English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 July 2018, 21:13   #1
DaveTaylor
Registered User
DaveTaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Europe
Posts: 52
Games with required HD installation (before HD became standard equipment)

Here is the right place for collecting names of games that require a HD installation.

I start with

Roger Rabbit in Hare Raising Havoc

http://hol.abime.net/662


It had been the first ever Amiga game that needed an install.

I remember a bad rating in my favourite Amiga mag "Amiga Joker" because of HD requirement. Didn't understand that decision. A heavy hardware requirement shouldn't lead to a bad rating. It's good for pushing the users to upgrade their machines.

http://www.kultboy.com/index.php?site=t&id=15269


The next one please.
DaveTaylor is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 19:52   #2
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveTaylor View Post
I remember a bad rating in my favourite Amiga mag "Amiga Joker" because of HD requirement. Didn't understand that decision. A heavy hardware requirement shouldn't lead to a bad rating. It's good for pushing the users to upgrade their machines.
I completely agree. I didn't understand it back then and it annoys me looking back at it now. Reviewers (and users no doubt) were complaining that games didn't run fluidly on A500 well into the 90's.

NEXT game:

Star Trek: 25th Anniversary
http://hol.abime.net/2098

Really quite fantastic game and a good port. It requires a powerful machine to run perfectly (HDD is just basic. I would say an 030 is a must for the 3D-parts) and it is a real treat for Star Trek fans!
Overmann is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 19:57   #3
Cpt. Hindsight
Registered User
Cpt. Hindsight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southpark
Posts: 467
Well, you better read the Amiga Joker article again...it did not get the bad rating because of its hd requirement.
Cpt. Hindsight is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 20:05   #4
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 211
I just have to throw one more in there while I'm at it:

Sim City 2000
http://hol.abime.net/1929

I notoriously bad port that (along with other bad ports like Fifa and Aladdin) got surprisingly good scores when it was released. I always thought the amiga-version was a complete hack job, but then learned that the single person responsible for it got a weakend to complete it and no doubt did the best he could. I've just built some DOS-machines and among them is a 386dx 40mhz and a 486dx2 66 with a vlb graphics card and I have to say that SC2000 is unplayable on the 386, and not at all as fast and responsive as I would have guessed on the 486. It plays about as well as the amigaversion does on a patched up 060-system. I guess whoever ported it to the Amiga had a difficult job. It should have been a 32 color game.
Overmann is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 21:08   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,399
... Capital Punishment
... Contraption Zack
... others that I can't be bothered to list ATM.
DamienD is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 21:11   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,182
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Reunion AGA
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 21:51   #7
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,927
After 1995, HD is usually a requirement.
idrougge is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 21:52   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,399
True idrougge; but these seem a bit silly given the year of release:

a) Contraption Zack (1992)
b) Hare Raising Havoc (1992)
DamienD is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 22:01   #9
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 40
Posts: 734
Biing!

http://www.lemonamiga.com/?game_id=2614
Nibbler is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 22:41   #10
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
19 disks? That is insane!
Overmann is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 22:59   #11
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
True idrougge; but these seem a bit silly given the year of release:

a) Contraption Zack (1992)
b) Hare Raising Havoc (1992)
Exactly. When I saw the thread title, I read it as "Games with required HD installation (before HD became standard equipment)".
idrougge is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 23:31   #12
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 971
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overmann View Post
I completely agree. I didn't understand it back then and it annoys me looking back at it now. Reviewers (and users no doubt) were complaining that games didn't run fluidly on A500 well into the 90's.
When some review a game, usally, use the disk version because in the Amiga era, HardDisk are so rare, to much expansive and not all people can have money to buy it.
So wen you review a game from floppy action is broken by floppy accessing.
In a review you have also to search to explain what you see in a game also in 90's and people that read you must be imagine in the mind how it runs thank to your words.
You have also keep in mind that in the 90's some many PC games run at great fluidity also with a very slow 286 with VGA and Amiga games some times not, so you expect much more.


Quote:
Star Trek: 25th Anniversary
This game for Amiga games library is very good because there is nothing like that: Point & Click adventure with arcade action combat. Amiga version is good but very cut from PC version because they deleted many things that you can not notice when you play, but if review this game you notice.
It remain a good game for Amiga but requiring HD installation maybe some deleted object and animation are not very good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Reunion AGA
also Reunion OCS
Seiya is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 23:59   #13
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,243
after 1995, the other mandatory requirement were loooooong 16 million color palette fade ins and out. Soooo boring.
jotd is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 00:06   #14
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 971
nah..even if people expect much more quality and detail thanks to the various accelerator card with much memory.
Seiya is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 00:13   #15
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
I seem to recall one of the Street Fighter II (turbo?) games having a mandatory hd install.

After commodore died and big publishers had moved on, the game quality in general hit rock bottom with a lot of PD quality efforts getting a commercial release. I guess the only positive aspect was that most releases were workbench/HD compatible. At least for launching, not always quitting.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 00:35   #16
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 971
yes, Street Fighter II Turbo require HD install. There are many games installable on HD even if not alls have installer script. Not much floppy games require mandatory HD installation (now i remember only Captial Punishment, Hare Racing Havoc, Street Fighter II Turbo, Star Trek 25th Anniversary).
Biing! has two versions: the 19 floppy version is mandatory hd installation, but the 12 disk version start from floppy.

Last edited by Seiya; 30 July 2018 at 00:45.
Seiya is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 02:08   #17
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overmann View Post
I just have to throw one more in there while I'm at it:

Sim City 2000
http://hol.abime.net/1929

I notoriously bad port that (along with other bad ports like Fifa and Aladdin) got surprisingly good scores when it was released. I always thought the amiga-version was a complete hack job, but then learned that the single person responsible for it got a weakend to complete it and no doubt did the best he could. I've just built some DOS-machines and among them is a 386dx 40mhz and a 486dx2 66 with a vlb graphics card and I have to say that SC2000 is unplayable on the 386, and not at all as fast and responsive as I would have guessed on the 486. It plays about as well as the amigaversion does on a patched up 060-system. I guess whoever ported it to the Amiga had a difficult job. It should have been a 32 color game.
So it might surprise you to know that if you use Shapeshifter the Mac emulator on Amiga, the Mac version of SS2000 runs quite a bit better
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 02:18   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,776
Death of Glory (the later 3-disk release)
On the Ball (some versions)
Sixth Sense Investigations
Star Crusader
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 02:23   #19
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
So it might surprise you to know that if you use Shapeshifter the Mac emulator on Amiga, the Mac version of SS2000 runs quite a bit better
You must of had a beefy big box Amiga back in the day? I thought you just had a A500 with ARC 3 and a A1200 with a accelerator??
redblade is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 07:03   #20
DaveTaylor
Registered User
DaveTaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Europe
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overmann View Post
I completely agree. I didn't understand it back then and it annoys me looking back at it now. Reviewers (and users no doubt) were complaining that games didn't run fluidly on A500 well into the 90's.
Yes. Very strange. Can't remember bad ratings for PC Games because they didn't run fluidly on 286 in the 90s.
DaveTaylor is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best standard Amiga 1200 games redblade Retrogaming General Discussion 13 25 February 2017 10:48
Moving WB installation from HDD to CF - Help required manicx support.Apps 6 18 April 2011 15:21
Required Memory and Software Installation Djay project.WHDLoad 3 03 December 2010 00:36
How to set a subfolder as standard path for games ??? o.O TheChris80 support.WinUAE 9 22 November 2009 20:20
Amiga 1200 HD installation help required Tommy K Retrogaming General Discussion 14 18 April 2005 21:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10337 seconds with 13 queries