English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 September 2016, 04:46   #1
Panthros
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: US
Posts: 8
UAE4all2 / UAE4arm Comparison on Bare Raspbian...

With all of the talk of a minimalist Linux distro on a Raspberry Pi 3 with an Amiga emulator, I wondered what the key differences are with the two Amiga emulators available to us. If people know of another, let me know. I plan to download and compile this weekend when I have more time but I thought some people might have already started to investigate this. I also included the link if you want a minimalist Raspbian and wanted to create your own.

https://github.com/Chips-fr/uae4arm-rpi

https://github.com/lubomyr/uae4all2

https://sourceforge.net/projects/ras...Raspbian-lite/
Panthros is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 September 2016, 12:37   #2
Chips
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Rennes / France
Posts: 33
https://github.com/lubomyr/uae4all2 => Android only

https://github.com/Chips-fr/uae4arm-rpi => Arm linux only. With specific setting for Rpi1 and rpi2 (and 3)
Chips is offline  
Old 22 September 2016, 18:48   #3
Panthros
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: US
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chips View Post
https://github.com/lubomyr/uae4all2 => Android only

https://github.com/Chips-fr/uae4arm-rpi => Arm linux only. With specific setting for Rpi1 and rpi2 (and 3)
Sorry, you are wrong which is why I made my post.

https://github.com/retropie/retropie-setup/wiki/Amiga

Both are working on Raspberry Pi now.
Panthros is offline  
Old 18 October 2016, 13:23   #4
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Both are available on RPi for a while now, but with some big differences in emulaiton.

Basic emulation on UAE4ALL2 works, but not that great. It does not support JIT or more than one HD/Directory and it has some limited options.

UAE4ARM is more similar to WinUAE, it supports multiple HD (HDF still limited to size bellow 1GB), has JIT and has more emulation options, but still not near as WinUAE.

I had good experience with UAE4ARM on RPi, and it runs ClassicWB + WHDLOad very well.
Anubis is offline  
Old 19 November 2016, 06:45   #5
gururise
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Thanks! Very interesting. Would love to see some benchmarks.
gururise is offline  
Old 24 February 2017, 14:53   #6
Genlock
BAA - Born Again Amigan

Genlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 78
I have to agree with Anubis.

I have tried both of these Emulators over the past 12 months, as iam sure many Amiga users have and in my view the most reliable between the two is the UAE4ARM branch.

I only wish this this sort of thing could be being done
https://www.raspberrypi.org/resources/learn/
by my Grand kids on the Amiga!.

I dont know? would it be possible for the hardware to be used from the Amiga software side to do
these projects and output through the Pi Hardware ..

https://www.raspberrypi.org/?s=HAT this seems to be what i would hope the Amiga could be doing but
is it just a dream ?

I hope these guys at raspberrypi.org carry on with this hardware , just imagine what the next version
could do .
Genlock is offline  
Old 24 February 2017, 16:27   #7
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,521
We need hdf size over 1gb. Maybe one day.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 11:12   #8
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 314
Working with UAE4ARM V0.5.
I need to know how to quit the Emulator with a Controller Button (XBOX-Controller und Recalbox).
Currently i am only able to QUIT it by using a Keyboard -> pressing F12 and select QUIT on the ConfigGUI.
I need some sort of "press Button blabla" = QUIT (not GUI)

Is this possible? I didnt find any hint for something like this in the docs.

Thanks
BR
Ratte
Ratte is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 16:08   #9
Genlock
BAA - Born Again Amigan

Genlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
Working with UAE4ARM V0.5.
I need to know how to quit the Emulator with a Controller Button (XBOX-Controller und Recalbox).
Currently i am only able to QUIT it by using a Keyboard -> pressing F12 and select QUIT on the ConfigGUI.
I need some sort of "press Button blabla" = QUIT (not GUI)

Is this possible? I didnt find any hint for something like this in the docs.

Thanks
BR
Ratte
Hi Ratte,

These guys are working on the same problem, maybe you can pick something up from them
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/v...0488&start=525
Genlock is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RaspberryPI uae4arm Chips support.OtherUAE 91 24 December 2016 11:17
PocketCHIP and UAE4ARM ali-b support.OtherUAE 0 12 August 2016 10:22
UAE4ARM, actually for ARM? Enverex support.OtherUAE 3 08 June 2016 11:58
im still tinkering so bare with me .... virtualnut project.ClassicWB 1 06 May 2014 21:03
WTB Amiga A1200 (Bare) Mike UK MarketPlace 12 07 February 2007 15:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21090 seconds with 14 queries