English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad > project.Killergorilla's WHD packs

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 May 2008, 18:25   #1
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,275
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Déjà Vu: A Nightmare Comes True

As I keep all my WHDLoad packs in the same folder, I'm not 100% this came from KillerGorilla's packs. I'm referring to file DejaVuANightmareComesTrue_v1.0_1832.zip

This is not technically a problem with the file, as it works fine in WinUAE (where I have installed an exact clone of my Amiga). For some reason though, when I try to run the file in my real Amiga I get the following message:

Exception "Illegal Instruction" ($10) at $1C8B6 (Task 'Initial CLI') occured.

Does anyone know what this error message means and how I get around it?
alkis21 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 May 2008, 18:37   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,626
I have no clue why you got this error, but i can confirm that KG's pack version works flawless here. Do you have a 040/060 CPU?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 21:35   #3
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,275
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Nope, standard 68020 with 10MB RAM.
alkis21 is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 21:37   #4
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,905
Have you tried the usual tooltypes such as Nocache and the like?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 21:41   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,626
Have you tried to unpack KG's zip directly on your Amiga?

Edit: Or maybe troubles with your memory expansion? Which one is it? Do you a PCMCIA adapater with CF card in use?

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 23 May 2008 at 21:50.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 23:34   #6
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,275
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
I unzipped the file in my Amiga. I've tried Nocache, disabling preloading, I don't have a PCMCIA adaptor, I have a SUBWAY which I disabled before running.
alkis21 is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 23:50   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,626
Could you try the NoMemReverse option? I had a lot of troubles with my M-Tec 1230/8MB. But NMR fixes them all.

Open the whdload.prefs in s: and remove the ";" at NoMemReverse.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 24 May 2008 at 00:11.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 24 May 2008, 17:33   #8
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,275
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Still no luck boys.
alkis21 is offline  
Old 24 May 2008, 17:58   #9
ungi
Amiga Games Historian
ungi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vienna
Age: 45
Posts: 301
Have you sent a bug report to Psygore, the author of the whdload fix (www.whdload.de)?

Also: Does the whdload fix of Shadowgate work on your system?
ungi is offline  
Old 24 May 2008, 18:05   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,626
Remove the memory expansion, is it working then?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 24 May 2008, 18:36   #11
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,905
Are you using the most up-to-date version of WHDLoad? I ask this as I noticed someone else solved a problem they had by downloading the newest version.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 00:37   #12
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,275
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Thank you for the continuing attempts to help, guys.

1) I'm using the latest (registered) WHDLoad version.

2) Without the extra RAM, it says it needs the extra RAM.

3) Shadowgate works fine.

I don't know if I should bother the author, after all the game works under WinUAE so there is nothing wrong with the files. I'm guessing this mystery will remain unresolved.
alkis21 is offline  
Old 02 September 2012, 18:49   #13
jonathan
Pastafarian

 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Uppsala/Sweden
Posts: 240
Quote:
I'm guessing this mystery will remain unresolved.
Thread of the dead, rises again from the mists of time!!

Just if someone else gets the same problem:

I got precise the same error when trying Deja Vu from KillerGorillas pack on both my 030 and 060 based A1200. Contacted Psygore, but it worked fine for him (Sorry for the extra work Psygore)
Luckily i had a broken original disk of the game with some files readable, and compared files with that. My install was missing the file named "resources" from the root folder, and so, when copying this over, the game ran fine.

Heres my theory:
I guess something went wrong down the line when unpacking killergorillas archive on a different os than Amiga. I did before i moved them the first time. The DejaVu folder has filecharacters/encoding that makes it strange to unpack on other os (The exec shows as "D?j? Vu" in my Ubuntu install for example, and it tells me the folder is corrupted). Works fine on my Amiga though.
It should be unpacked on an amiga i think, otherwise there maybe some issues this.. that would explain why it worked fine in winuae - if you unpacked it from in WinUae, but outside of it when you moved the folder to Amiga. Or maybe it's even different versions of zip unpackers that handles the characters differently, not really an os-issue then. I dunno.

Well, it's an theory at least. And the installer initself works fine anyhow, when it has the right files. Oh, and I guess you have beaten it by now

Last edited by jonathan; 02 September 2012 at 18:59.
jonathan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deja Vu Licenceware catalogue / advert amigapd request.Other 0 26 February 2012 19:37
deja vu licenceware disk images amigapd request.Old Rare Games 1 25 February 2012 18:25
Deja Vu Reynolds Nostalgia & memories 2 13 February 2010 12:21
Deja Vu2 dlfrsilver project.SPS (was CAPS) 0 25 June 2005 02:10
nightmare empra support.Games 0 07 July 2002 19:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30000 seconds with 14 queries