English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 August 2008, 22:16   #1
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 633
Vsync + Vista x64 tearing

I'm running a dual boot system with XP and Vista x64. Display is set to 720x576@50Hz.

Under XP all is perfectly smooth - in fact, i cannot tell it apart on most games from a real Amiga. Under Vista x64 I get a tearing effect going across the screen, slowly moving from bottom to top.

I have tried vsync enabled and disabled, and also forcing it on / off in the nVidia control panel. With vsync disabled the tearing jumps around all over the screen - with it enabled it moves upwards slowly then starts from the bottom again.

Any ideas anyone?
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 07:27   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,044
1. got SP1?
2. got the newest (tried beta?) nForce driver? (assuming that's the chipset you've got )
3. got the newest (tried beta?) graphic driver?
4. got all the official updates from Windows Update, up to date? (no pun intended )
5. got this hotfix? <--- after SP1, very important
6. got the newest DirectX updated files?

Last edited by Shoonay; 07 August 2008 at 15:40.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 12:00   #3
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yet another reason to ditch vista
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 12:02   #4
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,044
yeah, and another example of my leet skills, because it works only for me perfectly, doesn't it
Shoonay is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 12:05   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
yet another reason to ditch vista
Guess that's why Toni develops on Vista
TCD is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 12:13   #6
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Guess that's why Toni develops on Vista
pwned
Shoonay is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 12:17   #7
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,253
since i switched from 64bit vista to 32bit, everything is perfect for me too, even catweasel and tv card

however, i did not notice any difference between for Winuae between the 2 operating systems: i would say it's some hardware' driver problem or Vista fix, as Sh00nay
Marcuz is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 12:19   #8
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,696
On my GForce 8800GTS this resolution is custom (not build mode). I'm using it on my second display Samsung 19" CRT and everything is fine. Did you add this resolution with GForce panel ?
haynor666 is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 12:39   #9
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
since i switched from 64bit vista to 32bit, everything is perfect for me too, even catweasel and tv card
yeah, i see your point marco, no support for catweasel on x64 prolly, but i don't own one and i'm happy what i've got on Viśta 64, and the drivers for my cheap german tv card (KNC ONE GmbH SAA7134) were located on WU even
Shoonay is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 15:21   #10
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,253
the two i mentioned were my only two gripes with it anyway

(i close this OT on my part by saying that anyway, as all the OS i know of, Vista too is far from being perfect. as all the modern OS tends to impose its way of being used instead of being a obedient tool. in more ways than i can count, and mostly subtle and difficult to spot... consumists' times...)
Marcuz is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 16:32   #11
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 633
Yes I have SP1

The only thing I wasn't aware of was the Hotfix - i will try that later on when I get chance...

I already have all the latest NV drivers for both MB and GFX.
I have the latest drivers for everything in fact - I like to keep my software up to date and only roll back if i have problems.

In response to Haynor - yes its a custom res added through the NV control panel - Its all resoultions that show this problem though.

I have a clean XP install - I might use that just for Amiga stuff - how much Amiga software can I fit onto a 120Gb partition?

Are the catweasels worth getting? I have something like 700+ amiga disks in my attic and no Amiga to use them on - but I can easily put a 2nd floppy drive in my PC and use the convert to ADF stuff.. The only real advantage I can see to the catweasel is the support for my old Amiga joystick - or is there a cheap usb convertor that somebody could tell me about?
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 17:15   #12
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,253
usb convertors are a best bet imho: catweasel isn't exactly cheap, it is not supported on Vista (it just work on vista 32 bit, but i haven't tryed much adf imaging).

it is also worth mentioning that it is uncompatible with certain drives: for that you have to check a list on the producer site.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 00:25   #13
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 633
Any ideas which USB adaptors i can use and where I might get hold of one?

Edit: I tried the update and it won't install - I guess that I will live with my XP install for now!
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 01:53   #14
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit80 View Post
I tried the update and it won't install
There are only two possible explanations:
- you already have it
(check Control Panel > Programs & Features > View Installed Updates)
- you got the wrong version
(download the right version )
Shoonay is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 15:59   #15
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 633
It said that the update was not necessary for my operating system. Does it come through on automatic updates? - maybe I already have it. No matter anyway - I just dedicated my 160Gb XP partition to Amiga!

Maybe its time for me to get those couple of 1Tb drives i have been saving for! PC software is just far too bloated these days - I have over 300Gb used in games alone.....
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 16:05   #16
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 43
Posts: 5,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit80 View Post
Any ideas which USB adaptors i can use and where I might get hold of one?
i have seen some on ebay in the past, but i don't know of sellers (i don't buy hardware usually)

other option, would be to solder one yourself, specs and diagrams are around in this board
Marcuz is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 16:09   #17
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
i have seen some on ebay in the past, but i don't know of sellers (i don't buy hardware usually)

other option, would be to solder one yourself, specs and diagrams are around in this board
I've seen them - but I'm too lazy and I would want it to look tidy (unlike the rest of my work!). A commercial version would be preferred if there is such a thing.

Looking at the community that still follows the Amiga (and Atari etc)- it amazes me that these things are not commonplace - perhaps there would be a market for them!
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 16:11   #18
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit80 View Post
It said that the update was not necessary for my operating system.
Which could mean both: you have it, you don't need it, but...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit80 View Post
Does it come through on automatic updates?
No idea, but I guess yes, it's a rather important performance fix



Oh well, no more Vista, no more problems with a new unknown system, so, have fun with your new huge miggy hd!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 16:14   #19
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
No idea, but I guess yes, it's a rather important performance fix

I guess i would already have it if that is the case - I keep my Windoze up to date.
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 16:22   #20
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,044
Well, you know, the case is not that easy with Viśta, you "only" have what M$ released officially, what has been tested, what hasn't caused many problems...
To REALLY keep up to date, you would have to get ALL the updates that came after SP1.
Try here, and here. Good luck!
I've only ~200 after-SP1 hotfixes, not counting those officially availabvle
And only found 2 buggy (on my sys ) NET hotfixes to this day
Shoonay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No-buffering display mode with zero screen tearing, the next step? Dr.Venom support.WinUAE 87 22 January 2012 19:08
Vista or Vista Pro pvt_beano request.Apps 14 26 January 2011 11:12
Vista NOT Vista Pro pvt_beano request.Apps 7 06 July 2006 22:25
Disk drive tearing sound lauri_t support.Hardware 6 29 November 2005 18:55
How to avoid tearing with E-UAE? Maverick support.OtherUAE 19 06 November 2005 19:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08976 seconds with 13 queries