English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2017, 22:13   #1
oRBIT
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 260
Sourcecontrol?

Just curious, any Amiga asmcoders here that uses some kind of "sourcecontrol" (SVN/GIT/Whatever) for their stuff?
I'm just looking for inspiration and I am interested in how you guys are working with your stuff.
Personally I'm running an SVN-server on my NAS (I'm using WinUAE on my Windows-machine...), but Tortoise SVN sometimes complains when I want to compare versions (especially if Asm-One has "saved marks" in these files) which annoys me.
oRBIT is offline  
Old 20 September 2017, 22:34   #2
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by oRBIT View Post
Just curious, any Amiga asmcoders here that uses some kind of "sourcecontrol" (SVN/GIT/Whatever) for their stuff?
I'm using CVS for all projects since 15 years or so, running on my server (sun.hasenbraten.de), which is also a NAS now. It was a full-blown Sun Sparc Server in the past.

Never needed much more than that for my small projects. GIT would be overkill and requires so many resources that you are forced to develop on a powerful system. I can use CVS even on my 68k Amigas.

The server runs some daily scripts, which check out the current version for some of my projects, builds them with cross compilers, and creates release and snapshot archives.

Quote:
Tortoise SVN sometimes complains when I want to compare versions (especially if Asm-One has "saved marks" in these files) which annoys me.
Yes, I remember that Asm-One inserts some binary stuff at the beginning of a file. Maybe you can build a script to strip that from the sources before committing them?
phx is offline  
Old 20 September 2017, 23:11   #3
Cylon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 466
I'm adding a different number at the end of each file with significant changes (.bak are automatic). The entire sourcecode base directory is saved every once in awhile to as much local places as possible.....
That's my sourcecontrol....
Cylon is offline  
Old 21 September 2017, 07:02   #4
a/b
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: europe
Posts: 124
Asm-one is saving bookmarks in a binary format, you can disable that in settings (A-[): general, uncheck save marks.
If you are actually using them, well then you'll most likely have to preprocess (e.g. make an alias for preprocess to tmp file and then diff that), as already mentioned.

Last edited by a/b; 21 September 2017 at 07:09.
a/b is offline  
Old 21 September 2017, 10:33   #5
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,603
Backup copies once in a while, file copy or if/endc for big or temporary changes...
Sometimes running a diff util on two versions.
This is the only source control I need for asm.
meynaf is offline  
Old 21 September 2017, 12:04   #6
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 338
Git can handle binary files without issue.
zero is offline  
Old 21 September 2017, 19:44   #7
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,479
Most revision control systems can handle binaries. But you want them as text to see the diffs between two versions.
phx is offline  
Old 22 September 2017, 00:10   #8
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
I'm using Git when cross-developing, mainly because it seemed to be the most popular choice.

I use a simple script that clones a default repo acting as a starter project. The build-script automatically makes a temporary commit for every succesful build, and when I'm happy with the changes I squash all the temporaries into a single proper commit.

The editor has Git integration, and most commands for building and "Gitting" are bound to hotkeys. For ASM-One you'd have to step out of WinUAE, I don't think there's any Amiga port of Git, but things could be set up to work without too much hassle.

I have no NAS or other kind of server, just two computers in a LAN, and one of them runs a Git server that I can push to for backing up or sharing to the other computer, but most of the time I just keep a simple local repo on the hard drive.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 22 September 2017, 09:40   #9
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 965
I have a NFS mount on the Amiga which on the server side is a git repository, works for me.
Locutus is offline  
Old 22 September 2017, 12:34   #10
Apollo
Registered User

Apollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 127
doing cross-assembling from linux

I have a complete tree under git control, including fs-uae configuration files, kickstarts, workbench disks, documentation and of course the assembler sources. This way I can setup a "build" environment in a couple of minutes under linux which means, installing fs-uae, compiling vasm, vlink, and creating a local clone of the central git which is on AWS CodeCommit.
Apollo is offline  
Old 22 September 2017, 13:10   #11
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UmeƄ
Age: 39
Posts: 571
If running the client on the amiga is a requirement, there is a subversion client available.

I havent tried that port myself, but compared to cvs, svn does support renaming of files without loosing history (no, hacking the csv repo files manually to do a rename with intact history doesn’t count) and handles binaries better.
patrik is offline  
Old 22 September 2017, 22:19   #12
oRBIT
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cylon View Post
I'm adding a different number at the end of each file with significant changes (.bak are automatic). The entire sourcecode base directory is saved every once in awhile to as much local places as possible.....
That's my sourcecontrol....
I did this aswell back in the good old days, I probably still have several hundred versions of my A/NES NES-emulator .
oRBIT is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07347 seconds with 12 queries