English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 July 2019, 12:48   #41
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
thx, is it possible to exclude one single folder? because there is one drawer (a whdload game) always returning an error.
always different files on three tries, but always in same folder. so i want to exclude that folder which is not working...
Maybe, but you'll need to work out which switch to use though:





DamienD is offline  
Old 17 July 2019, 13:28   #42
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,320
Maybe you can exclude files with pattern matching. See also lha.guide. But first I would check why the error happens and what it means. If there are illegal characters in filenames/directory names you can remove/replace them.
daxb is offline  
Old 17 July 2019, 14:43   #43
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,247
fun fact is: if i try to pack this folder alone, it works 100% without error. only if i pack work partition completely including this folder, then there's an error. and it's different files in every try. first try: work:whd/testdrive2&datadisks/data/scen/rock_roaddata1, 2nd try: rock_roaddata2, 3rd try: rock_roaddata4...

i don't think that "&" is an illegal character, because there are no problems regarding fire&ice...
honx is offline  
Old 17 July 2019, 15:09   #44
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,602
Do you have enough RAM to be able to create an .LHA archive of a complete partition?

I've noticed before that when creating an archive of say onEscapee I needed loads of RAM as obviously the archive gets temporarily stored in RAM while generating...
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 July 2019, 15:50   #45
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,247
i have 62mb fast ram from aca1221, 6.7mb fast ram from aca500plus and 2mb chip ram (1mb onboard + 2*a512 in trapdoor).
so in total i have about ~70mb fast ram. the packed end "product" of my work partition takes ~100mb.
does lha really need this big ram? what if work partition was full (~4gb)? there is no amiga out there capable of 4gb ram...

Last edited by honx; 17 July 2019 at 15:58.
honx is offline  
Old 17 July 2019, 16:40   #46
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,602
Ok, just did a quick test and this seems to be how LHA works in relation to RAM when compacting.

I had 32MB of Fast RAM (which showed in DirOpus as 31540K). I then tried LHA'ing a file which was 3629890 Bytes; while this was processing the available free Fast RAM went down to 27302K. That's a difference of 4238K.

The RAM is actually returned once the file from multiple selected has processed.

So if you have large files though; this is when you need lots of RAM.

For example the Genetic Species intro is about 190MB; you would need to have 256GB of Fast RAM or something to be able to LHA up.

Last edited by DamienD; 17 July 2019 at 16:51.
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 13:05   #47
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
fun fact is: if i try to pack this folder alone, it works 100% without error. only if i pack work partition completely including this folder, then there's an error. and it's different files in every try. first try: work:whd/testdrive2&datadisks/data/scen/rock_roaddata1, 2nd try: rock_roaddata2, 3rd try: rock_roaddata4...

i don't think that "&" is an illegal character, because there are no problems regarding fire&ice...

When packing the partition, maybe the path is too long for at least one file in that particular folder.
paul1981 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
copy / backup Casablanca floppies with Kryoflux ? SimonV support.Other 3 12 February 2018 13:15
making backup copy of Workbench 2.04 disk museum support.Apps 8 08 January 2013 21:29
Faster floppy file dialog for large directories? rsn8887 request.UAE Wishlist 7 23 January 2012 06:31
Backup Directories/Volumes/System amigakit.com Amiga scene 4 25 January 2010 23:58
Copy CF card file to ram:, insert other CF card, copy over? Photon support.Hardware 16 21 July 2009 22:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06594 seconds with 15 queries