English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2003, 14:52   #1
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
Is this ok to use???

Do you think this SCSI lead is ok to use....it looks ok but it has a sticker on it that says"Warning damage will occur if connected to a SCSI interface"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-1.jpg
Views:	324
Size:	14.5 KB
ID:	4831  
thinlega is offline  
Old 08 March 2003, 18:00   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
What the hell is it for then, bro?
Akira is offline  
Old 08 March 2003, 18:12   #3
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
thats what i thought!! the only thing it can possibly pluged into is an "interface" (if you don`t include fred`s butt)
thinlega is offline  
Old 08 March 2003, 18:20   #4
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
maybe it's an ATAPI/IDE cable?
rattus is offline  
Old 08 March 2003, 18:32   #5
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
yeah...You could be right... The thing that threw me was that it came with a zip250 from ebay which said "includes scsi lead...."
thinlega is offline  
Old 08 March 2003, 21:51   #6
Puzzle
Registered User
Puzzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 99
Maybe it's intented for parallel-ports?
Puzzle is offline  
Old 09 March 2003, 00:25   #7
scaf
Registered User
scaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: france
Age: 43
Posts: 116
Send a message via MSN to scaf
Puzzle is right.
Many ZIP drives comes (came) with a parallel interface.
Next, they began to be atapi or USB.
But the first ones used the parallel port.

The external SCSI 1 and the parallel port use the same DB25 plug.

I don't know if it'll work on the amiga, as the pin 14 is +5V. If the ZIP drive use this pin, it should die if pluggeg on the Amiga.
scaf is offline  
Old 09 March 2003, 01:11   #8
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
No, I read somewhere you cannot use a Parallel Zip Drive with an Amiga (the ports are different somehow). You have to use a SCSI Zip Drive via an interface (like the luverly Squirrel).
rattus is offline  
Old 09 March 2003, 01:17   #9
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
You can't use a parallel zip on a miggy
Severin is offline  
Old 09 March 2003, 13:50   #10
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 55
Posts: 584
Only thing you can plug into an Amiga and a PC parallel is a printer! Unless you know different
Syko is offline  
Old 09 March 2003, 18:10   #11
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
hmmm, add parnet and some scanners
Severin is offline  
Old 15 March 2003, 20:05   #12
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 55
Posts: 584
:-P
Syko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07421 seconds with 15 queries