English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2015, 15:35   #1
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 58
Posts: 614
Lightbulb RamseyConfig released!

RamseyConfig 1.2 ©SpeedGeek 2018

INTRODUCTION:
RamseyConfig allows you to view and change the config options of
the custom chip "Ramsey". This chip controls the Fast RAM in
A3000 & A4000 Amiga's. The other programs "SetRamsey" and
"Ramsey" have been around for sometime now, but with no bug
fixes, missing features or just supporting one version of Ramsey
these programs have serious limitations.

FEATURES:
- Small, fast and pretty reliable¹
- Shows Ramsey version² and config settings
- Config settings can be changed
- Dynamically manages Page mode setting for both versions

REQUIREMENTS:
- Amiga 3000 or 4000
- OS2.0+ (maybe it works under OS1.3, but please no bug reports)

NOTES:
¹Reliable IMHO means the program should not crash or mess up
the Ramsey config register because of bugs which can be
prevented (e.g. Page mode is invalid on version $D). But it's
certainly OK for the user to enter a valid config option which
may not be supported on a certain system (see WARNINGS) thereby,
possibly causing any or all of the above to happen.
RamseyConfig's argument list has the safest options at the
beginning of the list and the more risky options at the end of
the list so nobody should use them by accident!

²RamseyConfig simply reports the version register verbatim so if
this doesn't match the expected, official or chip printed
version number please don't send me version related bug reports!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RAMSEYCONFIG.PNG
Views:	360
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	57782  
Attached Files
File Type: lha RAMSEYCONFIG12.LHA (4.1 KB, 186 views)

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 13 April 2018 at 23:46.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 19 June 2015, 17:33   #2
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,286
nice one.. what about the bit for 4/5 cycle selection?
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 19 June 2015, 17:48   #3
TheBilgeRat
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newberg USA
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedGeek View Post
RamseyConfig 1.0 ©SpeedGeek 2015

INTRODUCTION:
RamseyConfig allows you to view and change the config options of
the custom chip "Ramsey". This chip controls the Fast RAM in
A3000 & A4000 Amiga's. The other programs "SetRamsey" and
"Ramsey" have been around for sometime now, but with no bug
fixes, missing features or just supporting one version of Ramsey
these programs have serious limitations.

FEATURES:
- Small, fast and pretty reliable¹
- Shows Ramsey version² and config settings
- Config settings can be changed
- Dynamically manages Page mode setting for both versions

REQUIREMENTS:
- Amiga 3000 or 4000
- OS2.0+ (maybe it works under OS1.3, but please no bug reports)

NOTES:
¹Reliable IMHO means the program should not crash or mess up
the Ramsey config register because of bugs which can be
prevented (e.g. Page mode is invalid on version $D). But it's
certainly OK for the user to enter a valid config option which
may not be supported on a certain system (see WARNINGS) thereby,
possibly causing any or all of the above to happen.
RamseyConfig's argument list has the safest options at the
beginning of the list and the more risky options at the end of
the list so nobody should use them by accident!

²RamseyConfig simply reports the version register verbatim so if
this doesn't match the expected, official or chip printed
version number please don't send me version related bug reports!

HISTORY:
v1.0 first release

Neat! So, why would someone want to twiddle Ramsey?
TheBilgeRat is offline  
Old 19 June 2015, 20:36   #4
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 58
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
nice one.. what about the bit for 4/5 cycle selection?
I assume your asking about the skip bit on version $F(G?) or -07 Ramsey. IIRC this is the bit set by "SpeedRamsey" and similar programs. The reason it's not supported in this release is simply because it's pretty "Unreliable" and would conflict with one of the main features of RamseyConfig.

There are just to many cases where it can fail... You need 60ns DRAM installed, but even you have 60ns DRAM it still may not work with all banks fully populated... It won't work if the mobo is overclocked... It may be unstable or not work if the +5 Volt supply is low or the RAM sockets are in poor condition, etc.

If there are many requests, I may reconsider it for the next release but it's a profoundly different situation than supporting Page or Burst mode which do work reliably with the correct type of RAM installed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBilgeRat View Post
Neat! So, why would someone want to twiddle Ramsey?
Apparently, you didn't RTFM the docs of RamseyConfig or any of it's predecessor programs (or search on the many Amiga forums where this topic has been discussed in greater detail).

But the simple answer is, you might be able to improve your Fast RAM performance if you twiddle Ramsey (just understand there may be some risk in doing that).

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 19 June 2015 at 20:41.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 20 June 2015, 10:31   #5
TheDarkCoder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dark Kingdom
Posts: 211
Hi SpeedGeek, it's awesome to have a new and up-to date program to play with Ramsey. I am not an expert at all. However, as fortunate coincidence, in these days I am playing with the skip mode (4/5 cycles) in my 4000D.

Currently I am able to use it with 3 populated slot. Unfortunately I don't have a a fourth 60ns SIMM.

