English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 August 2017, 23:23   #1
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,481
Toshiba-made gary chip wanted

I'm wanting to obtain a Gary chip made by Toshiba. Later ones were made by Commodore, and it was recommended that the older Toshiba ones be replaced since they had some issues.

The Toshiba chips have text like this:
Code:
  CBM 5719
TC17G008AP-0025
JAPAN     8649A
That example text taken from a pic uploaded by platatomi in this thread. Basically if it says TC17... and JAPAN on it's a Toshiba chip.
mark_k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 August 2017, 11:48   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,225
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
I might have some for you, I'll check my rev3 stash.
Jope is offline  
Old 08 September 2017, 18:04   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,225
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Yeah, I have multiple. Do you still need some?

Sorry it took so long, I forgot to check.
Jope is offline  
Old 10 September 2017, 14:33   #4
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,481
Thanks. I was hoping to get one to send to Toni (assuming he's interested) so he can do some timing tests on it.
mark_k is offline  
Old 11 September 2017, 06:14   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,225
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Ok, I'll get in touch with him. My motherboards have the toshiba gary kludge in them, so I'll just give him a working mobo..
Jope is offline  
Old 11 September 2017, 13:39   #6
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,481
What's the Toshiba Gary kludge? I was aware that when replacing a Toshiba one with a MOS/CSG one you need to change the values of some pullup resistors, but that's all.

Edit: This Amibay thread has some info. The kludge seems to restore full-speed access to ROM space. But it probably won't affect access to Zorro II I/O space which can also be slower with the Toshiba Gary.

Last edited by mark_k; 11 September 2017 at 14:21.
mark_k is offline  
Old 12 September 2017, 12:51   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,225
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...l=1#post695955

Yeah, this kludge. :-)
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Gary mark_k support.WinUAE 2 15 August 2017 18:42
Games you always wanted to see made into a movie. Marchie Retrogaming General Discussion 29 28 February 2017 23:49
Amiga 500 without Gary chip - will it work (ish)? stragulus support.Hardware 5 20 November 2015 23:25
Can A500 use any Gary chip Starglider 2 support.Hardware 8 11 October 2015 16:07
help with A500, gary chip boson Hardware pics 9 10 March 2011 22:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14105 seconds with 14 queries