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 20:55   #19
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
hope we will summarize it for jotd before it fall to ash again...


EDIT:
reported to JOTD, so our babbling can be moved...

Last edited by Chain; 08 November 2007 at 08:57.
Chain is offline  
Old 14 December 2007, 12:01   #20
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
You've solved it Chain? Just tried it and it's as sluggish as I remember the ECS version on my A600. Get's probably even more with new stuff, so I'd call that normal.
Tried to select the "slow" game speed?
All of the people are going slower now, but much smoother. Tho the scrolling_slowdown still sucks...
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
theme park and theme hospital did i imagine this title on cd32 sian request.Other 1 07 June 2013 01:43
Theme Park AGA crashing edd_jedi project.WHDLoad 11 24 May 2013 12:04
Theme Park AGA in WHDLoad edd_jedi support.Games 17 16 April 2010 21:00
Theme Park AGA scrappysphinx request.Old Rare Games 6 11 March 2009 16:59
Theme Park AGA JACK98 support.Games 2 08 December 2008 16:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21340 seconds with 12 queries