English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 February 2015, 17:57   #1
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 416
Raspberry Pi 2

Hi all,

as you eventually know the Raspberry Pi 2 is out and this little device now have the sixfold power (4 core cpu) of it's precursor...

Maybe this is a possible device for a standalone FS-UAE machine...
amigafreak68k is online now  
Old 02 February 2015, 19:24   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,548
I doubt it is fast enough for any "pleasant" FS-UAE usage, but I just ordered one for fun anway, so we'll see...
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 20:47   #3
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,486
i would be a very happy man if FS-UAE *could* run on it... I have two Pi's already and I will be grabbing one of these pretty soon!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 21:22   #4
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 416
I think the Pi 1 isn't that powerful enough for running FS-UAE. It only have a single core CPU. The Pi 2 has 4 cores. Also the RAM amount is doubled. Pi 1 512 MB and Pi 2 1Gig
amigafreak68k is online now  
Old 02 February 2015, 21:58   #5
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,312
PI 2 is clocked by default at 900MHz. UAE4All will run like a dream, but I doubt that FS-UAE will run all that well - unless it's optimised to run in a multiprocess system, which I'm not sure it is. More cores != more performance, and neither does more memory, unless FS-UAE requires so much that it needs disk paging!

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 23:04   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,548
@Dunny, yes, it is almost certainly too slow, I doubt it will hit ~50 FPS even when tuned for performance (option-wise).

FS-UAE will utilize more than one work, but (in the most common cases) the entire emulation is running in a single thread, so majority of the heavy lifting will be limited to one core. But FS-UAE is multi-threaded, and having a couple of CPU cores will definitively help. Rendering is performed in a separate thread for example.

By having a multi-core CPU you get the advantage that the emulation can utilize one full CPU core, instead of having to share it with the other FS-UAE threads (and other background OS tasks too).

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 02 February 2015 at 23:15.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 03 February 2015, 00:12   #7
imigger
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: england
Posts: 135
aros works well on the new pi.
imigger is offline  
Old 07 February 2015, 09:41   #8
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
I doubt it is fast enough for any "pleasant" FS-UAE usage, but I just ordered one for fun anway, so we'll see...
Did GLES support get fully merged into FS-UAE, or is lallafa's (I guess now somewhat out-of-date) tree a better starting point? I also assume either way that some autotool/build work will be required.
kaffer is offline  
Old 10 February 2015, 01:55   #9
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,660
I'm new to this raspberry pie scene, never had one, but looking into it. Can someone elaborate a little on them regarding emulation please?

Emulate Amiga with FS-UAE Linux version is that right?

What controls are used with ? Need a PC with it to function?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 10 February 2015, 09:50   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Emulate Amiga with FS-UAE Linux version is that right?
Yes, and UAE4ALL.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
What controls are used with ?
USB Keyboard, USB Mouse + Optional USB joystick/pad

Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Need a PC with it to function?
No. Only to create the MicroSD card with Linux on it from which the Pi will boot from. Once it has booted it is for all intents and purposes a linux PC with internet etc. You use the browser to download stuff just as you would on a PC.
alexh is offline  
Old 10 February 2015, 11:54   #11
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,660
Thanks Alex. How does watching movie files work with it? Plays all formats and audio formats?

Is hdmi out the only option. I can only use optical out/in for digital audio.
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 10 February 2015, 19:43   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
How does watching movie files work with it?
It depends what installation you use. I have used RaspBMC/OSMC which is a minimum linux installation which boots directly into XBMC (now called Kodi). I use CEC to control mine. TV remote control signals are fed back down the HDMI cable to the Pi. If feels just like a SMART TV.

Kodi / XBMC application accesses movie files shared on your network (or saved on USB hard drive).

Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Plays all formats and audio formats?
The hardware decoders in the Pi are quite programmable but they only come with drivers for the free codecs h264, AC3, MP3.

Hardware DTS, VC-1 and MPEG-2 require licenses at additional costs. MPEG-2 is require for DVD's and Live TV via a DVB USB dongle.

DTS can be passed through HDMI to your TV/AV Amp for external decode. DTS-HD, DTS-MA/TrueHD is not supported via pass through.

Software DTS decoding (including down-mix to stereo) was just about bearable on the Pi 1 so should fly on the Pi 2 and I think the same could be said about above.

Quote:
Is hdmi out the only option.
There is also composite video via the 4-pole 3.5mm jack.

Quote:
I can only use optical out/in for digital audio.
Does your TV not have SPDIF out?

The standard Pi 2 B has I2S on a header but no SPDIF. There are add-ons but they can be as expensive as the Pi itself.

https://www.hifiberry.com/hbdigi/
http://www.mikroe.com/add-on-boards/...ce/raspyplay4/

Last edited by alexh; 10 February 2015 at 20:01.
alexh is offline  
Old 10 February 2015, 20:30   #13
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,660
Does it have MKV support?

What costs are required for DTS support?

I have an old TV with a HDMI input, so I can pass through picture via HDMI, but my AMP doesn't have HDMI. I use Optical Cable for Digital audio.

I guess your Amp has to have HDMI to have full Digital sound with this, unless you want to use the poor stereo speakers on any tv pass through via the HDMI cable.

Can it detect a Powered external NTFS HDD and play 7+ GB Movie files properly? (My Samsung Bluray player can do this easily, but its Cinavia protected)

Hmmm I might wait and see results of Pi2 with Audio results, all seems incomplete.
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 10 February 2015, 21:17   #14
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 416
What about we are talking here?! FS-UAE or some Video Players?
amigafreak68k is online now  
Old 10 February 2015, 23:07   #15
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,660
The raspberry pie 2.

But really Video players at the moment and what the device can handle. Which I'm trying to understand how they both work. And it's compatibility with video/audio and emulation is like.
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 11 February 2015, 03:13   #16
amiga1200gamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: England
Posts: 53
regarding FS-uae support the best one im aware of for Raspberry is here

https://github.com/cnvogelg/fs-uae-gles

it runs much better on the Pi2 but still not an acceptable speed sadly


for raspberry pi 2 change the cflags in the raspi/makefile to
RASPI_CFLAGS := -march=armv7-a -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=neon-vfpv4

while setting up/getting a working config file together id recommend testing under Xwindows -much easier to kill the process if it crashes and see whats going on
amiga1200gamer is offline  
Old 11 February 2015, 03:27   #17
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga1200gamer View Post
it runs much better on the Pi2 but still not an acceptable speed sadly
Then there's no real point in having one if your motive is amiga emulation?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 11 February 2015, 08:14   #18
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,295
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Then there's no real point in having one if your motive is amiga emulation?
Correct.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 11 February 2015, 08:27   #19
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
Correct.
Well Hopefully Frode Exaplains what FS-Launcher is like on the pi 2
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 13 February 2015, 00:08   #20
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 44
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
[ Show youtube player ]

Second part of the video (in french) Rasp 2 emulating.."perfect" Amiga
Foul is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone using raspberry pi floppy replacement? bugsymalone666 Hardware mods 0 25 December 2014 23:46
CDTV to Raspberry Pi for Internet? chocolate_boy Amiga scene 7 27 January 2014 19:03
NetSurf works on the raspberry pi mcbone Amiga scene 2 08 July 2013 05:17
For Sale Raspberry Pi lolafg MarketPlace 16 06 August 2012 15:13
Embedded Raspberry Pi? wXR Hardware mods 2 29 July 2012 17:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09099 seconds with 13 queries