English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2007, 21:14   #1
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
WIP: Stormlord

Ok, i'm trying to rip Stormlord, i can stuff in there, but no luck at getting the right sizes... at any rate it seems at least the player sprite doesn't conform to the usual sizes of 32x16, 32x48, and so on... i managed to spot the main player sprite in ST. Still not fully convinced of the modes to go for.

Anyone knows if Stormlord happened to be coded in ST then converted? Maybe then we'd get a hint... The tiles are there too, but even less luck at extracting those....

Uncrompressed save state follows attached:
Attached Files
File Type: zip storm.zip (251.9 KB, 222 views)
Ultron is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 January 2007, 04:52   #2
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
Ok buds, i'm stuck here. I think it's a palette problem

BTW - the app has a bug of turning everything - including UI - to black if you search palettes in advanced mode.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Stormlord.jpg
Views:	602
Size:	200.3 KB
ID:	13054  
Ultron is offline  
Old 26 January 2007, 13:26   #3
method
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 94
The last one of those bitblanes is the mask. (Just switch it off by changing the bitplane order) -- It's the exact same issue I had when ripping Rainbow Islands...

The following settings should show you something more recognizable ...

Offset: 202840
X: 32
Bitplanes: 5
Mode: ST
Pal(E): 680

and most importantly... the bit ya were missing...

Order: 76553210
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stormrip.jpg
Views:	548
Size:	285.3 KB
ID:	13071  
method is offline  
Old 27 January 2007, 04:59   #4
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
Wow, thanks a bunch! I'd never make it on my own. How do you know the order of the bitplanes? Guessing? There's a lot of combinations, it's pretty wild stuff.

Ok - To make matter worse the main player sprite is size irregular. The sprites have a lot of differences, so i took them whole and will list the sizes\bitplanes as i can remember in case anyone checks this over and wants to know them. I removed without transparency, but i think you can use photoshop\paintshop pro to select $000000 and make them so.

The tilemap is 16x16 and it has 4 bitplanes only. So does the moon\sun gfx which is 32x32.

The projectiles\weapons are 16x16x5bitplanes. The dragon and eagle are 48x48x5bitplanes. So are the enemies and wizard only they seem to be at 32x16 sprites, these seem regular, but the player sprite isn't. The player sprite also seems done in 32x16 though, the game must have the data on where to crop it and assemble it.

I removed as best as to show the art, not as to use for a remake, although the data to do so is above noted for the most part in case somebody wants to. It's mostly removing the black to transparency and tile cut them by respective sprite size. A couple sheets may be doubled to display the thing in a better way.

So, here's what i came up with:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stormlord-tilemap.png
Views:	1127
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	13086   Click image for larger version

Name:	stormlord-playersprite.png
Views:	604
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	13087   Click image for larger version

Name:	stormlord-enemies sprites.png
Views:	2201
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	13088   Click image for larger version

Name:	stormlord-eagle.png
Views:	400
Size:	2.0 KB
ID:	13089   Click image for larger version

Name:	stormlord-dragon.png
Views:	355
Size:	3.5 KB
ID:	13090  

Click image for larger version

Name:	stormlord-misc.png
Views:	340
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	13092  
Attached Images
 
Ultron is offline  
Old 29 January 2007, 04:45   #5
method
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 94
Nice work on the ripping so far

---

As for the mask bitplane... usually it's just the last bitplane.

If there are 5 bitplanes... try 76553210
If there are 4 bitplanes... try 76544210
If there are 3 bitplanes... try 76543310

To switch off each of the other bitplanes when ripping with 5 bitplanes (in case it isn't the 5th bitplane that's the mask).. you can try the following (each switches a different bitplane off).

76553210 - 5th bitplane (standard mask... as above)
76545210 - 4th bitplane
76543510 - 3rd bitplane
76543250 - 2nd bitplane
76543215 - 1st bitplane

If I wasn't so determined to rip Rainbow Islands... I'd probably have never figured it out.
method is offline  
Old 25 January 2016, 20:13   #6
Mark Jones
Registered User
Mark Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Age: 49
Posts: 24
Thank you so much! Stumbled on this OLD thread whilst looking for some of my Stormlord graphics to add to my website update! Original artist here, Mark Jones. You just made my day
Thank you!
Mark Jones is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stormlord NTSC mai request.Old Rare Games 3 14 October 2012 18:43
[Found: Stormlord] Fantasy platformer. kenjitiger Looking for a game name ? 11 30 March 2010 03:35
Street Fighter IV WIP Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 12 09 January 2008 09:40
WIP-titles Tim Janssen Nostalgia & memories 11 15 January 2002 03:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13728 seconds with 15 queries