English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2017, 22:16   #1
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,149
Composite and RF problem

So this isn't a major issue with me as I generally use RGB SCART which is working fine but I wanted to play cannon fodder on my CRT while the other half was watching TV and it doesn't have SCART, ended up with this...



There's a red hue over the screen and that distortion, this is present in exactly the same way on Composite and RF, on boot in workbench and in games.

Here's the RGB SCART output which seems to be perfect:



I've searched and found some vaguely similar issues but nothing exactly like this and advice on it varies massively.

So whats going on here and do I need to worry about it in the longterm given I'm not using these outputs?

Thanks in advance, Mick.
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 29 September 2017, 22:19   #2
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
Probably capacitor spew.
The Sony encoder chip converts the RGB to composite,
and that is modulated RF, so any problem with composite
is present in the RF modulator output too.
xArtx is offline  
Old 29 September 2017, 22:27   #3
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
Probably capacitor spew.
The Sony encoder chip converts the RGB to composite,
and that is modulated RF, so any problem with composite
is present in the RF modulator output too.
Also Check the Delay line circuit components like the Z222 and the band pass filter notorious for going bad too ,but I will doubt you can find replacements ,they are the 4 silver cans by the Encoder chip

Last edited by supaduper; 29 September 2017 at 22:33.
supaduper is offline  
Old 29 September 2017, 23:21   #4
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,149
I'm not particularly bothered about repairing as RGB is working fine, I just need to sort anything that's going to damage the system further long term,
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 30 September 2017, 01:34   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Also check the Sony video encoder. There's a ton of leaky capacitors around that area and it usually falls victim to it.

So first thing first, leaky capacitors. You said you had your machine in storage for 10 years. If you never recapped it, I am sure they have gone bad.
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with rf and composite on a1200 rev 1d4 cpiac64 support.Hardware 6 03 February 2017 13:49
1084s-D2 composite colour problem loggio support.Hardware 3 16 February 2014 04:02
A600 color bands on composite problem Akira support.Hardware 6 24 October 2013 14:58
Problem with A1200 composite output damiraga support.Hardware 13 31 October 2011 21:44
S/Composite Video Connection Problem with Monitor Dimlow support.Hardware 5 26 August 2008 02:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06333 seconds with 13 queries