I use SpeedRamsey and Memutil to see if the RAM access is reliable.
I would love to see this setting supported also by your program, and it would be nice to integrate in your program a ram test tool.
Maybe you could implement in your program a "reliable mode" and a "dangerous " one which enable the setting.
Whatever you decide to do, well done and I will test your program ASAP
TheDarkCoder is offline  
Old 20 June 2015, 21:56   #6
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 58
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkCoder View Post
Hi SpeedGeek, it's awesome to have a new and up-to date program to play with Ramsey. I am not an expert at all. However, as fortunate coincidence, in these days I am playing with the skip mode (4/5 cycles) in my 4000D.

Currently I am able to use it with 3 populated slot. Unfortunately I don't have a a fourth 60ns SIMM.

I use SpeedRamsey and Memutil to see if the RAM access is reliable.
I would love to see this setting supported also by your program, and it would be nice to integrate in your program a ram test tool.
Maybe you could implement in your program a "reliable mode" and a "dangerous " one which enable the setting.
Whatever you decide to do, well done and I will test your program ASAP
Quote:
Originally Posted by boing4000 View Post
If the Ramsey skip mode conflict with other feature, do not implement it.
For some boards it works fine (my own 4000D with 4x 60nS Simm) but others freez instandly or become instable after some warming time.

There are mentioned tools to set this bit (also GUI based one such as SetCPU). Better let user try this if really wanted. Its only one more line in the startup-sequence
I'll wait to see if more comments are made on this topic, but it looks like a separate "Dangerous" version of the program is the only solution which could satisfy everyone.

I don't think adding a RAM test is really practical for this type of program. The only really useful RAM test is to determine if Page or Static column RAM is installed (and that's exactly what the Bonus code in your Kickstart ROMs is supposed to do).

The best time to do this test is in early startup before any Fast RAM is added to the system or in use by other programs. The are 4 possible banks of Fast RAM and they should all be tested before either Page or Burst mode is enabled. That's problematic at best in a post boot scenario (expecting some RAM to be available in all 4 banks and then to disable all interrupts and other tasks while the test is being performed). Another problem is Ramsey version $D doesn't support Page mode so the test can't be done anyway.

As far as testing if the skip mode is working reliably, there are quite a number of programs available to do a standard RAM test already.

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 21 June 2015 at 14:33.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 25 June 2015, 17:08   #7
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 58
Posts: 614
** NEWS UPDATE **

v1.1 Released!

Some useful improvements
- Added code to parse multiple arguments
- Simplified argument message code

UPDATE INFO:
The new multiple argument parsing code (since v1.1) has the
following limitations:
- Delimiters must be either spaces or commas
- The maximum number of arguments accepted is 4
- The first invalid argument terminates the argument search
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 13:46   #8
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 58
Posts: 614
** 2ND NEWS UPDATE **

v1.2 Released!
RamseyConfig now works more like a "Standard" Shell tool!
- Replaced custom argument parsing code with ReadArgs()
- Replaced paired SuperState()/UserState() calls with single
Supervisor() calls

UPDATE INFO:
The new ReadArgs() parsing code (since v1.2) now accepts up to
4 arguments but you must use the full argument name. Also,
delimiters must be spaces.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 05 October 2018, 17:33   #9
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 58
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigoun
This is a message from amigoun at English Amiga Board ( http://eab.abime.net/index.php ). The English Amiga Board owners cannot accept any responsibility for the contents of the email.:

Hi SpeedGeek,

I have recently come to your RamseyConfig program and I decided to tweak the Ramsey in my A3000.
Some time ago I replaced the page-mode ZIPs in my A3000 with static-colums ZIPs that I assume is better speedwise. At least Sysinfo now shows 1.0 performance instead 0.9 before.
I think I could try some other tweaking, does the Ramseyconfig helps to speedup it more? What option to try you would recommend?
Also I would like to ask - the previous page-mode ZIPs were 60ns whereas the Static column is 70ns. What do you consider better and faster?

kind regards
Hi amigoun,

It appears you have already obtained the most significant performance improvement for the A3000 with Burst enabled (Static Column) RAM. This performance improvement is unfortunately NOT supported by nearly all 040/060 accelerator cards so there is some question if the cost can be justified for 68030 use only.

You can usually increase the refresh mode to the next higher refresh mode for a small performance tweak. There is no practical performance difference between 60-70 ns RAM unless you are willing to "Risk" skip mode as previously explained on this thread.

Best regards,
Kevin

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 05 October 2018 at 17:39.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 05 October 2018, 20:33   #10
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 565
Great, thanks for the detailed explanation.
amigoun is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plipbox 0.5 released lallafa News 0 29 November 2013 23:11
Never released??? tomcat666 project.aGTW 18 18 January 2010 14:44
AmigaSYS 3 Released! Dary News 89 13 April 2007 15:34
16.6 Released alexh project.WHDLoad 6 09 June 2006 10:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09674 seconds with 14 queries